FORUMS

Android 5.1 for the Nvidia Shield Tablet is Out!

Nvidia is quite good at delivering updates in a timely fashion. The producer of famous … more

Other than XDA (of Course), What’s Your Favorite Site That Covers Android?

There is a number of other great sites that cover … more

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[ROM] Stock 9.4.2.15 for Unlocked Bootloaders

26th February 2012, 06:28 PM |#11  
jermaine151's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Columbus, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 3,596
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by iconoclastnet

First of all, thank you for packaging this for the rest of us!

I am curious about one thing.



I realize that "wipe data" has become the catch-all cure for custom rom issues, but why is this a required step for what's essentially a stock rom when the locked bootloader version doesn't need to wipe data?
I'm not complaining, I'm just wondering why this is a required step (instead of an "if you have problems try wiping data" step)?

I say that to limit issues. You can try it without wiping and then wipe if you have problems. I flashed it over 11.1 and it worked but it seems to run better when installed fresh so I'm re-setting up my apps.
The Following User Says Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
26th February 2012, 06:37 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jermaine151

Yes it does.

Certainly an easy way to update the kernel, but based on the ways the Prime seems to manage to get bricked even after the user follows instructions to a T I am worried that including the kernel may cause you and the users a big headache if things go awry.
26th February 2012, 06:40 PM |#13  
jermaine151's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Columbus, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 3,596
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathbyfugu

Certainly an easy way to update the kernel, but based on the ways the Prime seems to manage to get bricked even after the user follows instructions to a T I am worried that including the kernel may cause you and the users a big headache if things go awry.

I've tested it a couple of times on mine. I removed the recovery and bootloader blobs from it so it just basically puts the boot.img in the staging partition and installs it on reboot just like CWM or any other blob. I doubt that anyone could brick with this since it's only touching the boot partition.
26th February 2012, 06:48 PM |#14  
Diamondback's Avatar
Moderator Committee / Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 6,512
 
More
Hey,
once we got some successful kernel flash reports, do you mind if I take a look at your updater-script for the kernel thing?
26th February 2012, 06:55 PM |#15  
jermaine151's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Columbus, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 3,596
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondback

Hey,
once we got some successful kernel flash reports, do you mind if I take a look at your updater-script for the kernel thing?

No, I don't mind at all.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2012, 07:15 PM |#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jermaine151

No, I don't mind at all.

Collaboration for the win!
26th February 2012, 07:17 PM |#17  
Diamondback's Avatar
Moderator Committee / Recognized Developer / XDA Portal Team
Thanks Meter: 6,512
 
More
Ah, that is an excellent idea
Calling dd via busybox should work
It just seems the in-built CWM functions for flashing stuff doesn't work at all for the kernel blob.
Thanks, once confirmed, I'll add it to my ROM too
26th February 2012, 07:26 PM |#18  
jermaine151's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Columbus, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 3,596
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondback

Ah, that is an excellent idea
Calling dd via busybox should work
It just seems the in-built CWM functions for flashing stuff doesn't work at all for the kernel blob.
Thanks, once confirmed, I'll add it to my ROM too

Thanks! Yeah, I had a hard time trying the old methods to flash the kernel. This method seems to work well. I'm anxious for feedback from people that have installed it.
The Following User Says Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2012, 07:57 PM |#19  
jermaine151's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Columbus, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 3,596
 
Donate to Me
More
If you have flashed this, please post and confirm that it installed the ROM and kernel fine for you.

Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th February 2012, 08:07 PM |#20  
hollywould's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Huntington Beach
Thanks Meter: 51
 
More
Flashed no problem without wiping, and Kernel installed no problem too. Works great, thanks a lot.
The Following User Says Thank You to hollywould For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes