5,593,401 Members 36,281 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q]Are you able to update your Data Profile?

Tip us?
 
Plancy
Old
(Last edited by Plancy; 26th February 2012 at 12:35 AM.)
#31  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSmithInNY View Post
Which file explorer are you using?
Root Browser, from the ROM toolbox by JRummey.

I checked with another file manager(File Expert), and it looks like it was successfully extracted/permissioned in Root Browser.




Quote:
Originally Posted by spleef View Post
try changing to Sprint only and maybe in 4636 CDMA only And make sure you have Sprint proxies in build prop in ##data then try a reboot check make sure those changes stick then try to update through Sprint zone then through settings if zone doesn't work just an idea you can try also IM not trying to push my rom but curious if you flashed it and are still having this problem before posting thus did a fresh flash and pds still full of files not sure if any of this helps but is worth a try gl

Sent from my MB855 using xda premium

I'm on ROCKO2.4 and it has no Sprint Zone lol, but I could never find an update option on Sprint Zone.
 
KSmithInNY
Old
#32  
KSmithInNY's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 131
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plancy View Post
Root Browser, from the ROM toolbox by JRummey,
Alright I just installed rom toolbox pro and using the root browser I was able to see the contents of PDS so that rules that out.
 
hoslayer13
Old
#33  
hoslayer13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 197
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mulberry, Fl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plancy View Post
Root Browser, from the ROM toolbox by JRummey,





I'm on ROCKO2.4 and it has no Sprint Zone lol, but I could never find an update option on Sprint Zone.
Root Browser always force closes on me when looking at those files. Try Root Explorer. On the SZ, its the "I need a help with my device" option
 
Plancy
Old
#34  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jun 2010
Ughhh, I don't have Sprint Zone on ROCKO2.4 ><
 
Plancy
Old
(Last edited by Plancy; 26th February 2012 at 12:41 AM.)
#35  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoslayer13 View Post
Root Browser always force closes on me when looking at those files. Try Root Explorer. On the SZ, its the "I need a help with my device" option
I used the one from ROM Toolbox Pro, which is built in, I was able to extract/change permissions and view the files. Then I checked in "File Expert" and it seems like it all stuck well.

EDIT1: rebooted againn, and AGAIN pds filder is completely empty.

EDIT2: I'll flash over to spleef's ROM to check it out and try Sprint Zone on there
 
hoslayer13
Old
#36  
hoslayer13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 197
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mulberry, Fl
Like I said a few days ago, I read in the Atrix sub-forum about their PDS fix via a PDS img file that can be flashed via fastboot or CWM. The image file itself seemed stock enough to fix errors without changing important info like the IMEI, etc.
Now that i read it again, the fix seems more compatible with the Photon than I thought. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ght=pds&page=3 (PDS PARTITION FIX by KeRmiT80)
 
Plancy
Old
(Last edited by Plancy; 26th February 2012 at 01:19 AM.)
#37  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jun 2010
I made a question to one of the threads "Would be be a bad idea to flash the pds fix to a Photon 4g on Sprint?" and they said yes

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2#post22910642

last post wad the reply

I suppose flashing it couldn't hurt right? I can just erase it in fastboot if anything goes wrong, but it's supposed to have network info and personal phone info isn't it?
 
KSmithInNY
Old
#38  
KSmithInNY's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 131
Join Date: Mar 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Download their fix, edit the img with photon info, adb push or CWM flash.
 
hoslayer13
Old
#39  
hoslayer13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 54
Posts: 197
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Mulberry, Fl
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plancy View Post
I made a question to one of the threads "Would be be a bad idea to flash the pds fix to a Photon 4g on Sprint?" and they said yes

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2#post22910642

last post wad the reply

I suppose flashing it couldn't hurt right? I can just erase it in fastboot if anything goes wrong, but it's supposed to have network info and personal phone info isn't it?
Yeah. The idea is that maybe it will install a PDS partition and the files could be edited to change the info back. The only file that has something like that is the fti file in /factory/ that I saw. That info is on the back of the Photon withe the battery removed. Like what KSmith posted before me
 
Plancy
Old
(Last edited by Plancy; 26th February 2012 at 02:17 AM.)
#40  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 490
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSmithInNY View Post
Download their fix, edit the img with photon info, adb push or CWM flash.
How do I edit the IMG properly?

EDIT1: I just flashed the img without editting it and I was able to update Data Profile, supposedly, stated by the UI. But received an error when doing a PRL update, Now i extracted the omadm zip files you gaves to the omadm folder in /pds/ and now rebooting

EDIT2: after rebooting, it won't even get to the error anymore, it just stays on Contacting Network like it used to.

EDIT3: the fti looks hard to edit.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...