Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,098 Members 46,977 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROM] Stock 9.4.2.15 for Unlocked Bootloaders

Tip us?
 
jermaine151
Old
#11  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3281
Posts: 3,952
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by iconoclastnet View Post
First of all, thank you for packaging this for the rest of us!

I am curious about one thing.



I realize that "wipe data" has become the catch-all cure for custom rom issues, but why is this a required step for what's essentially a stock rom when the locked bootloader version doesn't need to wipe data?
I'm not complaining, I'm just wondering why this is a required step (instead of an "if you have problems try wiping data" step)?
I say that to limit issues. You can try it without wiping and then wipe if you have problems. I flashed it over 11.1 and it worked but it seems to run better when installed fresh so I'm re-setting up my apps.
You can find me @jdlogan151
The Following User Says Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Deathbyfugu
Old
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 338
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jermaine151 View Post
Yes it does.
Certainly an easy way to update the kernel, but based on the ways the Prime seems to manage to get bricked even after the user follows instructions to a T I am worried that including the kernel may cause you and the users a big headache if things go awry.
 
jermaine151
Old
#13  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3281
Posts: 3,952
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathbyfugu View Post
Certainly an easy way to update the kernel, but based on the ways the Prime seems to manage to get bricked even after the user follows instructions to a T I am worried that including the kernel may cause you and the users a big headache if things go awry.
I've tested it a couple of times on mine. I removed the recovery and bootloader blobs from it so it just basically puts the boot.img in the staging partition and installs it on reboot just like CWM or any other blob. I doubt that anyone could brick with this since it's only touching the boot partition.
You can find me @jdlogan151
 
Diamondback
Old
#14  
Diamondback's Avatar
Developer Committee / Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6290
Posts: 4,366
Join Date: Jan 2010
Hey,
once we got some successful kernel flash reports, do you mind if I take a look at your updater-script for the kernel thing?

Contact the Developer Committee with any questions or concerns regarding
the Recognized Developer program.
Mention my name with @Diamondback in any post to easily get my attention.
Please use BB Codes to format your posts.
 
jermaine151
Old
#15  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3281
Posts: 3,952
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondback View Post
Hey,
once we got some successful kernel flash reports, do you mind if I take a look at your updater-script for the kernel thing?
No, I don't mind at all.
You can find me @jdlogan151
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Deathbyfugu
Old
#16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 69
Posts: 338
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jermaine151 View Post
No, I don't mind at all.
Collaboration for the win!
 
Diamondback
Old
#17  
Diamondback's Avatar
Developer Committee / Senior Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 6290
Posts: 4,366
Join Date: Jan 2010
Ah, that is an excellent idea
Calling dd via busybox should work
It just seems the in-built CWM functions for flashing stuff doesn't work at all for the kernel blob.
Thanks, once confirmed, I'll add it to my ROM too

Contact the Developer Committee with any questions or concerns regarding
the Recognized Developer program.
Mention my name with @Diamondback in any post to easily get my attention.
Please use BB Codes to format your posts.
 
jermaine151
Old
#18  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3281
Posts: 3,952
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondback View Post
Ah, that is an excellent idea
Calling dd via busybox should work
It just seems the in-built CWM functions for flashing stuff doesn't work at all for the kernel blob.
Thanks, once confirmed, I'll add it to my ROM too
Thanks! Yeah, I had a hard time trying the old methods to flash the kernel. This method seems to work well. I'm anxious for feedback from people that have installed it.
You can find me @jdlogan151
The Following User Says Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jermaine151
Old
#19  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3281
Posts: 3,952
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
If you have flashed this, please post and confirm that it installed the ROM and kernel fine for you.

Thanks!
You can find me @jdlogan151
The Following User Says Thank You to jermaine151 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
hollywould
Old
#20  
hollywould's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 465
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Huntington Beach
Flashed no problem without wiping, and Kernel installed no problem too. Works great, thanks a lot.

The Following User Says Thank You to hollywould For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
THREAD CLOSED
Subscribe
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes