Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[APP][2.3+] Barbell Loader

OP somecanuck

21st February 2012, 10:30 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
https://market.android.com/details?i....barbellLoader

Tired of adding up weights in the gym? Barbell Loader Pro does it for you!
Features:
  • Add and remove discs with a single tap.
  • Filter your disc units from mixed, kilograms, or pounds.
  • Calculate the discs required for a fixed weight.
  • Optionally include/exclude the weight of the barbell or collars.
  • Calculate your one repetition max (1RM) using eight formulas, or the average of each formula.
  • Customize the weight of the barbell and collars.
  • Customize the list of available discs to select from.

Additional features in Barbell Loader Pro:
  • An ad-free, permission-free experience!
  • Save your selected discs and preferences as a Favorite for quick and easy access.
  • Lock individual discs to prevent changing their values during calculations or when changing units.
  • Customize the default display units.
  • Select a disc display mode, discs total or discs per side.
  • Save your exercises to a journal.

https://market.android.com/details?i....barbellLoader
Last edited by somecanuck; 7th April 2012 at 05:33 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to somecanuck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2012, 12:35 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
v1.1
  • Added a 15 lbs disc.
  • By request, added the one repetition max (1RM) calculator.
  • Moved the "Settings" button to the action bar.
  • Minor bug fixes.
19th March 2012, 10:48 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
v1.2
  • Complete redesign and rewrite for improved performance and features.
  • Optional paid version with additional features and no ads.
7th April 2012, 05:32 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
v1.4
Added a Journal (Barbell Loader Pro).
--------
v1.3
Updated to ActionBarSherlock 4.0.1
Corrected an error when changing screen orientation.
7th April 2012, 06:21 AM   |  #5  
Account currently disabled
Flag The cold part of Ohio
Thanks Meter: 416
 
2,149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Anyone who leg presses on a regular basis (like me) will love this app! I'm regularly guessing what weight in using. Being able to calculate my 1rm on the fly helps a ton if I decide I want to max out that day.

Not sure if it was in the OP, but can I convert kg to lbs?

Sent from my DROID X2 using xda premium
7th April 2012, 06:25 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Yes you can. You can enter a weight to be calculated in kg or lbs, and it'll return the result in whatever mode (kg, lbs, or mixed) you happen to be in.

Changing the mode means restricting the available discs that will be used for calculations. Additionally, you can set whether discs are ever available under preferences. For example, my gym lacks 55 lbs and 15 lbs plates, so I turn those off. The same goes for some of the change kg plates.
7th April 2012, 06:41 AM   |  #7  
Account currently disabled
Flag The cold part of Ohio
Thanks Meter: 416
 
2,149 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanuck

Yes you can. You can enter a weight to be calculated in kg or lbs, and it'll return the result in whatever mode (kg, lbs, or mixed) you happen to be in.

Changing the mode means restricting the available discs that will be used for calculations. Additionally, you can set whether discs are ever available under preferences. For example, my gym lacks 55 lbs and 15 lbs plates, so I turn those off. The same goes for some of the change kg plates.

That toggle with certainly help when inputting the plates I used that workout.

Sent from my DROID X2 using xda premium
11th April 2012, 02:46 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag New Brunswick
Thanks Meter: 18
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Love the idea, but I bought the pro version, locked the plates I don't have access to , then entered 135lbs which including the 45lbs bar should be 2 45lbs plates, it will not give me this no matter what I do.. It keeps changing my weight to 131.5 lbs and gives me for plates, no 45lbs, 2x25lbs, 2x10lbs and 2x5lbs... I tried changing the barbell weight to 45lbs as well and it wouldn't stick. I'll wait until this gets sorted out before buying and before recommending it.


EDIT ****Never mind, Sorted it out after seeing the preferences, turns out I was not in the right section when changing the barbell weight******
Last edited by Jester23; 11th April 2012 at 02:51 PM. Reason: Because I was wrong :)
11th April 2012, 02:52 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Really? I just did what you suggested in "Mixed" mode. I disabled the collars and locked the "25 kg" and "55 lbs" discs, calculated for 135 lbs, and received the exact value ("61.29 kg / 135 lbs").

Did you change the default bar weight (in Preferences, wrench from the dashboard) to 45 lbs? Most people assume that the standard bar is 45 lbs, but it is really 20 kg / 44.09 lbs. If you use spring collars, I'd suggest changing the default bar weight to 45 lbs and just leaving collars turned off.

If you'd like, I can make a video demonstrating what I did. Let me know.
11th April 2012, 03:01 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag New Brunswick
Thanks Meter: 18
 
141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanuck

Really? I just did what you suggested in "Mixed" mode. I disabled the collars and locked the "25 kg" and "55 lbs" discs, calculated for 135 lbs, and received the exact value ("61.29 kg / 135 lbs").

Did you change the default bar weight (in Preferences, wrench from the dashboard) to 45 lbs? Most people assume that the standard bar is 45 lbs, but it is really 20 kg / 44.09 lbs. If you use spring collars, I'd suggest changing the default bar weight to 45 lbs and just leaving collars turned off.

If you'd like, I can make a video demonstrating what I did. Let me know.

Thanks but as my edit states on my post now it's all sorted. I didn't see the preferences. I have recommended the app on my gym website

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
barbell, exercise, fitness, health, weightlifting
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes