Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,660 Members 54,299 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM][4.0.4] Slim ICS(I897) - Clean, Simple & Fast (54MB)

Tip us?
 
xreflection
Old
(Last edited by xreflection; 28th February 2012 at 01:03 PM.)
#111  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 26
Posts: 416
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
So after about an hour last night I was able to successfully get SLIM running on my phone. The order of events was as follows:

Note: I was coming from Galnet Miui 2.11.26
1). Downloaded base rom + essentials package
2). Data/factor reset --> Flashed base rom through CWM = boot loop
3). Rebooted into CWM, data/factory reset --> Flashed again through CWM = boot loop
4). Used Odin 1 click to install 2.3.4
5). Installed EZboot GB boot loaders
6). Flashed SLIM again --> boot loop
7). Repeated step 4 and 5
8). Downloaded and flashed - teamhacksung's build 16
9). THS16 worked/phone booted
10). Rebooted into recovery and flashed SLIM base rom + essentials package with no problems
11). Phone now has SLIM ICS on it

So tldr; Stock 2.3.4 --> EZboot GBL --> THS16 --> SLIM + essentials
Works perfectly. This ROM is awesome.
My Phones:
Samsung Galaxy SIV i-33716GB - Stock JB 4.2.2 + Touchwiz
Samsung Galaxy Nexus 16GB - Paranoid Android
Samsung Galaxy SIII 16GB - Stock ICS 4.0.4 + Touchwiz - SOLD
Liberated AT&T Samsung Captivate I897 - SOLD

My Tablets:
Google Nexus 7 16GB - Stock 4.3
Asus Eee Pad Transformer 16GB - Android Revolution HD 3.2.1
Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 7.0 - Cyanogen Mod 10
 
krarvind
Old
#112  
krarvind's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 12724
Posts: 5,883
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Saint John, NB

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xreflection View Post
So after about an hour last night I was able to successfully get SLIM running on my phone. The order of events was as follows:

Note: I was coming from Galnet Miui 2.11.26
1). Downloaded base rom + essentials package
2). Data/factor reset --> Flashed base rom through CWM = boot loop
3). Rebooted into CWM, data/factory reset --> Flashed again through CWM = boot loop
4). Used Odin 1 click to install 2.3.4
5). Installed EZboot GB boot loaders
6). Flashed SLIM again --> boot loop
7). Repeated step 4 and 5
8). Downloaded and flashed - teamhacksung's build 16
9). THS16 worked/phone booted
10). Rebooted into recovery and flashed SLIM base rom + essentials package with no problems
11). Phone now has SLIM ICS on it

So tldr; Stock 2.3.4 --> EZboot GBL --> THS16 --> SLIM + essentials
Works perfectly. This ROM is awesome.

Wow thats some detailed procedure. I would like somebody who is on MIUI or another ICS or GB Rom to try this and tell me if this works
  • Flash my Essentials first, reboot to recovery
  • wipe data, flash base + essentials + wifi patch ( sgs, and captivate users), reboot

Twitter
Google+
Facebook
USB Debugging:Here

NOTE: Search, Read, Produce a Logcat then report any Stock Slim Issues
 
OBatRFan
Old
#113  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 663
Join Date: Feb 2011
I'm getting a few random reboots, but it's fantastic other than that! Much faster than ICSSGS that I'd been running for the past few months.
 
krarvind
Old
#114  
krarvind's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 12724
Posts: 5,883
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Saint John, NB

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by OBatRFan View Post
I'm getting a few random reboots, but it's fantastic other than that! Much faster than ICSSGS that I'd been running for the past few months.
Pls describe how you flashed, what kernel you are on etc.

Twitter
Google+
Facebook
USB Debugging:Here

NOTE: Search, Read, Produce a Logcat then report any Stock Slim Issues
 
OBatRFan
Old
#115  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 663
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by krarvind View Post
Pls describe how you flashed, what kernel you are on etc.
I was on ICSSGS RC3, wasn't happy with performance so I was going to flash back to a KK4 ROM (Serenity). I flashed Corn kernel, then Serenity. Flash didn't work, I was still stuck on CM Platypus kernel. Repeated process, same problem. I decided to flash Slim ICS. Cleared data, dalvik, then flashed Slim package, then essentials without rebooting. Didn't flash any extra kernels or anything. Everything is stock.

Also, my power button has stopped working :/


XDA App, Samsung Captivate
 
krarvind
Old
#116  
krarvind's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 12724
Posts: 5,883
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Saint John, NB

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by OBatRFan View Post
I was on ICSSGS RC3, wasn't happy with performance so I was going to flash back to a KK4 ROM (Serenity). I flashed Corn kernel, then Serenity. Flash didn't work, I was still stuck on CM Platypus kernel. Repeated process, same problem. I decided to flash Slim ICS. Cleared data, dalvik, then flashed Slim package, then essentials without rebooting. Didn't flash any extra kernels or anything. Everything is stock.

Also, my power button has stopped working :/


XDA App, Samsung Captivate
weird mate, really weird. get to recovery ( via adb), wipe everything, flash my essentials first, reboot to recovery, flash base + essentials + wifi patch.

Twitter
Google+
Facebook
USB Debugging:Here

NOTE: Search, Read, Produce a Logcat then report any Stock Slim Issues
 
pwneman
Old
#117  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 582
Posts: 1,071
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Texas

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by OBatRFan View Post
I was on ICSSGS RC3, wasn't happy with performance so I was going to flash back to a KK4 ROM (Serenity). I flashed Corn kernel, then Serenity. Flash didn't work, I was still stuck on CM Platypus kernel. Repeated process, same problem. I decided to flash Slim ICS. Cleared data, dalvik, then flashed Slim package, then essentials without rebooting. Didn't flash any extra kernels or anything. Everything is stock.

Also, my power button has stopped working :/


XDA App, Samsung Captivate
No wonder Serentiy didn't work after you flashed it from ICS. Because you have to repartition your phone when going from AOSP to Samsung GB Roms.

I had no problems flashing this ROM, I was on Dark Knight ICS, then wiped data/cache, and formatted system and flashed the base rom and the captivate essentials package right afterwards (like the OP says) and everything works perfect. You should be able to follow this procedure from any ROM (such as KK4, CM7, ICS, etc).
SimplyAOKP ICS 4.0.4 ~ ODEXED

SimplyStockV2.0 KK4/ICS THEMED ODEXED ~ SAMMY STABLE 2.3.5

Nexus S Modems for Galaxy S Devices


Current Phone: AT&T iPhone 5 (rip Android)

Previous Phone/s:
Samsung Impression
Samsung Galaxy S Captivate


~Rakesh Kadamati
 
mopo01
Old
(Last edited by mopo01; 28th February 2012 at 04:28 PM.)
#118  
mopo01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 547
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Chicago
Wink speaker fix

Quote:
Originally Posted by razvanadrian View Post
hi, that was my post with tapping on the back but i have this issue for 2-3 months now...i looked for it when i first got it and they say it's a common hardware issue for cappy...so for now on you better check your cappy from time to time maybe you're silent unwillingly

btw if you find a solution to permanently fix this let me know. thx
Quote:
Originally Posted by mopo01 View Post
I believe I saw a fix a while back search in captivate general something about screws being to tight. If I was on computer I would try finding. If you don't find anything I will try to find tomorrow.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using XDA App
Try this post for a permanet fix

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...=speaker+screw
The Following User Says Thank You to mopo01 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thasro Old
#119  
Guest
Thanks Meter
Posts: n/a
Hi, I just wanted to say great job on this ROM. I did a full wipe before flashing and I haven't had a single issue. Keep up the good work!
 
ChaoticKinesis
Old
#120  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 55
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Thank you, excellent job with the wifi fix!

I've noticed what appears to be another bug. The battery has been very inaccurate on this ROM. Sometimes my phone seems to discharge quickly and when I plug it in, the battery indicator will hardly change for a full hour or more (+/- 2%). Sometimes it even looks like the battery is slightly depleting while connected. When I reboot, it will show a much higher percentage. Also, the lockscreen percentage does not always agree with the notification bar percentage.

The charging animation when the phone is off no longer works either.

Tags
wow
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes