XDA LG Development Challenge Winners

Almost 3months ago, we set out with LGto findtwo amazing apps that developers could put together … more

Wearable Apps w/ Andreas Göransson – XDA:DevCon 2014

XDA:DevCon 2014 in Manchester, UK featured quite a few interesting topics as … more

Browse Your Files with Ease using MK Explorer

Google has made quite an effort in perfecting the powerful and multi-faceted OS that we know as … more

How to Fix the Nexus Available Storage Bug – XDA TV

Is your Nexus device only showing half of the available storage as it should? Many … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[chroot] BT5 chroot scripts

OP edounn

21st February 2012, 11:35 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Bt5 & ubuntu chroot scripts, slighly modified from att GNote version. credit goes to (i assume) msullivan

scripts
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4109264/chroot.zip
image
BT5 https://www.box.com/s/bi2ix44bi1urufdpatjq
Or Download it from Backtrack's website.
choose BT5
Arch: arm
Image: IMG
http://www.backtrack-linux.org/downloads/

::Ubuntu image and scripts:::
http://ubuntuone.com/1Ew1232e3D51PCjYOkkQU7
http://ubuntuone.com/6majPjQf42Mplb0RZpMjIF


unzip chroot.zip into /sdcard/bt5/ on your phone

(I can't give you the bt5.img I have, it already has a bunch of my stuff in it, just download the bt5.img here, from msullivans post, and take just the bt5.img and put it in your /sdcard/bt5/ folder with that you unzipped earlier.

You should have these files in /sdcard/bt5
bt.sh
mountonly
unionfs
fsrw
bt5.img

Once your files match what's shown above open terminal and:
gain root access for terminal
Code:
su
run the script from the directory
Code:
sh /sdcard/bt5/bt.sh
or change to the dir /sdcard/bt5
Code:
cd /sdcard/bt5
and run sh bt.sh
Code:
sh bt.sh
You should see it start up, and you'll be prompted to start VNC. type Y, for yes, enter

Because our phones are awesome, we want 1280X800 on our images. So, after you have answered yes to starting VNC, we need to edit /usr/bin/startvnc file.
Code:
vi /usr/bin/startvnc
change the last line to (it should say something like vncserver -geometry 800X480)
vncserver -geometry 1280x800

At this point the easy way is restart your phone, and start up bt5 again.

then go to VNC

Nickname: BackTrack5
Password: root
Address: 127.0.0.1
Port: 5901

__________________________________________________ _____

TL;DR:
  • edit /usr/bin/startvnc (in chroot) to vncserver -geometry 1280x800
  • restart phone, run bt.sh; sh /sdcard/bt5/bt.sh, and start up VNC


It's awesome, and works great with the BT mouse/keyboard, and the extra resolution makes it feel better than the old OQO's :). it's awesome
Last edited by edounn; 7th March 2012 at 08:12 AM. Reason: ubuntu scripts added
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to edounn For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st February 2012, 11:36 PM   |  #2  
OP Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
also, if you want ubuntu, download the ARM ubuntu.img on XDA (there are everywhere) and just drop it in the folder, rename it to bt.img. (easy way) or change the bt.sh to reflect ubuntu.img everywhere it says bt.img
22nd February 2012, 01:06 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 242
 
531 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
More
very interested in this... is this BT5 regular or or is this the version 5 R1 release?

- Dan
22nd February 2012, 01:48 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Mine is regular bt5, not sure what the images i linked to are. My image is a year old and was used on my atrix too. But i see no reason a new image would'nt work. I'll try to post an image tonight
Last edited by edounn; 22nd February 2012 at 01:51 AM.
25th February 2012, 08:19 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Wasaga Beach
Thanks Meter: 7
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Any luck finding an image?
27th February 2012, 12:08 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
images posted. ubuntu image soon.
Last edited by edounn; 27th February 2012 at 03:07 PM.
28th February 2012, 07:36 PM   |  #7  
Johnsondr80's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Tuscaloosa
Thanks Meter: 5,004
 
3,441 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by edounn

images posted. ubuntu image soon.

Can't wait.
Thanks uploader.
2nd March 2012, 03:31 PM   |  #8  
dan.expo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Sorry to bother you but I'm getting the following error:

$ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
$ su
# sh /sdcard/bt5/bt.sh
mkdir failed for /data/local/mnt, File exists
Loop device exists
losetup: /dev/block/loop255: No such file or directory
mount: Invalid argument
mount: No such file or directory
mount: No such file or directory
mount: No such file or directory
net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1
/sdcard/bt5/bt.sh: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
/sdcard/bt5/bt.sh: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/resolv.conf: directory nonexistent
/sdcard/bt5/bt.sh: cannot create /data/local/mnt/etc/hosts: directory nonexistent
Ubuntu is configured with SSH and VNC servers that can be accessed from the IP:
eth0: No such device

chroot: can't execute '/bin/bash': No such file or directory
Shutting down BackTrack ARM
failed.
failed.
failed.
failed.
losetup: /dev/block/loop255: No such device or address
#

Any ideas?

Sent from my SGH-I717R using xda premium
3rd March 2012, 06:40 AM   |  #9  
OP Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dan.expo

chroot: can't execute '/bin/bash': No such file or directory
Shutting down BackTrack ARM
failed.
failed.
failed.
failed.
losetup: /dev/block/loop255: No such device or address
#

Any ideas?

do you have busybox installed? if not, do that. if so, try running it twice.
3rd March 2012, 06:46 AM   |  #10  
OP Member
Austin, TX
Thanks Meter: 14
 
81 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnsondr80

Can't wait.
Thanks uploader.

np guy with 379px signature ;)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes