Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more

Increase the Speaker Volume of Your Samsung Gear 2 with Tool and Tutorial

I think its pretty safe to say that any sound coming out of a … more

Unlock Hidden Camera Settings on Your Moto G

At one point in time or another, weve all gotten very fiddly with the camera settings on our … more

XDA Partners with LG for Developer Challenge

Many Android enthusiasts know the name LG. LG is the maker of some Google Nexus devices and some … more
Post Reply

adb unable to connect...

17th February 2012, 07:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
I was to B&N today, read few books in store (on nook)
Came home, tried to connect:

adb unable to connect...
run dropbear - unable to ssh

rebooted nook via terminal
adb unable to connect...

Scratched head…
rebooted nook again via terminal
adb unable to connect...

Did basic adb troubleshooting:
setprop service.adb.tcp.port 5555
stop adbd
start adbd
adb unable to connect...

stop adbd
adbd &
adb unable to connect...

netstat
showed listening (with adbd running)
127.0.0.1:5037
0.0.0.0:5555

rebooted nook via terminal
rebooted PC…
adb unable to connect...

put noogie SD, reboot, check uRamdisk – same size & timestamp
removed noogie, off/on - connected right away!
I’m puzzled…
I saw few times, after 2-3 days of reading adb is unable to connect, but reboot fixed it always.
What was different this time?
“Cold reboot”?

I spend like 30min and feel like an idiot right now…
17th February 2012, 03:23 PM   |  #2  
Adapt0r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
I was unable to connect over the usb port as well. Without too long investigation I've used adbwireless app on NT and was able to connect.
You might want to refresh server
adb kill-server
adb start-server
then connect using your NT ip address:5555 and you should be done.
In my case, I think, there are too many conflicting drivers installed and NT is not being recognized when connected.
Good luck
17th February 2012, 04:24 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adapt0r

I was unable to connect over the usb port as well. Without too long investigation I've used adbwireless app on NT and was able to connect.
You might want to refresh server
adb kill-server
adb start-server
then connect using your NT ip address:5555 and you should be done.
In my case, I think, there are too many conflicting drivers installed and NT is not being recognized when connected.
Good luck

I did it as well before every adb connect, thought it not worth to mention.
Naturally, "rebooting PC" should reboot adb server too, right?
But it didn't help either...
17th February 2012, 09:43 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 508
 
637 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
More
If you see this issue again, just try toggling ADB Wireless On/Off and it should reset anything on the devices side. Also I've noticed that sometimes and completely random from what I can tell "USB Debugging" will get unchecked, which will mess with ADB access via USB.
17th February 2012, 10:04 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Disabling/Enabling ADBwireless sometimes may help.
Maybe a stupid question: Do you have a firewall running on your pc?
18th February 2012, 12:58 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiflash

Disabling/Enabling ADBwireless sometimes may help.

won't it be the same as below or it does more?
Code:
setprop service.adb.tcp.port 5555
stop adbd
start adbd
Quote:
Originally Posted by digiflash

Maybe a stupid question: Do you have a firewall running on your pc?

Always
I did check it too. It was nothing worth to mention.
abd attempted to connect - got nothing back (timeout)
on NST adbd was listening, I was able to access gmail.
I can ssh neither, and dropbear was listening too.
Looks, in fact, like firewall on NST was blocking all incoming connection.
That's why I wrote "Scratched head…" - which means I checked pretty much everything.

Could somebody explain, what is the major difference for NST between:
reboot (hot reboot) & shutdown/start (cold reboot)
Or more precisely for the latter:
insert noogie SD/reboot/remove noogie SD/turn off/turn on
19th February 2012, 06:28 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ApokrifX

insert noogie SD/reboot/remove noogie SD/turn off/turn on

Cannot connect today at all. Cold reboot doesn’t help anymore...

Did some more tests (including ADBwireless):
I cannot ping [nook IP] from my computer
I can ping [nook IP] from router.

From PC
>telnet [nook IP] 5555
Connecting To [nook IP]...Could not open connection to the host, on port 5555: Connect failed


From router:
telnet [nook IP] 5555
Connection didn’t timeout (i.e. it does connect!)

Again, looks like something on Nook blocking connections from all IP, except from default gateway (i.e. router)
Question: Does rooting process unblock connections from other IPs?



About Disabling/Enabling ADBwireless:
Before running ADBwireless

netstat
127.0.0.1:5037
0.0.0.0:5555

netstat -tapn doesn’t work

stop adbd
both above disappear from netstat

start adbd
both show up

run ADBwireless
get message: ADBwireless is off
pushed button, message changed to: adb connect [nook IP]:5555
(adb connct didn’t work)

Switch to terminal,
netstat
127.0.0.1:5037
I.e. no more: 0.0.0.0:5555

Subsequent "stop adbd"/"start adbd" changes nothing:
netstat
127.0.0.1:5037

I was wondering what ADBwireless supposed to do then?
Could somebody check from his nook what netstat shows, please?

Nook can connect to internet (gmail, market) + netstat shows all outgoing connections…
What else can I try?

I guess, I can switch to adb usb…
20th February 2012, 02:13 PM   |  #8  
Adapt0r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
It might be helpful if you tell what OS you are running on your PC and what did you do with NT. If we can reproduce your case then we can troubleshoot it otherwise you will hear useless guesses and speculations.
I like NT as a reader and nothing else. Web and games are looking awful on it.
20th February 2012, 05:56 PM   |  #9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adapt0r

It might be helpful if you tell what OS you are running on your PC and what did you do with NT. If we can reproduce your case then we can troubleshoot it otherwise you will hear useless guesses and speculations.
I like NT as a reader and nothing else. Web and games are looking awful on it.

One box is XP with Outpost firewall (abd set to full trust).
Another win7 (FW policy – allow outgoing connections + few exceptions).
I’m Win developer/admin and Linux(CentOs) admin.
I’m complete noob when it comes to Linux non-shell related programming.
Router runs DD-WRT.
As of now I switched to uRamdisk_1_1_rooted_usb.
When I run dropbear, I see it listening on 22, but cannot ssh still.
That’s all I guess…

Could you do one test for me please?
If your NST runs uRamdisk_1_1_rooted_wifi:
Could you ping you NST from you box
If not - could you do same from your router/AP?
20th February 2012, 09:47 PM   |  #10  
Adapt0r's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
1. I don't have uRamdisk_1_1_rooted_wifi on my NT and can't test it.
2. adbWireless works on my Win 7 and Mac the same way. Both comps have firewalls running and both are on the same network. I can connect and ping NT.
Just for clarification I will describe how it works on my setup:
- I start adbWireless on NT,
- it asks for root permission if it for the first time and I grant it
- then shows fat button on the screen and says adbWireless is off
- I push the button
- it says adbWireless is on, from your computer run
adb connect 192.168.15.112:5555
At this point I can ping IP address and run adb shell.
I've rooted NT for purposes of software testing and customization. I did it twice with older and newer Nooter and did not find any noticeable differences.
Let me know if you want some other tests or info.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Nook Touch General by ThreadRank