Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[DIY] SmartAss Cover for your Asus TF101

OP MrNago

25th February 2012, 03:51 AM   |  #21  
Aguilera_87's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by udupa82

It works on ICS also as a proof i just posted a video on youtube.

search for "Asus Transformer TF101 Magnetic unlock"

YEAH! now only works if you haven't lock screen/pattern/password to unlock

change this in options-security
Last edited by Aguilera_87; 25th February 2012 at 03:53 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Aguilera_87 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2012, 05:27 AM   |  #22  
player911's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 913
 
6,862 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Donate to Me
More
Brilliant. I take HardDrives apart because they have super powerful little thin magnets. I'm about to put one inside my official Asus Transformer Case.
25th February 2012, 11:24 AM   |  #23  
MrNago's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Madrid
Thanks Meter: 171
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aguilera_87

YEAH! now only works if you haven't lock screen/pattern/password to unlock

change this in options-security


Thanks for the info! Updated OP :)

Only problem now is, it unlocks when the magnet gets CLOSER to the screen, so if you have a magnet on the case, like I do, it unlocks when I close the clase >.<
Be aware before carving and buying!
25th February 2012, 12:45 PM   |  #24  
Mav3ric144's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
I just tested it with my Mum's Stock (non ICS yet) and mine running Prime. Both unlock when the magnets gets closer to the screen. How can this be?
The Following User Says Thank You to Mav3ric144 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2012, 01:09 PM   |  #25  
Aguilera_87's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrNago

Thanks for the info! Updated OP :)

Only problem now is, it unlocks when the magnet gets CLOSER to the screen, so if you have a magnet on the case, like I do, it unlocks when I close the clase >.<
Be aware before carving and buying!

Yesterday i think i see locking the tablet by the magnet too... maybe now lock and unlock the tablet so may you dont need to lock before close the case

Enviado desde mi Transformer TF101 usando Tapatalk
25th February 2012, 08:16 PM   |  #26  
Senior Member
Flag Derbyshire
Thanks Meter: 38
 
222 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AstroTrain

Say it ain't so, just bought the magnetic earth magnets from DX which will probably take 6 months for delivery but removing this option will be a turd,

my power button is flaking out, takes atleast two jabs for off/on this magnetic trick would have been a great bypass.

My power button is even worse than yours :(. I have the case and the dock but don't always want the dock connected, so this is a great idea for me :)
25th February 2012, 09:07 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
189 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dodge3003

My power button is even worse than yours :(. I have the case and the dock but don't always want the dock connected, so this is a great idea for me :)

I stripped an old hardrive for a strong magnet for the test and unfortunately if the magnet is close to the tablet it turns it on but if you take it away it does not turn it off which is counter our intentions making this option non viable for our issues. Someone posted a fix for the power button issue on XDA but that would mean stripping the tablet,

The only way I could turn the tablet off while the magnet is flush with the tablet is to use an app but that of course will not work if your case is closed with the magnet.

It would take a simple script, when the magnet is close turn screen off/stand by, magnet off/ screen on. The reason I see Asus not doing an Apple like smart cover is their greater profit to sell the dock. $150 > than a $70 smart cover.
The Following User Says Thank You to AstroTrain For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2012, 03:20 AM   |  #28  
player911's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Cincinnati
Thanks Meter: 913
 
6,862 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Donate to Me
More
I was playing with the magnets yesterday with my Revolver build and I was running the magnet all over the screen trying to find the sweet spot. It wasn't turning on when I was placing the magnet. It was just a crappy magnet from a refrigerator alphabet letter.

TODAY (midnight lol) I flashed the OTA ICS build... and went to Walmart and found these really small but strong magnets. I get home to start carving and was smart to try to test it before I dove in.... and it's not working!!!!!

Can anyone running ICS test this? Perhaps it isn't working in the new build.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120225_212211.jpg
Views:	326
Size:	511.2 KB
ID:	920010  
Last edited by player911; 26th February 2012 at 03:27 AM.
26th February 2012, 12:47 PM   |  #29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Amazing! It really works.
27th February 2012, 01:14 PM   |  #30  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Smile Good working solution with ICS
Installed ICS yesterday, Only difference is, now it wakes on open AND on close. No problem, one minute till autoclose is no big deal....

Thanks for solution..

/Jark

The Following User Says Thank You to Jark For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes