FORUMS

OnePlus 2 Forums: Discuss Everything About The OP2!

Now that the OnePlus 2 has been officially unveiled and that we have had close-up … more

Intel & Micron Announce “Revolutionary” Storage Tech

Intel & Micron have announced 3D Xpoint technology—”the … more

Google Now Interfaces With Third-Party Messaging Apps

Google has announced that Ok Google voice commands can now be used to send … more

Make Your Lockscreen More Productive With Widgets

Are you running Android Lollipop? Do you miss the ability to add widgets to your lock … more

Inner-SD installation the risky way..

162 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By nostard19, Senior Member on 10th February 2012, 08:16 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello Dell streakers.. I am planing to buy a used streak and was going thru various threads for streak development and stumbled upon a theard about upgrading streaks inner-SD from 2gb to 4gb. And then i searched youtube for any video regarding the same and found this video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6w4Ab...e_gdata_player

Is it realy safe to install inner sd like its done in the above video? Also i have two 16gb sd cards so is it possible to install both in this this device? Or maybe one 64gb card?Just curious...

Sent from my HTC Sensation Z710e using XDA App
 
 
10th February 2012, 08:30 PM |#2  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,611
 
More
That's one of the common ways to do it, if the video does what I think it does (only watched a couple seconds)

Method 1: Cut away the plastic covering the innersd, as there isnt that much
Method 2: Completely disassemble/reassemble the device, which is a huge amount of work.

Method 2 also must be repeated every swap, method 1 doesnt, but is a permenent change.

I know the S5 will accept a 4/8gb one without much issue.
16/32gb I dont recall, they may have issues.
A 64 one would be an SDXC, can you see the entire card in SDHC compability mode?
12th February 2012, 09:02 AM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Wink
the answer is YES, is safe to install another card. I use the same method like in the video and i replace the card with 8gb class 10 from Kingstone.
12th February 2012, 11:10 AM |#4  
Zathros's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Rotterdam
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Did in half an hour or so with the disassembly method upgraded to 8 Gb with 6Gb remaining internal memory. Get a 8Gb class 10. Mine is a trancend ultimate. Tried a kingston 16Gb class10 but the phone didn't recognize it. Perhaps the transcend 16 will work as well as 8Gb version. Mind you the phone does a fscheck on startup so the larger the card is the longer it takes to start up. It took about 30% more time for the 8Gb to start up as it did with the 4Gb class4 stock card from sony.
Grts.
Z.

Sent from my TAB410 using XDA App
16th February 2012, 04:29 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
Donate to Me
More
You need to do something to the card to get it to accept more than 8 gigs, though I don't remember what. It is perfectly safe. A hell of a lot safer than taking the entire phone apart, risking ESD, etc. Though, my cut wasn't as clean as that. Lol.
16th February 2012, 10:12 AM |#6  
nostard19's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Smile Allright!! :)
Seems like this method actually feels less risky then opening the whole phone apart.. I remember how i messed up my sony vaio ux while upgrading the internal 32gb HDD with 128gb HDD..
Allright then.. btw i found information about how to enable innersd more then 8gb. Theres some sort of script and editing in boot file.
Thanks for the responses guys..
20th February 2012, 04:09 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zathros

Did in half an hour or so with the disassembly method upgraded to 8 Gb with 6Gb remaining internal memory. Get a 8Gb class 10. Mine is a trancend ultimate. Tried a kingston 16Gb class10 but the phone didn't recognize it. Perhaps the transcend 16 will work as well as 8Gb version. Mind you the phone does a fscheck on startup so the larger the card is the longer it takes to start up. It took about 30% more time for the 8Gb to start up as it did with the 4Gb class4 stock card from sony.
Grts.
Z.

Sent from my TAB410 using XDA App

Me too. I was actually more worried that I'd slip with the knife and ruin the phone. It was dead simple to disassemble the Streak - I went slowly and carefully the first time, but in the end, it was simple.
5th March 2012, 05:33 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
More
the question is : does it makes you're streak faster to or is it just more storage?
5th March 2012, 08:07 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kasperke

the question is : does it makes you're streak faster to or is it just more storage?

It gave me more storage, and actually slowed down my Streak. Trying both a 4gb and 8gb card, I ended up with a lot of pauses and slowdowns just doing basic operations with my Streak. It was nice to have the extra space, but it made the phone way less usable.

I went back to the stock card.
6th March 2012, 04:01 AM |#10  
jamesc760's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 77
 
More
I put in a Sandisk 8gig class 4 sd card and the streak feels snappier than before. The stock sd card is a 2gig class 4 card.

Sent from my MB860 using xda premium
21st February 2013, 12:22 PM |#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
its much easier to open and replace the inner sd, i have just put an 4g kingston hc4 card and everything is ok i will try an 8g tomorrow

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes