Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,426 Members 53,826 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] sdcard wont mount

Tip us?
 
pmacevad
Old
#1  
pmacevad's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 387
Posts: 1,438
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Chicago Burbs, IL
Question [Q] sdcard wont mount

Thought I would ask first... my SD card will not mount on my phone. Data seems to still be there but I have a notification saying "sdcard is blank or has unsupported filesystem." Tried to format but the card wont mount on the device. I've tried formatting in the android os and in recovery with errors. Does this mean the SD card is toast? Any help is appreciated. I'd hate to lose all of the data. Thanks.
 
Captain_Throwback
Old
#2  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8663
Posts: 10,073
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bensalem, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmacevad View Post
Thought I would ask first... my SD card will not mount on my phone. Data seems to still be there but I have a notification saying "sdcard is blank or has unsupported filesystem." Tried to format but the card wont mount on the device. I've tried formatting in the android os and in recovery with errors. Does this mean the SD card is toast? Any help is appreciated. I'd hate to lose all of the data. Thanks.
Have you tried connecting it to your computer with a card reader?
Device 1: HTC One (M8)/831C | Hardware Version: 0005

Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4 | PRI: 2.62_003 | PRL: 56019
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0

Device 2: HTC Jewel/PJ75100 (EVO 4G LTE) | Hardware Version: 0003

Baseband: 1.13.11.1105 | PRI: 3.02_003 | PRL: 56018
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0b

Device 3: HTC Shooter/PG86100 (EVO 3D) | Hardware Version: 0002
Baseband: 1.09.00.0108 | PRI: 1.55_003 | PRL: 22100
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.0

Device 4: HTC Supersonic/PC36100 (EVO 4G) | Hardware Version: 0004
Baseband: 2.15.00.01.15 | PRI: 2.33_003 | PRL: 40460
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0
 
pmacevad
Old
#3  
pmacevad's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 387
Posts: 1,438
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Chicago Burbs, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback View Post
Have you tried connecting it to your computer with a card reader?
At work right now and our computers are on lockdown, no external devices can be read. If I can access what should I do? When I tried repartitioning in recovery it said it could not mount dev/block/mm? ?? Or something like that, basically gave me an error. Any advice? Im about to just buy a new card.
 
Captain_Throwback
Old
#4  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8663
Posts: 10,073
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bensalem, PA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmacevad View Post
At work right now and our computers are on lockdown, no external devices can be read. If I can access what should I do? When I tried repartitioning in recovery it said it could not mount dev/block/mm? ?? Or something like that, basically gave me an error. Any advice? Im about to just buy a new card.
You might just need to reformat the card. Sometimes the cards get corrupted. You might even still be able to access and backup the content on the card if a PC will read it. If you have WIndows 7, it might even offer to repair errors on the card. That could also get it working. I'd say reformatting it is a good idea either way.
Device 1: HTC One (M8)/831C | Hardware Version: 0005

Baseband: 1.08.20.0612_4 | PRI: 2.62_003 | PRL: 56019
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0

Device 2: HTC Jewel/PJ75100 (EVO 4G LTE) | Hardware Version: 0003

Baseband: 1.13.11.1105 | PRI: 3.02_003 | PRL: 56018
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0b

Device 3: HTC Shooter/PG86100 (EVO 3D) | Hardware Version: 0002
Baseband: 1.09.00.0108 | PRI: 1.55_003 | PRL: 22100
Recovery: TWRP 2.6.3.0

Device 4: HTC Supersonic/PC36100 (EVO 4G) | Hardware Version: 0004
Baseband: 2.15.00.01.15 | PRI: 2.33_003 | PRL: 40460
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.0
 
dbenney
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 320
Join Date: Jan 2012
i just had similar error... try removing and reinserting card. if that doesnt do it reboot into recovery and depending on the recovery you are using go in to mounts and try selecting "mount sd card" that last one fixed my issue.
 
pmacevad
Old
#6  
pmacevad's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 387
Posts: 1,438
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Chicago Burbs, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback View Post
You might just need to reformat the card. Sometimes the cards get corrupted. You might even still be able to access and backup the content on the card if a PC will read it. If you have WIndows 7, it might even offer to repair errors on the card. That could also get it working. I'd say reformatting it is a good idea either way.




Quote:
Originally Posted by dbenney View Post
i just had similar error... try removing and reinserting card. if that doesnt do it reboot into recovery and depending on the recovery you are using go in to mounts and try selecting "mount sd card" that last one fixed my issue.
I ended up just buying a replacement 8GB class 10 card (wanted a higher class card anyways, this gave me an excuse to buy one ). I was able to retrieve the contents of the SD card by mounting it in my computer (vista 32). I didn't try reloading it into my Evo cause now I don't have a need for it. Thanks for the responses though, glad that you guys are here and willing to help. :thumbup::thumbup:

Sent from my Modded Evo... It's easier this way.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Immersive Mode on Unrooted Devices with GMD Full Screen Immersive Mode

Everyone likes screen real estate–no question about that. The … more

Android Wear App Review: EchoWear Song Search – XDA Developer TV

Yesterday on XDA Developer TV, Producer AdamOutler tore down a Samsung … more

Blast Those Flags with Knock the Flags

Lately, we have seen a rather drastic shift in the world of mobile device gaming. The infamous Angry … more