FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

[ROOT] TF101 ICS from OTA

1,589 posts
Thanks Meter: 117
 
By rhcp0112345, Account currently disabled on 24th February 2012, 09:14 PM
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello,

This is a new root method.

This is a linux / OSX version only for now.

When you untar the file. Please make sure to edit the runme.sh it has a path for adb that you need to fix. Other then that it will work.

You just chmod 755 runme.sh and run it


Mod Edit: removed link

EDIT: This has been confirmed working on the TF201 and TF101 so its a Universal root for all transformers


EDIT: Adding a step by step guide here.


A) Install an app from market any app. (I choose rootchecker)
B) Open the app-draw and select the asus backup utility and backup rootchecker
C) follow the scripts instructions
D) When it asks you to do another backup. Go into the backup utility from the TF101/TF201 (from the app-draw) go to back and RE-BACKUP the SAME app (Rootchecker in my case)
E) The system will reboot and you will have root. Do this all while the script is running. It will pause and ask you do the above items.

Thanks!
Last edited by Mikey; 27th February 2012 at 10:37 PM.
The Following 26 Users Say Thank You to rhcp0112345 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
24th February 2012, 09:15 PM |#2  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
Donate to Me
More
Reserved for later
25th February 2012, 01:13 AM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 44
 
Donate to Me
More
well adapted it to windows in case anyone needs it

Just extract the zip file, execute the run.bat and follow the onscreen instructions.
Attached Files
File Type: zip tf101 ics root.zip - [Click for QR Code] (290.1 KB, 39352 views)
The Following 27 Users Say Thank You to chan32167 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2012, 04:39 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 274
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chan32167

well adapted it to windows in case anyone needs it

Just extract the zip file, execute the run.bat and follow the onscreen instructions.

Both you and the OP are legends. worked like a charm.

THANK YOU
25th February 2012, 05:11 AM |#5  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by bungknees

Both you and the OP are legends. worked like a charm.

THANK YOU

Thanks............
25th February 2012, 05:19 AM |#6  
gee one's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag linux command line
Thanks Meter: 585
 
More
I'm already rooted, but I like the technique- it's quite clever and a wonderful hack.

I don't recall there ever being so many root exploits for a single device. It's like a tablet with a free puzzle that keeps giving. People are going to start buying the TF just to root it.
25th February 2012, 05:20 AM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I tried another way to root but when i rebooted i have cwm 3101 and su which updated but not the binaries. When i try anything its telling me i don't have root access.

Now when i try to rerun it or this it hangs right at waiting for device in the beginning. Any thoughts?

Windows 7 x64 machine
B50
Last edited by frankwhite8536; 25th February 2012 at 05:27 AM.
25th February 2012, 05:29 AM |#8  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankwhite8536

I tried another way to root but when i rebooted i have cwm 3101 and su which updated but not the binaries. When i try anything its telling me i don't have root access.

Now when i try to rerun it or this it hangs right at waiting for device in the beginning. Any thoughts?

Windows 7 x64 machine
B50

Dont know much about windows sorry. I used my method here to root on ICS. Started from stock -> Ota X 3 or 4 then root.
The Following User Says Thank You to rhcp0112345 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2012, 05:30 AM |#9  
sarreq's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
so this will root the official update? if so, i may be interested, but i need to know what kernel version is included in the official FOTA package. if it's still 2.6, i won't bother
25th February 2012, 05:32 AM |#10  
OP Account currently disabled
Flag North Carolina
Thanks Meter: 117
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sarreq

so this will root the official update? if so, i may be interested, but i need to know what kernel version is included in the official FOTA package. if it's still 2.6, i won't bother

Yes, This roots the current OTA as stated in the OP / Thread Topic
25th February 2012, 05:38 AM |#11  
sarreq's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
but what kernel version is in the FOTA?

Read More
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes