Post Reply

[GB/JB] ***Feralab*** Discussion Thread - Break The Limits...

OP JeffreyPiket

14th April 2012, 04:25 PM   |  #3661  
nanodroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fife,UK
Thanks Meter: 38
 
512 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Awesome! but I will suggest you first make your kernel NOT overclocked, to test stability,1-2 days then we can talk about overclocking. (please do not take it wrong) but kernel is being a big pain in the ass, even following your instructions (lower speeds, etc)
14th April 2012, 04:59 PM   |  #3662  
FeraVolt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13,188
 
1,764 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanodroid

Awesome! but I will suggest you first make your kernel NOT overclocked, to test stability,1-2 days then we can talk about overclocking. (please do not take it wrong) but kernel is being a big pain in the ass, even following your instructions (lower speeds, etc)

Dont worry dude) I will make 2 versions..one 1190.4 mhz and another 1036 mhz
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to FeraVolt For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th April 2012, 05:47 PM   |  #3663  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Hii guys

Just one question (stupid question)

can anybody explain what does EXT4 do for me ??

Or how can i have any benefit of it ??
14th April 2012, 07:16 PM   |  #3664  
Recognized Themer
Thanks Meter: 1,072
 
1,180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fantastic 7

Hii guys

Just one question (stupid question)

can anybody explain what does EXT4 do for me ??

Or how can i have any benefit of it ??

Ext4
  • Ext4 stands for fourth extended file system.
  • It was introduced in 2008.
  • Starting from Linux Kernel 2.6.19 ext4 was available.
  • Supports huge individual file size and overall file system size.
  • Maximum individual file size can be from 16 GB to 16 TB
  • Overall maximum ext4 file system size is 1 EB (exabyte). 1 EB = 1024 PB (petabyte). 1 PB = 1024 TB (terabyte).
  • Directory can contain a maximum of 64,000 subdirectories (as opposed to 32,000 in ext3)
  • You can also mount an existing ext3 fs as ext4 fs (without having to upgrade it).
  • Several other new features are introduced in ext4: multiblock allocation, delayed allocation, journal checksum. fast fsck, etc. All you need to know is that these new features have improved the performance and reliability of the filesystem when compared to ext3.
  • In ext4, you also have the option of turning the journaling feature “off”.


Look here for more info http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2011/05/ext2-ext3-ext4/
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to NuriJ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th April 2012, 08:34 PM   |  #3665  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by LzVebz

Ext4

  • Ext4 stands for fourth extended file system.
  • It was introduced in 2008.
  • Starting from Linux Kernel 2.6.19 ext4 was available.
  • Supports huge individual file size and overall file system size.
  • Maximum individual file size can be from 16 GB to 16 TB
  • Overall maximum ext4 file system size is 1 EB (exabyte). 1 EB = 1024 PB (petabyte). 1 PB = 1024 TB (terabyte).
  • Directory can contain a maximum of 64,000 subdirectories (as opposed to 32,000 in ext3)
  • You can also mount an existing ext3 fs as ext4 fs (without having to upgrade it).
  • Several other new features are introduced in ext4: multiblock allocation, delayed allocation, journal checksum. fast fsck, etc. All you need to know is that these new features have improved the performance and reliability of the filesystem when compared to ext3.
  • In ext4, you also have the option of turning the journaling feature “off”.


Look here for more info http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2011/05/ext2-ext3-ext4/


Thanks a lot for the infos but

Should I make the partition of my sdCard to ext4 manually or just install the Rom ??
14th April 2012, 11:35 PM   |  #3666  
Ishan Sardar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 53
 
318 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Ok I just installed the rom and these are the things that happened and I just wanted to know if its normal:

After the installation (ofcourse as instructed) I did a reboot and then I got the main screen right after, no setup wizard etc etc nothing at all.

Then I had about 6-7 automatic half restarts (means restart started from xperia screen) and a full reboot (started from sony ericsson logo)

Note: All restarts were automatic I didn't do a single thing, I couldn't even get any chance to go to menu as the restarts were soo frequent.

After All that now it seems to be okay i mean its fast and no restarts, not yet!! (phone has been like this for 15 mins now, not much activity tho, just going to menus and slide and stuff) oh and 1 more thing I don't get any lockscreen.

Thank you!!
Last edited by Ishan Sardar; 14th April 2012 at 11:37 PM.
14th April 2012, 11:43 PM   |  #3667  
FeraVolt's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13,188
 
1,764 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ishan Sardar

Ok I just installed the rom and these are the things that happened and I just wanted to know if its normal:

After the installation (ofcourse as instructed) I did a reboot and then I got the main screen right after, no setup wizard etc etc nothing at all.

Then I had about 6-7 automatic half restarts (means restart started from xperia screen) and a full reboot (started from sony ericsson logo)

Note: All restarts were automatic I didn't do a single thing, I couldn't even get any chance to go to menu as the restarts were soo frequent.

After All that now it seems to be okay i mean its fast and no restarts, not yet!! (phone has been like this for 15 mins now, not much activity tho, just going to menus and slide and stuff) oh and 1 more thing I don't get any lockscreen.

Thank you!!


Reinstall rom
14th April 2012, 11:45 PM   |  #3668  
Ishan Sardar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 53
 
318 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FeraVolt

Reinstall rom

from the beginning? i mean with same instruction as before with kernel and stuff or just the rom? because i had to install it by following troubleshooting i mean with all mounting and stuff.
15th April 2012, 01:47 AM   |  #3669  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
91 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Hi all! first of all great rom! i have two question, i have flashed Enlighter Script but I want to reinstall the stock browser...how i can do? and also I would ask if possible change the fonts-text? many thanks
15th April 2012, 03:39 AM   |  #3670  
x10forevers's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag toronto
Thanks Meter: 3,960
 
1,390 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maniaco84

hi all! First of all great rom! I have two question, i have flashed enlighter script but i want to reinstall the stock browser...how i can do? And also i would ask if possible change the fonts-text? Many thanks

copy the browser app from zip and put it to the
\system\app folder using any rootexplorer and change permission to execute for every option available

there you go
if u didnt see the browser app still
restart the phone
go to recovery fix permission...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
awesome, best rom for x10, blazing fast, discussion, feralab, love it!, masterpiece
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes