Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Stuck at "Data.img" thru odin. Possible EMMC brick fix! Thanks to Jaymoon pg.#44

OP caspersfi

21st February 2012, 08:01 AM   |  #161  
iniz94's Avatar
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 145
 
715 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I'm stuck at Data.img as well
By the looks of the posts on this thread, has anyone successfully fixed it yet?

Edit: Read through all 17 pages and praying that there is a fix. I wish I had insurance for my phone :/
Last edited by iniz94; 21st February 2012 at 08:15 AM.
21st February 2012, 08:16 AM   |  #162  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,854
 
4,757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by glass330

I have tried re-formatting the device and restoring the EL29.tar
I used a pit from here

http://forum.xda-developers.com/atta...4&d=1316200711

Epic_4g_Touch_Pit

Still stuck at boot loop.

If I try and flash FB17 get stuck at data.img, then the firmware update failed notice/boot.

So then I reflash EL29 just cause it finishes, can't boot. Same

I can flash all sorts of kernals in odin, but never get a recovery with UP and PWER. Only a loading bar...

please help.

I can wipe this data partition problem out >

The current issue appears that the /data partition is hoarked and nothing (CWM, ODIN, ODIN One-Click) can write to it, not even ODIN with explicit repartition, which is surprising. Every other partition is fine, just the /data. However without /data you phone cannot boot into Android.

---------- Post added at 07:10 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:08 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by arehm

I've tried a 1/2 dozen different one click odin's. Someone here tried a special made Odin for this issue and it didn't work. Fortunately it's still being researched. Time will tell. I have my fingers crossed.

---------- Post added at 05:13 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:52 PM ----------

sfhub, is there a particular rom you know will work? I can try and flash it tonight and get into it's recovery and see what I can get you.

---------- Post added at 05:14 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:13 PM ----------

sfhub, is there a particular rom you know will work? I can try and flash it tonight and get into it's recovery and see what I can get you. (meant this to be a reply, not edit)

I don't think any "ROMs" will work because they all require /data to boot up. Every other partition besides /data seems to be fine, so you can flash and boot up into custom recovery. That is where we might be able to do some diagnosis from.

---------- Post added at 07:11 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:10 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by glass330

Me three. Omg why is this happening.


has anyone tried to restore el29 tar to fix it?

Just out of curiosity, did you install CWM Touch and try to do a restore? (I'm not pointing fingers, just trying to gather data)

---------- Post added at 07:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:11 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by arehm

http://forums.androidcentral.com/epi...ked-phone.html

1/2 way down is:

5b. IF YOUR PHONE IS BRICKED (like mine was) the field for data needs to use a different file, use the one found here: RapidShare AG, Cham, Switzerland

Any chance there is something in what i assume is a linked file that may help.

Don't run off and use these files, i'm more asking the brains here if this person may be on to anything.

Looks like it's for the international version.

I tried looking on that thread but didn't see the links they were referring to. The RapidShare text seemed like it should be a link but was just text.

---------- Post added at 07:16 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:12 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by oscarthegrouch

I know my comment isn't any help but gd, something in those fb leaks is royally f'ing up phones lately!

Like glass330 said, the pattern appears to be CWM Touch rather than the ICS release. People just happened to use CWM Touch early on with the FB09 thread.
The Following User Says Thank You to sfhub For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2012, 08:16 AM   |  #163  
iniz94's Avatar
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 145
 
715 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
In response to sfhub: I just recently got this error but I tried restoring from CWM Touch and this happened
21st February 2012, 08:18 AM   |  #164  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 6,854
 
4,757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
So did everyone who has this issue with /data, at some point, use CWM Touch to do some operation, restore or format?
The Following User Says Thank You to sfhub For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2012, 10:44 AM   |  #165  
OP Senior Member
Flag West Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,786
 
2,979 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub

So did everyone who has this issue with /data, at some point, use CWM Touch to do some operation, restore or format?

I did. The touch recovery link is what was givin in the op of the FBO9 thread as a temporary way to restore your backup.

Booted into stock recovery
Flashed touch recovery
Full wipe with touch recovery
Restored backup with touch recovery
Stuck at Samsung logo

Then used odin as a way to get out and stuck at data.img.
Last edited by caspersfi; 21st February 2012 at 11:09 AM.
21st February 2012, 11:59 AM   |  #166  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfhub

So did everyone who has this issue with /data, at some point, use CWM Touch to do some operation, restore or format?

yes. happened when i tried to format.
21st February 2012, 12:05 PM   |  #167  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dgn_sandibalz

yes. happened when i tried to format.

Same thing. Happened when I tried to restore a backup.
21st February 2012, 12:11 PM   |  #168  
MeWarning's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waukesha, WI
Thanks Meter: 62
 
335 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dadoc04

try this homie...

odin this recovery.... http://goo-inside.me/kernels/TeamRog...0-odin.tar.md5

it finally allowed me to wide data which i couldnt do all this time...


im just gonna stick with this for now and try a few things


What settings do you use in Odin when flashing this? I've never flashed just a recovery before and this guy needs help, lol:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1508542
21st February 2012, 12:51 PM   |  #169  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 22
 
101 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
This is brutal. Last week my handset did a factory restore when I turned it on. It kept doing that every couple hours. Got replacement. Now this.

Got to smug flashing roms like I know what I'm doing.

Thanks to all the help in this three. Really, much respect for the effort you guys put in on your own time.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk
21st February 2012, 01:14 PM   |  #170  
Senior Member
Flag Jax and The DMV
Thanks Meter: 659
 
3,212 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Donate to Me
More
It was definitely touch recovery....

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
brick, odin
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes