Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,684 Members 47,760 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Camera Error - Cannot connect to camera.

Tip us?
 
8mileroad
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2011
Default Camera Error - Cannot connect to camera.

Anyone else getting this error? After reading the two main errors seem to be faulty camera hardware and bar code scanning apps. I uninstalled my bar code scanner and the problem persists. There is a small dent next to my flash under the camera but this came with the phone and my camera worked for a while. Taking the battery out and putting it back in fixes the problem about half of the time, but only is good for one to two uses. I'm thinking of sending this in, but I'm waiting until the SGSII HD is out in case they offer to replace it with any phone. Wishful thinking, I know.
Devices:
AT&T Galaxy S4
iPad Mini 16GB
HP Touchpad

Past devices:
Pantech Duo > iPhone 3G > LG Nitro HD > Galaxy Nexus GSM
 
8mileroad
Old
#2  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2011
And here's the error:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-02-11 14.03.31.jpg
Views:	375
Size:	20.8 KB
ID:	897435  
Devices:
AT&T Galaxy S4
iPad Mini 16GB
HP Touchpad

Past devices:
Pantech Duo > iPhone 3G > LG Nitro HD > Galaxy Nexus GSM
 
HJZS2K
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 35
Join Date: Dec 2011
Are you on the stock rom? I got that yesterday but a reboot fixed it.
 
8mileroad
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by HJZS2K View Post
Are you on the stock rom? I got that yesterday but a reboot fixed it.
Stock ROM not rooted. No modifications what-so-ever.
Devices:
AT&T Galaxy S4
iPad Mini 16GB
HP Touchpad

Past devices:
Pantech Duo > iPhone 3G > LG Nitro HD > Galaxy Nexus GSM
 
aquariuz23
Old
#5  
aquariuz23's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 862
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Clifton, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by 8mileroad View Post
Stock ROM not rooted. No modifications what-so-ever.
Try doing a factory reset. Sometimes an app installed on the phone might screw up with a hardware's function. For example, I've always use Screebl Pro on my phone to let it control how my screen turns off. I decided to try their new Beta version. A few days later, I cannot seem to manually turn off my screen by pressing the power button. Every time I press the power button, the screen will come back on on its own. I can try up to 4-5 times before it eventually goes off. I though my phone finally broke as I tried uninstalling and reinstalling apps, changing settings here and there to no luck. I finally realized about the beta Screebl I had installed, and decided to disable it. The moment I did that, the phone was back to normal, no weird things happening to it.

So try doing a factory reset first before sending it back.


Motorola Atrix 4G > Unlocked BL!! > GingerBlur 2.3.4 > Navalynt's Mod (v1.4) > Tenfar's CWM Recovery Mod > CM7

LG NITRO HD P930 >> Root via SuperOneClick v2.3.2 >> Bytecode64's CWM v.5.** >> KernelPan!c's v0.3
 
8mileroad
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2011
Strangely enough uninstalling Reconage has seemed to fix this. Can anyone else confirm it breaks your camera? The comments don't say it does so it must be something with the Nitro.
Devices:
AT&T Galaxy S4
iPad Mini 16GB
HP Touchpad

Past devices:
Pantech Duo > iPhone 3G > LG Nitro HD > Galaxy Nexus GSM
 
1chris89
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 750
Join Date: Jun 2010
I get it too on cm7 all the damn time. I can record 1 video then after I stop, it messes up and I have to reboot to record again.
HTC ONE
Qualcomm Quad 1.8-1.9Ghzish

HTC FIRST
Qualcomm Dual 1.7Ghz

STAR N9588 - 5.7"
RIP - Wont charge

ATRIX
RIP
Faux 1.3Ghz
http://www.mediafire.com/?8nedpwe3p5t98gw
Ultimate CWM Radio Collection
http://www.mediafire.com/?j8bg26920h0b4aq
Neut v2.6 mod build from mrom
http://www.mediafire.com/?ukn4r1j54j6s4a0
NEUTRINO V2.6 EE
http://www.mediafire.com/?2wxsefn0m4i6blj

GALAXY NOTE II - USA AT&T
RIP - GONE

HTC HD2
RIP - DIGITIZER FAILED
 
no driver
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 116
Join Date: Jun 2010
Any more definitive answer on this issue? My wife's Nitro HD has started giving this error in the last few days and no amount of rebooting seems to be fixing it. She is stock plus a few apps. I uninstalled nearly everything that uses the camera, reboot the phone, and still have the problem.

Alternatively, is there a way to see what apps were installed/updated by date? The last photo she took was on 6/13, so if we can figure out what apps have been updated since then that might help us get to the bottom of the issue.
Samsung Captivate: SlimBean 2.9
Samsung GSIII: Stock (for now)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes