Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,444 Members 44,775 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

downgrading to 3.2

Tip us?
 
frost866
Old
#1  
frost866's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 108
Posts: 336
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: GTA
Default downgrading to 3.2

hi guys, acctually i updated my tf101 to ics. its so slow. idecidec to downgrade to hc again. i used my backup rom with cwm but after rebooting my tf stock at asus boot image and didnt boot up? any suggestion guys?
Sent from my Transformer TF101 using xda premium

 
daxtsu
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 38
Join Date: Nov 2011
Try reflashing your old rom after restoring your backup. CWM doesn't backup the kernel, so you need to flash your old kernel back.
 
miketoasty
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 452
Posts: 2,344
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
This is the most backward logic I have ever heard in my entire life. I guess if you have to go back (Don't know why you would) get the HC firmware from ASUS's site and flash it.

---------- Post added at 01:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:43 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxtsu View Post
Try reflashing your old rom after restoring your backup. CWM doesn't backup the kernel, so you need to flash your old kernel back.
CWM does back up the kernel.
 
baseballfanz
Old
#4  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1709
Posts: 6,689
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sugar Land TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by miketoasty View Post

CWM does back up the kernel.
Peoples going back from ICS to HC all have run into troubles restoring the kernel.
**************
The Following User Says Thank You to baseballfanz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
daxtsu
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 38
Join Date: Nov 2011
Exactly. For whatever reason, going from ICS -> HC won't work right unless you reflash your old kernel.
 
tcrews
Old
#6  
tcrews's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 175
Posts: 720
Join Date: May 2010
If ICS seems slow you should do a Factory Reset first before anything more extreme like trying to go backwards to a previous version.

The same things were happening when the Xoom was upgraded to ICS......a few had issues with it feeling slower while the majority were raving about the increased performance. A Factory Reset corrected the slowness and/or FC's on most of those.

I personally always Factory Reset when changing/upgrading ROM versions (Eclair to Froyo, Froyo to Gingerbread...and now Honeycomb to Ice Cream Sandwich). Seems to keep the issues to a minimum.....

(just purchased a Transformer for my wife....)
http://android.snkbitten.com/
Motorola Droid, Droid 2, Droid 3 and Droid 4 (all rooted)
Motorola Moto X DevEd - KK 4.4.2 + Root
Google Nexus 10 - KK 4.4.2 + Root
 
ericshmerick
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 259
Posts: 1,444
Join Date: Apr 2006
I did a full wipe. Installed ICS OTA then did two more wipes, then set up.

Mine flies and I am slowly adding back apps I actually need. Everything is great here.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using xda premium
 
Hearmeman
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 283
Join Date: Oct 2011
ICS on the TF
just sucks
really im running a beta of ICS on my galaxy s2
and its great transformer just sucks
yea no keyboard lag
but its pretty slow
im gonna have to revert


If i ever helped you press the Thanks button
thank you
 
miketoasty
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 452
Posts: 2,344
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hearmeman View Post
ICS on the TF
just sucks
really im running a beta of ICS on my galaxy s2
and its great transformer just sucks
yea no keyboard lag
but its pretty slow
im gonna have to revert
Okay Mr.Troll not even going to argue with you as I am having a great Friday especially with ICS on my Transformer, have fun bro!

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
 
daxtsu
Old
#10  
Member
Thanks Meter 64
Posts: 38
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by miketoasty View Post
Okay Mr.Troll not even going to argue with you as I am having a great Friday especially with ICS on my Transformer, have fun bro!

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
Agreed, I've had no issues so far with my ICS. It's always going to be a little chunky and slow for the first hour or so probably while it builds databases, caches, and whatever else it does in the background. Give it some time to do its busywork. If it's still slow after that, try wiping and doing it again? :/

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...