Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD] Using Skyrocket on T-mobile/AWS Bands

OP tspx23

20th February 2012, 09:15 PM   |  #1  
tspx23's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tempe
Thanks Meter: 355
 
1,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
So a lot of people have been PM'ing me in regards to this matter.

There are also a couple of threads lingering around in the General section on both the t-mobile and skyrocket forums which brush on the topic but don't really go into the details.

I decided to post this here as a MOD.

Yes the Skyrocket will support HSPA+/3g on T-mobiles network. How do I know this? I had one and was using it on t-mobile with no problem.

There are a couple radios you can flash to get HSPA+ on the skyrocket:

T-mobile SGH-T989 KID: http://minus.com/mlupRDTvJ#1
T-mobile SGH-T989 VK1: http://minus.com/mlupRDTvJ#4
Telus KJ3: http://minus.com/mlupRDTvJ#2


Here is the Stock Skyrocket radio: http://minus.com/mlupRDTvJ#3



Depending on where you are located/what bands your operator uses I would assume one of these radios would work better than the other.

On a side note a lot of people have just "claimed" that the skyrocket doesn't pick up hspa+. This is not true, it does but you will have to figure out the right ROM/Kernel/Radio combination. I experienced intermittent connectivity on certain skyrocket kernels while running a T-mobile radio etc. Either way I ALWAYS had the ability to connect to hspa+. Most often I would get speeds of between 3-7mbps. I personally used VK1.

When it comes down to the bottom line though, the skyrocket is essentially the same device as the galaxy s2 but with LTE.



IF this helped please hit the thanks button!
Last edited by tspx23; 24th February 2012 at 10:16 PM.
The Following 44 Users Say Thank You to tspx23 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2012, 09:33 PM   |  #2  
jose makalolot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 151
 
1,813 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
I am also using my skyrocket on T-Mobile. I have Juggernaut/Faux 009/VKL1 combo. So far it has been the best combo for me where I get 3-7mbps. The only problem I have it slow upload speeds. Not just for this combo but for all the combos i tried. I am only getting 50-100kbps upload speeds. Any idea why?

*just a heads up, multiupload has been down for weeks already, might wantto change the download links.
The Following User Says Thank You to jose makalolot For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th February 2012, 09:44 PM   |  #3  
tspx23's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tempe
Thanks Meter: 355
 
1,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jose makalolot

I am also using my skyrocket on T-Mobile. I have Juggernaut/Faux 009/VKL1 combo. So far it has been the best combo for me where I get 3-7mbps. The only problem I have it slow upload speeds. Not just for this combo but for all the combos i tried. I am only getting 50-100kbps upload speeds. Any idea why?

*just a heads up, multiupload has been down for weeks already, might wantto change the download links.

didn't realize lol let me see if i still have the files ill put them up
21st February 2012, 05:16 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Amite, La.
Thanks Meter: 40
 
243 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
I think you have the labels mixed up and I downloaded all 4 but only have 3 different files. 2 of them are i727 radios.
21st February 2012, 05:29 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Daytona Beach FL
Thanks Meter: 24
 
248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
both links are KID modems, fyi
21st February 2012, 06:05 AM   |  #6  
tspx23's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Tempe
Thanks Meter: 355
 
1,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mk262

both links are KID modems, fyi

my bad let me upload the other one... my internet has been super crappy lately -.-
21st February 2012, 11:23 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
510 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Hoping this works on att note as well

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using XDA App
22nd February 2012, 02:39 AM   |  #8  
jamesd86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delaware
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Another confirmation here for VK1. Only problem I had was bad battery life .. I don't get 3g from T-Mobile where I live so I just keep stock at$t on and flash vk1 when I know ill have access to 3g for awhile.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
22nd February 2012, 07:30 AM   |  #9  
jose makalolot's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Florida
Thanks Meter: 151
 
1,813 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesd86

Another confirmation here for VK1. Only problem I had was bad battery life .. I don't get 3g from T-Mobile where I live so I just keep stock at$t on and flash vk1 when I know ill have access to 3g for awhile.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium

So far, with the combo I have.
Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1329892147010.jpg
Views:	4845
Size:	28.1 KB
ID:	914041Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1329892172730.jpg
Views:	4634
Size:	18.2 KB
ID:	914042Click image for larger version

Name:	uploadfromtaptalk1329892191322.jpg
Views:	4346
Size:	31.7 KB
ID:	914043



-----------
sent from my calculator with android
22nd February 2012, 06:39 PM   |  #10  
Najuto9tail's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lajas, PR
Thanks Meter: 150
 
734 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
is there any way that this could work with sgh-i777?

The Following User Says Thank You to Najuto9tail For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes