Post Reply

(GUIDE)How to get ROOT,WIFI+BT, CWM Recovery, Face unclock + Gapps for ICS BETA

OP dinesh690

23rd February 2012, 07:03 PM   |  #1  
dinesh690's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 1,570
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hey Guys, Just thought I would put together everything in one thread for everyone so you guys can get everything available for ICS beta atm, Most of this is thanks to DoomLord!


Firstly, To have CWM Recovery, Hotboot any kernel. I will explain

1. Download a kernel e.g Doomkernel v19 and hotboot via fast boot
Type in Fastboot boot boot.img
Then boot while repeatly pressing back button/volume rockets to enter recovery.
This will not flash this kernel only boot it so nothing else required
2. Then get into recovery by pressing volume rockers and flash whatever you need, after this reboot your device and thats it
Well it does require you to have PC access everytime you want recovery but it will have to do for now



OR for easier way simply install this CWM installer made by pvyparts which works fine with ics beta rom and don't need PC for it.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1437840
It could cause issues as this CWM isn't made for this but no issues have been reported as of now.


To Get faceunclock and google apps such as market, gmail:

1. Go to FXP Cm9 thread and download their latest gapps and flash via recovery( use method above for recovery)


To get ROOT access:

1.Flash the superuser fix via recovery ( access recovery via method above)
2. Go to the market and download busybox by Stephen Sterricson and then select any version of busybox and install it. NOW YOU HAVE ROOT




Thanks to Binary, We have WIFI And Bluetooth now too. Go into build.prop via Root explorer, OI file manager (free) or other file explorers:
add these lines into system/build.prop
persist.wifienabled=1
persist.btenabled=1

OR flash the package by Doomlord via recovery ( use method above). Much easier



Now we have everything that is needed Thanks to Binary and Doomlord once more.
Last edited by dinesh690; 23rd January 2013 at 06:15 PM.
The Following 40 Users Say Thank You to dinesh690 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2012, 07:11 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Riyadh
Thanks Meter: 112
 
382 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
Thanks alot .... All what is left for now is the Wifi fix .... doom said bin4ry has a build.prop fix or something anybody found it?
The Following User Says Thank You to hemo1001 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2012, 07:11 PM   |  #3  
rashid.fairus's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Klang
Thanks Meter: 230
 
1,065 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
More
you are so quick mate

have you try using doom on screen button enabler??
Last edited by rashid.fairus; 23rd February 2012 at 07:15 PM.
23rd February 2012, 07:13 PM   |  #4  
kormatoes's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag newcastle upon tyne ne5
Thanks Meter: 3,889
 
4,740 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
I have wifi and root

Sent from my Xoom using Tapatalk
23rd February 2012, 07:13 PM   |  #5  
dinesh690's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 1,570
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thanks guys, and ill try and find the wifi thing. If i do ill update the thread
Last edited by dinesh690; 23rd February 2012 at 07:16 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to dinesh690 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2012, 07:14 PM   |  #6  
dinesh690's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 1,570
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
How did you get wifi working mate :eek: Please share
The Following User Says Thank You to dinesh690 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2012, 07:17 PM   |  #7  
pushtostop's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag wexford
Thanks Meter: 60
 
274 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
You can just hot boot doomkernel after installing se boot.img by

Fastboot boot boot.img

Once u restart from recovery it will revert to the original kernel

Sent from here to there.
Last edited by pushtostop; 23rd February 2012 at 07:31 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to pushtostop For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2012, 07:20 PM   |  #8  
dinesh690's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 1,570
 
818 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Thanks updated OP
The Following User Says Thank You to dinesh690 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2012, 07:24 PM   |  #9  
crimilde's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bucharest
Thanks Meter: 41
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Hi guys,

I think Bin4ry's fix was that there's a line in build.prop called persist.wifienabled which needs to be set to 1 (true).
I'm backing up my ROM and then I'll try it on my arc, see if it works.

Cheers

EDIT: it works perfectly ;)
Last edited by crimilde; 23rd February 2012 at 08:04 PM.
23rd February 2012, 07:25 PM   |  #10  
Bin4ry's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Schwelm (NRW)
Thanks Meter: 5,743
 
1,832 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Donate to Me
More
Better flash a package to enabled wifi and bt.
In just 30 mins i got too much pn's about how to edit the file oO ....

Regards
Last edited by Bin4ry; 23rd February 2012 at 07:58 PM.

The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to Bin4ry For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
addons, beta, ics, sony
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Xperia Arc Android Development by ThreadRank