Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP] Sky Go for Android (UK ONLY)

OP mcdevtingz

8th March 2012, 08:03 PM   |  #1271  
Lennyuk's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Essex, England
Thanks Meter: 1,655
 
6,091 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by italia0101

So how /where do I find this ro.secure-1

Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk

Default.prop, you could edit with root explorer but you lose it when you reboot.

Sent from my GT-I9100
8th March 2012, 08:22 PM   |  #1272  
italia0101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 993
 
3,177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Yea tried it and didn't work :(
Although I am on nexus s with codename android rom..


Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk
Last edited by italia0101; 8th March 2012 at 08:51 PM.
8th March 2012, 11:12 PM   |  #1273  
Junior Member
Flag billericay
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
can i ask what rom and kernel you are using and the mod you made please? i have tried many different roms.


quote

Thanks lenny, I asked on the HD2 forum and someone gave me instructions for setting ro.secure=1 in the kernel I used.

I have done so and installed in my ROM.

I am now watching Aerobics OZ Style at my desk at work.

Must say the picture quality is excellent..
Last edited by badboy365; 8th March 2012 at 11:15 PM. Reason: no info
8th March 2012, 11:29 PM   |  #1274  
bobjbain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Poole
Thanks Meter: 182
 
876 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Here's the link to the post that showed me how to decompile and recompile the Kernel.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...86&postcount=4

To get the Kernel boot into CWM (or whatever recovery you use) and mount the /boot partition.

Connect via adb and pull the initrd.gz file.

Decompile it (using nix or cygwin) as per the instructions.

Edit the default.prop and set ro.secure=1

Recompile it and push it back to the /boot partition via adb

As Alexander would say 'seemples'

@badboy365 I am using tytung's R14 Kernel but I think the above method will work with any kernel you use.

Still need to use Voodoo RootKeeper to hide root when using the SkyGo app though..
The Following User Says Thank You to bobjbain For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th March 2012, 11:36 PM   |  #1275  
italia0101's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 993
 
3,177 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
What about rom checks ? Does it have to be used on stock rom?

Sent from my Nexus S using Tapatalk
9th March 2012, 12:51 AM   |  #1276  
Junior Member
Flag billericay
Thanks Meter: 0
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobjbain

Here's the link to the post that showed me how to decompile and recompile the Kernel.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...86&postcount=4

To get the Kernel boot into CWM (or whatever recovery you use) and mount the /boot partition.

Connect via adb and pull the initrd.gz file.

Decompile it (using nix or cygwin) as per the instructions.

Edit the default.prop and set ro.secure=1

Recompile it and push it back to the /boot partition via adb

As Alexander would say 'seemples'

@badboy365 I am using tytung's R14 Kernel but I think the above method will work with any kernel you use.

Still need to use Voodoo RootKeeper to hide root when using the SkyGo app though..

but what rom do you run
please
9th March 2012, 01:02 AM   |  #1277  
bobjbain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Poole
Thanks Meter: 182
 
876 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by badboy365

but what rom do you run
please

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...t=933951<br />Typhoon's CM7 ROM

But to be honest it shouldn't matter, editing the kennel fir your current ROM should work too
Sent from my HTC HD2 using XDA
9th March 2012, 11:22 AM   |  #1278  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
277 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobjbain

Here's the link to the post that showed me how to decompile and recompile the Kernel.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...86&postcount=4

To get the Kernel boot into CWM (or whatever recovery you use) and mount the /boot partition.

Connect via adb and pull the initrd.gz file.

Decompile it (using nix or cygwin) as per the instructions.

Edit the default.prop and set ro.secure=1

Recompile it and push it back to the /boot partition via adb

As Alexander would say 'seemples'

@badboy365 I am using tytung's R14 Kernel but I think the above method will work with any kernel you use.

Still need to use Voodoo RootKeeper to hide root when using the SkyGo app though..

Do you think theres any chance this could work on other HTC phones, such as the Desire?
9th March 2012, 11:28 AM   |  #1279  
bobjbain's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Poole
Thanks Meter: 182
 
876 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zammo76

Do you think theres any chance this could work on other HTC phones, such as the Desire?

The method will work, whether the method will let SkyGo app work is another question?

Try it and see.
9th March 2012, 11:44 AM   |  #1280  
Lennyuk's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Essex, England
Thanks Meter: 1,655
 
6,091 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Donate to Me
More
What you need to remember is sky have been very good with their protection in this app blocking lots of different things.

So far we know of checks for:
- device and os (work around use the test apks in this thread)
- ro.secure=1 in kernel (work around use stock kernel or modifiy a custom kernel)
- root (work around use ota root keeper app or if this doesn't work use root hider, or an unrooted rom.

Sky are checking for more than just these things, we just need to work out what and how to fix them too (until we can fix the app to stop checking for all the above).

There also seems to be checks for a cell signal so most wifi only tablets will not work.

Also cm9 seems to completely fail on all devices,not sure why maybe it is missing something as is only beta builds so far. On a more positive note BBC I player also doesn't work on cm9 so if we can fix this chances are sky will work too.

Sent from my GT-I9100
Last edited by Lennyuk; 9th March 2012 at 11:57 AM.

The Following User Says Thank You to Lennyuk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes