Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

The Offical how I hard bricked my E4GT thread

OP iBustCh3rries

28th February 2012, 11:18 PM   |  #111  
Account currently disabled
Flag phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1,036
 
2,634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dchibro

I don't know if it's as simple as that. I went from FB17 to FB21 by ...

1) Booting into Rogue FB17 CWM repack recovery
2) Installing Calk's wipe all ZIP
3) Installing FB21 ROM
4) Installing FB21 Modem
5) Reboot

All went fine. No brick.

I later used sfhub's autoroot tool to push over the FB21 CWM kernel repack. Again, rebooted fine.

EDIT - I've also Nandroid restored my GB ROM to get a GPS lock, shutdown, booted back into CWM and restored my FB21 ICS ROM. Don't know what to say really, but it seems I've done a lot of the things that people are suspecting are causing the bricks.

All it takes is once to corrupt the data partition and you have a brick better to be safe

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
28th February 2012, 11:30 PM   |  #112  
Dchibro's Avatar
Senior Member
San Diego, CA
Thanks Meter: 281
 
1,032 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epix4G

All it takes is once to corrupt the data partition and you have a brick better to be safe

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

Yeah you're probably right. After finally reading this whole thread I'm going to follow your advice and Odin a full EL29 before I go anywhere from here until this stuff gets worked out. Too many unknowns for my taste.
28th February 2012, 11:47 PM   |  #113  
Rob4828's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 89
 
478 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dchibro

Yeah you're probably right. After finally reading this whole thread I'm going to follow your advice and Odin a full EL29 before I go anywhere from here until this stuff gets worked out. Too many unknowns for my taste.

+1

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
29th February 2012, 12:28 AM   |  #114  
Account currently disabled
Flag phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1,036
 
2,634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dchibro

Yeah you're probably right. After finally reading this whole thread I'm going to follow your advice and Odin a full EL29 before I go anywhere from here until this stuff gets worked out. Too many unknowns for my taste.

That's the thing no one knows for sure what is happening but most involve touch recovery...I just went back to cm7 last night and used mobile Odin pro to do it and it worked great ...

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
29th February 2012, 01:44 AM   |  #115  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Epix4G

All it takes is once to corrupt the data partition and you have a brick better to be safe

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium

When mine bricked I was not touching the data partition at all. I was reinstalling a ROM and did not wipe data.
29th February 2012, 02:13 AM   |  #116  
EmperorX's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 512
 
1,789 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clipcarl

When mine bricked I was not touching the data partition at all. I was reinstalling a ROM and did not wipe data.

Touch recovery or rogue? Not that either is a for sure cause. I'm just curious

Sent from my SPH-D710 using XDA App
29th February 2012, 02:13 AM   |  #117  
krazyflipj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 392
 
2,566 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by clipcarl

When mine bricked I was not touching the data partition at all. I was reinstalling a ROM and did not wipe data.

Based on your previous post, looks like the issue was that you were flashing CM9 3.1 with SH's Rogue Recovery. Remember, when 3.1 was released, there was no custom recovery for it. I believe/recommend the only way of flashing CM9 3.1 is with a stock CWM recovery (Found in CM7 rom). If you want Rogue Recovery, make sure you have stock CWM recovery found in cm7, flash CM93.1, then flash CM9 Rogue Recovery in the same session.
Last edited by krazyflipj; 29th February 2012 at 02:22 AM.
29th February 2012, 02:36 AM   |  #118  
Account currently disabled
Flag phoenix
Thanks Meter: 1,036
 
2,634 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
One of the devs said that Samsung moved the data partition a little in ics .... Don't remember where I saw it but that could be the reason no one has had a brick when Odin back yo GB vs just restore back or flash back from ics .... Safer to Odin in my opinion

Sent from my SPH-D710 using xda premium
29th February 2012, 09:56 AM   |  #119  
Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 6
 
58 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Visit to Sprint Store was unproductive
I bricked my E4GT by flashing a ICS 4.0.3 ROM. So yesterday I went to a Sprint Store and was told that flashing ANYTHING that didn't come from Sprint voided my warranty. And that since I wasn't a Sprint subscriber (Credo Mobile subscriber), they couldn't work on my phone. From what they were saying they couldn't even work on it by me paying for it. I was hoping to get reflashed by JTAG. So today I'll call Credo and try to get an exchange. The phone is just over a month old. And since Credo doesn't have any means of troubleshooting or repair like Sprint, all they can do is exchange it. Or maybe I can just take it to a cell phone repair shop and see if they can JTAG it. WHATEVER, I just need my phone back. I may even have to "update" my phone meaning just buy another one for almost full price and chalk it up to my stupidity. I should have known better to flash a ROM from Zedomax immediately before checking it out by searching for comments etc.,first. I feel a little better knowing that Samsung phones respond to the JTAG very nicely. Now everything depends on what Credo tells me today. Will update...
29th February 2012, 10:32 AM   |  #120  
nevrlow's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag virginia beach
Thanks Meter: 523
 
2,913 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Bricking a phone is never a good time. I've only Bricked one phone thank God. I got a g1 back in the day and rooted successful. Traded it for a white T2. I Bricked that one. haven't Bricked a phone since. Scary stuff.

Sent from My HD2 with GingerBreadz.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
official im an idiot thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes