Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[GUIDE] whatsapp on tablet s [easy step by step tutorial]

OP depulle87

25th February 2012, 12:06 PM   |  #1  
depulle87's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
671 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Anyone intertested in installing whatsapp on your tablet s?
- need root and rooted android phone

I know this method from my asus transformer but it works here also now we have root.

- root your phone
- install whatsapp on your phone
- install TB (titanium back up) on your phone
- with TB make a back up of whatsapp
- open file manager on your phone and look for TB folder
- take the 3 files with the whatsapp name in them and move these to your tablet s

- root your tablet
- install TB on your tablet
- open TB on your tablet
- in file manager go to TB folder
- move the 3 whatsapp files taken from the phone and place them in the TB folder
- open TB and "restore" your whatsapp

You now have whatsapp on your tablet s using the phone number of you mobile phone

Whatsapp wont like it when you have 2 sessions with the same phone number so it is a good idea to do this with another sim card in your phone, this than will be your tablet s phone number.
Last edited by depulle87; 25th April 2012 at 03:10 PM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to depulle87 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th February 2012, 03:00 PM   |  #2  
depulle87's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
671 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Just tested it and it works great, you CAN see the names of your contacts to if you enable it in menu :

in whatsapp :
- settings button
- settings
- more
- show all contacts

Easy as that

If there are problems just ask
Last edited by depulle87; 25th February 2012 at 03:02 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to depulle87 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2012, 05:26 PM   |  #3  
hasjee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag earth duh!
Thanks Meter: 10
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Ive installed whatsapp on my cheap ass qware pro 3 running ics, This must work on other devices aswell i guess.

1) Go to your contact list on your mobile phone, From the menu "import/export" choosse "export to sd".
2)Copy the exported file to your tablets SD card.
3)Install whatsapp on your tablet from the market or the official wbsite.
4)In whatsapp you fill in an old number of a mobile that still works (whatsapp cant be on 1 phone number on 2 devices), Or like i did fill in your "house phone, land line" number.
5)Whatsapp now wants to verify your number. choosse to recieve the confirmation code by phone call.
6)Enter the code and voila a working whatsapp.
7)Import the contact list file you placed on the SD card and you now have your complete contact list in whatsapp.

Happy texting!
17th March 2012, 11:24 PM   |  #4  
depulle87's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 117
 
671 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
whatsapp wont install on honeycomb thats wy i posted this method
The Following User Says Thank You to depulle87 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th June 2012, 07:12 PM   |  #5  
earni's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lancashire
Thanks Meter: 72
 
426 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
I tried this method on honeycomb and on ics nd still no joy .

I have a sony tablet s.

Sent from my Sony Tablet S using Tapatalk 2
29th June 2012, 06:42 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Tablet
Quote:
Originally Posted by hasjee

Ive installed whatsapp on my cheap ass qware pro 3 running ics, This must work on other devices aswell i guess.

1) Go to your contact list on your mobile phone, From the menu "import/export" choosse "export to sd".
2)Copy the exported file to your tablets SD card.
3)Install whatsapp on your tablet from the market or the official wbsite.
4)In whatsapp you fill in an old number of a mobile that still works (whatsapp cant be on 1 phone number on 2 devices), Or like i did fill in your "house phone, land line" number.
5)Whatsapp now wants to verify your number. choosse to recieve the confirmation code by phone call.
6)Enter the code and voila a working whatsapp.
7)Import the contact list file you placed on the SD card and you now have your complete contact list in whatsapp.

Happy texting!

Hi, I have tried this method on my HP TP with CyanogenMOD CM9 Alpha 2 , but when I open the program, and click the I agree button, a message pops up and says Whatsapp curerntly doesn't work on Tablets and didn't even gave me e a chance to enter anything. Anyway to get around that?
29th June 2012, 05:44 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 27
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Everyone! I managed to make WHATSAPP work on my tablet using the following procedure:
1. Registered my no. with whatsapp on my phone.
2. Used titanium backup to backup the app.
3. Restored the app + data
4. When it starts, it may say that the tablet isn't compatible.
5. Kill the app and restore only the data.
6. Run the app and voila!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xyancompgeek For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st July 2012, 12:47 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
If you don't have a smart phone how can i install this app on my tablet.
is there a way like getting data out of a virtual android system on PC?
Im managed to run a virtual android system on PC with a working wathsapp and i can talk to my friends because virtual 3G but i want this on tablet to that use only wifi connection.
Root my tablet is atm not possible because kernel 10. (Sony Tablet S)
Last edited by noisekick22; 1st July 2012 at 12:51 AM. Reason: Add some extra info.
1st July 2012, 06:38 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 27
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Well it doesnt matter, smartphone or virtual. If ur tab isnt rooted, you cant do a thing. Use condi's guide to root it. Either use pre-rooted ics or upgrade to 3.2.1r2 which might change the kernel. Then you can do whatsapp on ur tab.
1st July 2012, 12:10 PM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Im not sure if that would be possible to pre root ect. Android 4.0.3 kernel 2.6.39.4 build 9#1 tab comes from USA.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes