Post Reply

[ROOT-APP] [GPL] Folders plug (mount folders like disks)

17th February 2012, 10:40 PM   |  #1  
bartito's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,126
 
2,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Donate to Me
Hi,

**
Based on the init script explained in this thread, i've developed a application that allows to plug and unplug folders like device disks.
**

*** This application is in BETA stage ***
*** and requires root privileges ***

Many devices have two storage units (internal and external).

Most programs (games, GPS, etc) do not check this and work with internal storage memory.

This is useful for all users, some of whom prefer to store their data in external memory (removable).

In some cases (not all) can be made for a particular application to work on external memory rather than internal, but this is not always possible, especially because the external memory does not support unix soft-links.

To avoid this, I developed an application that can be mapped to internal memory (in fact in any directory on the device) a directory that is in the external memory (or elsewhere), which allows to solve the problem.

With this application you can access from any location to the data are physically located in another directory and query, modify and even delete them.

In addition, the application detects when you connect the terminal to another computer (PC, laptop, etc) and rolls back the operation to avoid problems. When the connection ends, the links are restored automatically.

INSTRUCTIONS

Start the application and allow to get root privileges
Click the menu key and click preferences menuitem to enable/disable mount on boot, then click back to go the main screen
Click the menu key and click Edit menuitem to edit mountpoints
In the edit mountpoints screen click the menu key in order to activate menu, that shows two options: delete all (deletes all added mountpoints) and insert new.
The insert new mountpoint screen allows to create a new mountpoint.
In the edit mountpoints screen, the defined mountpoints have their own contextual menu, that allows to delete, mount and unmount a mountpoint.

In the edit mountpoints screen, each mountpoint is represented by a icon (grayed or yellow) that indicates if the mountpoint is active (yellow) or inactive (grayed).
Also, i shows the source and target folders and a checkbox that indicates if the mountpoint is automounted on boot (if you've enabled in preferences screen).


********** UPDATE ***********
*** SOURCE CODE RELEASED ***


At this moment I have no time to update this app.
I have uploaded to GitHub and published the source code in GPL.
I agre if any people, can solve the app issues.

https://github.com/RYO-Software/Folders-Plug.git
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-1.jpg
Views:	2007
Size:	12.8 KB
ID:	910229   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-2.jpg
Views:	1852
Size:	13.9 KB
ID:	910230   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-3.jpg
Views:	2092
Size:	11.7 KB
ID:	910231   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-4.jpg
Views:	2398
Size:	24.9 KB
ID:	910232   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-5.jpg
Views:	2045
Size:	20.0 KB
ID:	910234  

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-6.jpg
Views:	1769
Size:	11.2 KB
ID:	910235   Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot-7.jpg
Views:	1880
Size:	12.8 KB
ID:	910236  
Attached Files
File Type: apk FoldersPlug-1.0.0-b1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (126.5 KB, 383 views)
File Type: apk FoldersPlug-1.0.0-b2.apk - [Click for QR Code] (126.5 KB, 120 views)
File Type: apk FoldersPlug-1.0.0-b3.apk - [Click for QR Code] (126.6 KB, 223 views)
File Type: apk FoldersPlug-1.0.0-RC1.apk - [Click for QR Code] (126.8 KB, 1584 views)
Last edited by bartito; 20th July 2012 at 07:57 AM.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to bartito For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th February 2012, 11:28 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Nice, that's what I'm waiting for.
20th February 2012, 09:52 AM   |  #3  
bartito's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,126
 
2,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Donate to Me
FoldersPlug 1.0.0-beta1 is attached to first post.

I agree to you very much if you test it and report issues (if any ).
Last edited by bartito; 20th February 2012 at 10:20 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to bartito For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2012, 08:29 PM   |  #4  
bartito's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,126
 
2,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Donate to Me
added instructions in first post.
The Following User Says Thank You to bartito For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2012, 10:33 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I have two phones, Milestone 2 and SGSII. Today I tested on Milestone first but without success. The phone has 8GB build in Flash and 32GB add on SDCard. I tried to link from 'external' SDHC to the build in 8GB, but it doesn't work. The Phone uses the build in 8GB to store the installed apps, this could be the problem.

I tried some directories for the links, but the mount function fails. After some FC's and dead loops I'm now unable to copy manually files to the internal Storage.

Next tests will be on the SGSII, but I don't expect problems due to the easier environment.
22nd February 2012, 05:20 AM   |  #6  
bartito's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,126
 
2,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leni26

I have two phones, Milestone 2 and SGSII. Today I tested on Milestone first but without success. The phone has 8GB build in Flash and 32GB add on SDCard. I tried to link from 'external' SDHC to the build in 8GB, but it doesn't work. The Phone uses the build in 8GB to store the installed apps, this could be the problem.

I tried some directories for the links, but the mount function fails. After some FC's and dead loops I'm now unable to copy manually files to the internal Storage.

Next tests will be on the SGSII, but I don't expect problems due to the easier environment.

hi.
if you have time i agree to you if you send to me a logcat
thx
22nd February 2012, 10:47 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I hope this is what you need ... I am not really familiar with all the development stuff

http://mueli.de/Android/2012-02-21_23-38-59.log
22nd February 2012, 10:54 AM   |  #8  
bartito's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,126
 
2,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leni26

I hope this is what you need ... I am not really familiar with all the development stuff

http://mueli.de/Android/2012-02-21_23-38-59.log


hi,
first of all: thank's for your time
second: i have located the error
seems to me that your "mount" command don't supports my parameters.
you can exec "mount -h" in a terminal emulator or via adb and tell me the results?
thank's

Quote:

D/23:37:55.393 FoldersPlug(13141)
SuperuserCommandsExecutor: [unknown option -- -mount: invalid option --]

22nd February 2012, 09:29 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Do I need no more options for the mount command like in Linux with device file and other options?
22nd February 2012, 09:47 PM   |  #10  
bartito's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 1,126
 
2,439 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leni26

Do I need no more options for the mount command like in Linux with device file and other options?

hi,
you need a special modifier in order to mount non block devices.
you have busybox intstalled?
please, exec "mount -h" and send me the result

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Android Apps and Games by ThreadRank