FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

downgrading to 3.2

24th February 2012, 06:33 PM |#1  
frost866's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag GTA
Thanks Meter: 108
 
More
hi guys, acctually i updated my tf101 to ics. its so slow. idecidec to downgrade to hc again. i used my backup rom with cwm but after rebooting my tf stock at asus boot image and didnt boot up? any suggestion guys?
Sent from my Transformer TF101 using xda premium
 
 
24th February 2012, 06:37 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Try reflashing your old rom after restoring your backup. CWM doesn't backup the kernel, so you need to flash your old kernel back.
24th February 2012, 06:43 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 463
 
More
This is the most backward logic I have ever heard in my entire life. I guess if you have to go back (Don't know why you would) get the HC firmware from ASUS's site and flash it.

---------- Post added at 01:43 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:43 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by daxtsu

Try reflashing your old rom after restoring your backup. CWM doesn't backup the kernel, so you need to flash your old kernel back.

CWM does back up the kernel.
24th February 2012, 06:49 PM |#4  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sugar Land TX
Thanks Meter: 1,718
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miketoasty


CWM does back up the kernel.

Peoples going back from ICS to HC all have run into troubles restoring the kernel.
The Following User Says Thank You to baseballfanz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th February 2012, 06:56 PM |#5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Exactly. For whatever reason, going from ICS -> HC won't work right unless you reflash your old kernel.
24th February 2012, 06:59 PM |#6  
tcrews's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 193
 
More
If ICS seems slow you should do a Factory Reset first before anything more extreme like trying to go backwards to a previous version.

The same things were happening when the Xoom was upgraded to ICS......a few had issues with it feeling slower while the majority were raving about the increased performance. A Factory Reset corrected the slowness and/or FC's on most of those.

I personally always Factory Reset when changing/upgrading ROM versions (Eclair to Froyo, Froyo to Gingerbread...and now Honeycomb to Ice Cream Sandwich). Seems to keep the issues to a minimum.....

(just purchased a Transformer for my wife....)
24th February 2012, 07:02 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 263
 
More
I did a full wipe. Installed ICS OTA then did two more wipes, then set up.

Mine flies and I am slowly adding back apps I actually need. Everything is great here.

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using xda premium
24th February 2012, 07:12 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
ICS on the TF
just sucks
really im running a beta of ICS on my galaxy s2
and its great transformer just sucks
yea no keyboard lag
but its pretty slow
im gonna have to revert
24th February 2012, 07:14 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Pittsburgh
Thanks Meter: 463
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hearmeman

ICS on the TF
just sucks
really im running a beta of ICS on my galaxy s2
and its great transformer just sucks
yea no keyboard lag
but its pretty slow
im gonna have to revert

Okay Mr.Troll not even going to argue with you as I am having a great Friday especially with ICS on my Transformer, have fun bro!

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk
24th February 2012, 07:41 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 64
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by miketoasty

Okay Mr.Troll not even going to argue with you as I am having a great Friday especially with ICS on my Transformer, have fun bro!

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk

Agreed, I've had no issues so far with my ICS. It's always going to be a little chunky and slow for the first hour or so probably while it builds databases, caches, and whatever else it does in the background. Give it some time to do its busywork. If it's still slow after that, try wiping and doing it again? :/
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes