Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,261 Members 50,986 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC DUMLOCK - Flash boot from recovery without fastboot! (Updated 2012-02-28 v2)

Tip us?
 
Dees_Troy
Old
(Last edited by Dees_Troy; 28th February 2012 at 07:30 PM.)
#1  
Dees_Troy's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 9013
Posts: 1,579
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: KC MO

 
DONATE TO ME
Default HTC DUMLOCK - Flash boot from recovery without fastboot! (Updated 2012-02-28 v2)

HTC Dumlock

HTC Dumlock is a workaround for devices with HTC's unlock that cannot flash boot from recovery. Put simply, we make backups of recovery and boot, then we flash the backup of recovery to boot. When you reboot normally, you'll be in your recovery, but since your recovery is flashed to boot, you can make changes to boot. Head on over to our website for download links and instructions.

NOTE: The Rezound does not have TWRP, so you will be using the universal version!

New v2 version scans / compares the backups of boot and recovery to help ensure that you don't run it twice and wipe out your backup of boot.
The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Dees_Troy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
con247
Old
#2  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3112
Posts: 3,070
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
I believe I can unify all of the zips into a single one that is touchscreen based It would make it extremely easy and useful.
Current Phone: iPhone 5[s]
Check out my GS3 Splash Screen Changer
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to con247 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mjh68
Old
(Last edited by mjh68; 22nd February 2012 at 08:09 PM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 353
Posts: 1,558
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by con247 View Post
I believe I can unify all of the zips into a single one that is touchscreen based It would make it extremely easy and useful.
Con,
I hope your professor's appreciate you ! I was hoping you would simplify it.

Quick question, so reading through the website a few times. It is my understanding once this is properly set up when we make backups it will be backing up the kernel and when we restore backups we wouldn't have to reflash kernel or am I taking it to far ?

Also would our backups from Amon Ra still work or better to just delete them and just make fresh backups of current rom with TWRP recovery.
The Following User Says Thank You to mjh68 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Dees_Troy
Old
#4  
Dees_Troy's Avatar
Senior Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 9013
Posts: 1,579
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: KC MO

 
DONATE TO ME
There's 2 versions, one is the universal version that works with any recovery. The other, the TWRP version, is only available for a handful of devices and that doesn't include the Rezound. I don't have a Rezound, so I can't speak for it myself, but I would imagine that your existing backups would be fine (you could read boot, just not write to it) unless you chose not to back up boot.
 
con247
Old
#5  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3112
Posts: 3,070
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
I believe once I rebuild it specifically for the Rezound it will clear the confusion surrounding the purpose and use of the tool.
Current Phone: iPhone 5[s]
Check out my GS3 Splash Screen Changer
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to con247 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
king.james
Old
#6  
king.james's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 261
Posts: 673
Join Date: Nov 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
I look forward to seeing where this goes...
~King James The Wicked~


"Sig by WasabiWa83"
 
pkopalek
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 1,084
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Buffalo, NY
This may be huge. Invaluable tool if used properly.
Paul Kopalek
pkopalek@gmail.com
HTC Eris - xtrSense 5 @ 768mhz Retired
Samsung Fascinate - CM 7, Glitch HL @ 1600mhz stable Retired
HTC Rezound/Vigor
 
RustyNailz
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 156
Join Date: Jul 2010
I wonder if this same technique would work using "fastboot boot recovery.img" instead of actually having to save / flash / restore the boot.img?
 
nolimit78
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 898
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City
I've been asking the same question

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA Premium App

S-Off'd by Revone // ROM: InsertCoin 2.4.0 // Recovery: TWRP v2.7.0.4b // FW: 4.19.1540.4

G1 > HTC G2 > Evo > Evo 3D > Rezound > Sensation > HTC One
I don't mean to be an HTC fanboy, I just like their hardware better
 
con247
Old
#10  
con247's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3112
Posts: 3,070
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ann Arbor
Quote:
Originally Posted by RustyNailz View Post
I wonder if this same technique would work using "fastboot boot recovery.img" instead of actually having to save / flash / restore the boot.img?
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolimit78 View Post
I've been asking the same question

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA Premium App
Yes, but the point is to avoid fastboot.
Current Phone: iPhone 5[s]
Check out my GS3 Splash Screen Changer

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes