Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

DROID 4 Utility Pre-Release [WINDOWS]

OP mattlgroff

12th February 2012, 04:06 AM   |  #1  
mattlgroff's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 2,411
 
2,263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
UPDATED PAGE!


Back with another utility... this time pre-release Droid 4! I haven't seen a Droid 4 board yet so I guess I have to put this under General.

There are no fastboot files as of writing this (2/11/2012) but once they come out I will be making a full version that includes fastboot restore. For now, only a few MB compared to GB full.

Includes Root function thanks to Dan Rosenberg's motofail exploit.
It is the only reason we can have a working utility root!

Donate to his fund for the Red Cross here

Note to all: I am giving control of the Droid 4 Utility to skylarmb (Although I will still be very involved )


Don't use Safestrap yet!
Hashcode is making a D4 version very soon!


Motorola Drivers (If its not working install this.)
32 Bit Link: http://www.motorola.com/staticfiles/...iver_5.4.0.exe
64 Bit Link: http://goo-inside.me/apps/mattlgroff....4.0_64bit.msi



Size: 2.09 MB
MD5: 8b44666a5d97137292ec03e74f8b75d7
Link: http://goo-inside.me/apps/mattlgroff...Utility0.3.zip

Changes in 0.3----
Enjoy~!

If you feel like contributing to my Razr Dev fund you may do so here.


Screenshot of what the folder should look like in order for it to run:
Last edited by mattlgroff; 29th February 2012 at 08:25 AM.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to mattlgroff For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th February 2012, 04:23 AM   |  #2  
mattlgroff's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 2,411
 
2,263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
And if anyone could do a system pull and send me a copy over a file-share site like mediafire or minu.us that would be very helpful to me. Thanks

EDIT: Nvm. I got one.
Last edited by mattlgroff; 13th February 2012 at 08:16 PM.
12th February 2012, 07:37 PM   |  #3  
Member
Flag Sekret
Thanks Meter: 20
 
70 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
What do the different options do? I went from having a OG Droid, with cyanogenmod which was super straight forward to this and I have no idea what the fastboot or bootstrapping does.

If you still need the /system pull I can send you the link over PM.
Last edited by moah909; 12th February 2012 at 08:16 PM.
13th February 2012, 08:21 PM   |  #4  
mattlgroff's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 2,411
 
2,263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by moah909

What do the different options do? I went from having a OG Droid, with cyanogenmod which was super straight forward to this and I have no idea what the fastboot or bootstrapping does.

If you still need the /system pull I can send you the link over PM.

Bootstrap is the way to get into a CWM-like recovery for the Razr. I have no way to test this on a D4, seeing as I don't have one.

ICS root works on the GSM ICS leak, so it may work for ours too.

Boot into Fastboot from Debugging (go directly to fastboot mode from the phone turned on and in USB Debugging mode)

Boot into Motorola Recovery from Debugging (same as above but into Moto Recovery)

ADB Shell (for more manually inclined users)

Reboot phone from Debugging
13th February 2012, 09:20 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
I have ADB 1.0.26 (at least that is what it says when I go to Start>Run>CMD>and type in adb.

Is there anything else I need to get the phone rooted? Any other drivers or anything along those lines. I know the phone needs to be in development mode, but I want to make sure all of the other software on the computer end is up-to-date since I've had a G1, Mytouch Slide 3G, G2, and Droid 3 before picking up this Droid 4.
14th February 2012, 02:17 AM   |  #6  
mattlgroff's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Flag San Diego
Thanks Meter: 2,411
 
2,263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Code3VW

I have ADB 1.0.26 (at least that is what it says when I go to Start>Run>CMD>and type in adb.

Is there anything else I need to get the phone rooted? Any other drivers or anything along those lines. I know the phone needs to be in development mode, but I want to make sure all of the other software on the computer end is up-to-date since I've had a G1, Mytouch Slide 3G, G2, and Droid 3 before picking up this Droid 4.

You'll need the latest Motorola drivers. I will add links in the OP
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mattlgroff For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th February 2012, 04:29 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattlgroff

You'll need the latest Motorola drivers. I will add links in the OP

Thanks! Has there been a tried and true wireless tether application yet?
14th February 2012, 04:43 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag IL
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Code3VW

Thanks! Has there been a tried and true wireless tether application yet?

I think most people use the one they use with CM.

code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/
This one I think. You have to install via the APK.

Please correct me if there is a different one of this is the wrong one. I'm actually curious myself.
14th February 2012, 07:37 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
125 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
I have no technical explanation for this, but...

DO NOT RUN THE .BAT FILE AS ADMINISTRATOR.

If I right-click the .bat file and click "run as administrator" in Windows 7, everything would appear to work (at least to the splash screen), but when I selected option 1 it would come back with a bunch of lines of "the system cannot find the path specified."

When I just double clicked the .bat file it ran properly and am now set.

Again, I have no idea why it worked this way, but it did...at least on my system. Windows 7 64-bit here, btw.

---------- Post added at 11:37 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:10 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ian3d

I think most people use the one they use with CM.

code.google.com/p/android-wifi-tether/
This one I think. You have to install via the APK.

Please correct me if there is a different one of this is the wrong one. I'm actually curious myself.

Turns out you were right...loaded Wifi Tether v3.1 beta 11 from here and it works no problem!
14th February 2012, 10:12 AM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
86 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
So we actually have safestrap already for the d4?

EXCITED! !!!!!!

Sent from my DROID4 using XDA App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes