5,604,367 Members 48,662 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT] TF101 ICS from OTA

Tip us?
 
rhcp0112345
Old
(Last edited by Mikey; 27th February 2012 at 10:37 PM.)
#1  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROOT] TF101 ICS from OTA

Hello,

This is a new root method.

This is a linux / OSX version only for now.

When you untar the file. Please make sure to edit the runme.sh it has a path for adb that you need to fix. Other then that it will work.

You just chmod 755 runme.sh and run it


Mod Edit: removed link

EDIT: This has been confirmed working on the TF201 and TF101 so its a Universal root for all transformers


EDIT: Adding a step by step guide here.


A) Install an app from market any app. (I choose rootchecker)
B) Open the app-draw and select the asus backup utility and backup rootchecker
C) follow the scripts instructions
D) When it asks you to do another backup. Go into the backup utility from the TF101/TF201 (from the app-draw) go to back and RE-BACKUP the SAME app (Rootchecker in my case)
E) The system will reboot and you will have root. Do this all while the script is running. It will pause and ask you do the above items.

Thanks!
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to rhcp0112345 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#2  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Reserved for later
 
chan32167
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 44
Posts: 24
Join Date: Feb 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
well adapted it to windows in case anyone needs it

Just extract the zip file, execute the run.bat and follow the onscreen instructions.
Attached Files
File Type: zip tf101 ics root.zip - [Click for QR Code] (290.1 KB, 33384 views)
The Following 27 Users Say Thank You to chan32167 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bungknees
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 263
Posts: 858
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chan32167 View Post
well adapted it to windows in case anyone needs it

Just extract the zip file, execute the run.bat and follow the onscreen instructions.
Both you and the OP are legends. worked like a charm.

THANK YOU
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#5  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bungknees View Post
Both you and the OP are legends. worked like a charm.

THANK YOU
Thanks............
 
gee one
Old
#6  
gee one's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 544
Posts: 1,543
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: linux command line
I'm already rooted, but I like the technique- it's quite clever and a wonderful hack.

I don't recall there ever being so many root exploits for a single device. It's like a tablet with a free puzzle that keeps giving. People are going to start buying the TF just to root it.
HTC Dream
HTC Vision
ASUS Transformer

If you found this post helpful, please consider a donation to charity:
World Vision
International Red Cross
Wikipedia
International Justice Mission
or pick your own
 
frankwhite8536
Old
(Last edited by frankwhite8536; 25th February 2012 at 05:27 AM.)
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 49
Join Date: Mar 2011
I tried another way to root but when i rebooted i have cwm 3101 and su which updated but not the binaries. When i try anything its telling me i don't have root access.

Now when i try to rerun it or this it hangs right at waiting for device in the beginning. Any thoughts?

Windows 7 x64 machine
B50
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#8  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankwhite8536 View Post
I tried another way to root but when i rebooted i have cwm 3101 and su which updated but not the binaries. When i try anything its telling me i don't have root access.

Now when i try to rerun it or this it hangs right at waiting for device in the beginning. Any thoughts?

Windows 7 x64 machine
B50
Dont know much about windows sorry. I used my method here to root on ICS. Started from stock -> Ota X 3 or 4 then root.
The Following User Says Thank You to rhcp0112345 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sarreq
Old
#9  
sarreq's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 119
Join Date: Aug 2010
so this will root the official update? if so, i may be interested, but i need to know what kernel version is included in the official FOTA package. if it's still 2.6, i won't bother
 
rhcp0112345
Old
#10  
Account currently disabled - OP
Thanks Meter 116
Posts: 1,589
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: North Carolina

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarreq View Post
so this will root the official update? if so, i may be interested, but i need to know what kernel version is included in the official FOTA package. if it's still 2.6, i won't bother
Yes, This roots the current OTA as stated in the OP / Thread Topic

THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes