FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

clockwork-recovery MD5 mismatch FIX!

296 posts
Thanks Meter: 73
 
By arhant, Senior Member on 23rd February 2012, 08:21 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
HEY GUYS I JUST FOUND THE KEY TO THE PROBLEM---clockwork-recovery MD5 mismatch IS VERY SIMPLE...

1.OPEN SD CARD IN WINDOWS.

2.DOWNLOAD 2 SOFTWARES ( MD5 CALCULATOR AND NOTEPAD++) JUS GOOGLE THEM AND INSTALL.

3.OPEN CLOCKWORK FOLDER IN SD VIA COMPUTER->BACKUP->(YOUR BACK).

4.NOW RIGHT CLICK ON NANDROID.MD5 AND EDIT WITH NOTEPAD++

5.GREEN HIGHLIGHTED PHRASE IS A KEY.

6.RIGHT CLICK ON REST EVERY FILE IN BACKUP FOLDER INDIVIDUALLY->MD5 CALCULATOR

7.MATCH THE KEY TO THAT OF NOTEDPAD++ FILE

8.IF THEY DONT MATCH COPY KEY FROM MD5 CALCULATOR AND PASTE IN NOTEPAD

9.SAVE AND EXIT.

10.NOW TRY RECOVERY IT;LL WORK.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	F.jpg
Views:	1491
Size:	191.2 KB
ID:	916424   Click image for larger version

Name:	H.jpg
Views:	916
Size:	19.0 KB
ID:	916432   Click image for larger version

Name:	G.jpg
Views:	1132
Size:	103.6 KB
ID:	916433  
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to arhant For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
24th February 2012, 03:27 AM |#2  
Aspire's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 345
 
Donate to Me
More
MD5 is there for a reason...

Sent from my GT-S5670 using XDA App
24th February 2012, 04:26 AM |#3  
a.cid's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,619
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspire

MD5 is there for a reason...

Sent from my GT-S5670 using XDA App

what reason??
can you share??

(and why did you change the name?)
24th February 2012, 06:18 AM |#4  
Aspire's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 345
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wikipedia

MD5 digests have been widely used in the software world to provide some assurance that a transferred file has arrived intact. For example, file servers often provide a pre-computed MD5 (known as Md5sum) checksum for the files, so that a user can compare the checksum of the downloaded file to it. Unix-based operating systems include MD5 sum utilities in their distribution packages, whereas Windows users use third-party applications.

Successful verification of the md5 file shows that the files are the same as at the time of packing and "not corrupted".
Consider this,
You flash a ROM which did not have a correct md5 checksum.
It may mean that the ROM was corrupted due to some reason and you may end up with a bricked phone.

though the chances of this happening are pretty low with a backup.. but better safe than sorry.

and i changed my username cause i liked it
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Aspire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2012, 06:53 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Gurgaon
Thanks Meter: 50
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by arhant

HEY GUYS I JUST FOUND THE KEY TO THE PROBLEM---clockwork-recovery MD5 mismatch IS VERY SIMPLE...

1.OPEN SD CARD IN WINDOWS.

2.DOWNLOAD 2 SOFTWARES ( MD5 CALCULATOR AND NOTEPAD++) JUS GOOGLE THEM AND INSTALL.

3.OPEN CLOCKWORK FOLDER IN SD VIA COMPUTER->BACKUP->(YOUR BACK).

4.NOW RIGHT CLICK ON NANDROID.MD5 AND EDIT WITH NOTEPAD++

5.GREEN HIGHLIGHTED PHRASE IS A KEY.

6.RIGHT CLICK ON REST EVERY FILE IN BACKUP FOLDER INDIVIDUALLY->MD5 CALCULATOR

7.MATCH THE KEY TO THAT OF NOTEDPAD++ FILE

8.IF THEY DONT MATCH COPY KEY FROM MD5 CALCULATOR AND PASTE IN NOTEPAD

9.SAVE AND EXIT.

10.NOW TRY RECOVERY IT;LL WORK.

Or you can simply use the app root toolbox available in the market.

Sent from my Galaxy Fit @ 801Mhz- RazoDroid
Last edited by chelsearulz5; 24th February 2012 at 12:31 PM.
24th February 2012, 10:57 AM |#6  
a.cid's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Mumbai
Thanks Meter: 2,619
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspire

Successful verification of the md5 file shows that the files are the same as at the time of packing and "not corrupted".
Consider this,
You flash a ROM which did not have a correct md5 checksum.
It may mean that the ROM was corrupted due to some reason and you may end up with a bricked phone.

though the chances of this happening are pretty low with a backup.. but better safe than sorry.

and i changed my username cause i liked it

what's your real name, btw?? :curious:

and buddy, why don't you join us on fb? see my sig vvvv
27th February 2012, 04:23 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
More
Congratulations arihant you made FIT to appear on XDA Portal !!
27th February 2012, 07:19 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
delhi
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by invincible authority

congratulations arihant you made fit to appear on xda portal !! :d

thnx even i didnt knew that..thnx for telling..
Last edited by arhant; 28th February 2012 at 05:00 AM.
15th March 2012, 12:07 PM |#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
You are GENIUS THX!!!
15th March 2012, 01:45 PM |#10  
slobo14's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Ostrovo
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aspire

MD5 is there for a reason...

Sent from my GT-S5670 using XDA App

Well yeah, MD5 is a great thing when it comes to checking consistency of a file, but for example, it bothers me because i have about 5-6 rom backups and they are all difrent roms, so i need to change the name of folder from date-time stamp to name of the rom, but when i do that i cant restore it any more because MD5 checksum apperantly checks the folders name also so i have to rename it again to date stamp... but sometimes it can be useful... just sayin'
15th March 2012, 03:52 PM |#11  
Aspire's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 345
 
Donate to Me
More
I don't think cwm checks the backup names. I've got a couple of backups renamed to the ROM names and they work well.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes