FORUMS

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[ROOT ICS] The hard way && Digging for roots

27th February 2012, 02:35 AM |#81  
OP Senior Member
Throop
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
I just got /system mounted as writable, and was able to install busybox to /system/xbin. It's a workaround for now but it works. Updating the OP with detalis.
The Following User Says Thank You to eww245 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
27th February 2012, 02:52 AM |#82  
Senior Member
Flag Eugene
Thanks Meter: 8
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eww245

I just got /system mounted as writable, and was able to install busybox to /system/xbin. It's a workaround for now but it works. Updating the OP with detalis.

Nice! Looking forward to trying.

edit: on the command
./busybox cp su loop/xbin/ ; ./busybox cp busybox loop/xbin/

I don't think you need the trailing "/" - I get error with it, no error without trailing "/"
Last edited by winkeye; 27th February 2012 at 03:02 AM.
27th February 2012, 05:57 AM |#83  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Ok... still having trouble with fastboot. Once you issue the oem unluck, the white acer logo appears but the bootloader is still locked. However, you can check getvar with it.

I am sure it can be unlocked. We just need to figure out how.
27th February 2012, 06:40 AM |#84  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
I wish you guys the best of luck I'd try this but my literacy with trying to get ADB to install on windows is about as bad as me accidentally uninstalling gnome on ubuntu once >.>
27th February 2012, 08:47 AM |#85  
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by StonedYoda

Sorry if I'm asking a dumb question, I'm just learning adb and still don't fully understand it all...but are you saying root was successful? Or are you still trying to get system r/w? I'm going to use this method to at least make sure I get the same result and try to contribute whatever I can. If anyone needs a tester or anything, please let me know how I can help. Thanks for all of your hard work, guys.

Yup, sucessful. After getting the error line i continued with the remainder. Root it successful. System r/w isn't sticking. I'm just happy to get root so I can boost up the stats I really care about.

Sent from my A100 using Tapatalk
27th February 2012, 08:51 AM |#86  
Senior Member
Flag Winnipeg
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ethanwinkley

Jeromel - how did you install ICS? Did you upgrade from HC, and if so, were you rooted?

I just used the update.zip file posted in the leaked ICS thread. Yes I was on HC GEN2 and was rooted. Root isn't required and you don't have to be on GEN1.

Sent from my A100 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to jeromel For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2012, 01:32 PM |#87  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Did anyone else notice that the ADB devices number has changed now? Instead of a series of numbers & characters, it has 11 numbers instead?

This boot/flash_image/fastboot stuff is driving me nuts...

Did anyone try to fastboot oem unlock with 3.2/3.2.1?
Last edited by Icewyng; 27th February 2012 at 01:58 PM.
27th February 2012, 06:04 PM |#88  
ED2O9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Please excuse my ignorance on this, but where exactly to you add the three lines to install-recovery.sh? I've got root and r/w on system, but I'm a little shaky on editing a system file I'm unfamiliar with.
Thanks for all your work on this!!
27th February 2012, 06:18 PM |#89  
OP Senior Member
Throop
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ED2O9

Please excuse my ignorance on this, but where exactly to you add the three lines to install-recovery.sh? I've got root and r/w on system, but I'm a little shaky on editing a system file I'm unfamiliar with.
Thanks for all your work on this!!

It's safe to delete everything in the file. I usually like to make a copy of any files I edit ot let Root Explorer do it for you.
27th February 2012, 06:31 PM |#90  
ED2O9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 90
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eww245

It's safe to delete everything in the file. I usually like to make a copy of any files I edit ot let Root Explorer do it for you.

So, back it up (obviously) and replace all the existing lines with the three from the original post?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes