Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,540 Members 38,725 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[ROOT/UNROOT/Custom Recoveries/Kernels/Roms] AT&T Galaxy Note ONLY!/ No Flash Counter

Tip us?
 
roloracer
Old
#11  
roloracer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 646
Posts: 2,729
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kissimmee
Quote:
Originally Posted by ukic View Post
Oh, cwm itself increases it....
Yes you're replacing the stock recovery with a custom recovery, even when is available thru Rom manager as an official version of cwm, is still considered a custom recovery. Even the stock modified replacement recovery in here it will come up as custom when you flash it and will trip the flash counter if Im correct.

Sent from my awesome Galaxy Note!
. Did I help you? Hit the thanks button!


Samsung Galaxy Note 3: Dynamic Kat! NC2 - 4.4.2
Samsung Galaxy Note: [ROM] JBSandwich CM9
Nexus 10: [ROM] ThunderKat 4.4.2

The Following User Says Thank You to roloracer For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sixstringsg
Old
(Last edited by sixstringsg; 28th February 2012 at 01:40 AM.)
#12  
sixstringsg's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 7,006
Posts: 5,168
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dallas, TX

 
DONATE TO ME
I assume this is doable via heimdall, correct? It looks like it's just a system image, which can be flashed with Heimdall.

Edit: Heimdall doesn't work on the Galaxy Note. Sad day.
Don't like my answer? Whatch this or read this
Are you a dev still using mediafire or dropbox for hosting? PM me up and we'll get that fixed.
 
jasonblaine23
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Las Vegas

 
DONATE TO ME
When I follow the directions to root my device my entire computer freezes once I press start. This is happening when I try to root using Da_G's method or the method from this thread. All the help I can get would be greatly appreciated. Thank you
 
roloracer
Old
#14  
roloracer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 646
Posts: 2,729
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kissimmee
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonblaine23 View Post
When I follow the directions to root my device my entire computer freezes once I press start. This is happening when I try to root using Da_G's method or the method from this thread. All the help I can get would be greatly appreciated. Thank you
there must be something wrong with your pc, you're the first person that I hear is having issues with odin, make sure the drivers are properly working.
. Did I help you? Hit the thanks button!


Samsung Galaxy Note 3: Dynamic Kat! NC2 - 4.4.2
Samsung Galaxy Note: [ROM] JBSandwich CM9
Nexus 10: [ROM] ThunderKat 4.4.2

 
nash2000
Old
#15  
nash2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 953
Join Date: Jun 2011
I may wait a bit before I root but if I was to use this method I or we wont have any issues flashing roms once they come available right?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk
 
roloracer
Old
#16  
roloracer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 646
Posts: 2,729
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kissimmee
Quote:
Originally Posted by nash2000 View Post
I may wait a bit before I root but if I was to use this method I or we wont have any issues flashing roms once they come available right?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk
No, this is a system root to be able to have root on the stock rom and avoid tripping the flash counter, if you flash a rom I'm pretty sure you will loose this root, but if you are planning on flashing a rom and the counter is not a concern then you need the perm-root in DA_G thread.

Sent from my awesome Galaxy Note!
. Did I help you? Hit the thanks button!


Samsung Galaxy Note 3: Dynamic Kat! NC2 - 4.4.2
Samsung Galaxy Note: [ROM] JBSandwich CM9
Nexus 10: [ROM] ThunderKat 4.4.2

 
nash2000
Old
#17  
nash2000's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 953
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by roloracer View Post
No, this is a system root to be able to have root on the stock rom and avoid tripping the flash counter, if you flash a rom I'm pretty sure you will loose this root, but if you are planning on flashing a rom and the counter is not a concern then you need the perm-root in DA_G thread.

Sent from my awesome Galaxy Note!
Oh, I thought this method would allow root and flashing of roms without tripping the counter. So there is no fix for the counter? I've read posts off people asking how to remove trips etc. So in a nut shell if you are planning on flashing roms at this time there is no fix for the counter so use the other root method?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk
 
roloracer
Old
#18  
roloracer's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 646
Posts: 2,729
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kissimmee
Quote:
Originally Posted by nash2000 View Post
Oh, I thought this method would allow root and flashing of roms without tripping the counter. So there is no fix for the counter? I've read posts off people asking how to remove trips etc. So in a nut shell if you are planning on flashing roms at this time there is no fix for the counter so use the other root method?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I897 using Tapatalk
no only this root won't, once you go flashing custom roms/kernels/recoveries it will trip the counter as of now, hopefully soon there will be a way to fix this.
. Did I help you? Hit the thanks button!


Samsung Galaxy Note 3: Dynamic Kat! NC2 - 4.4.2
Samsung Galaxy Note: [ROM] JBSandwich CM9
Nexus 10: [ROM] ThunderKat 4.4.2

 
thatruth132
Old
#19  
thatruth132's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 55
Posts: 1,906
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: los angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by roloracer View Post
no only this root won't, once you go flashing custom roms/kernels/recoveries it will trip the counter as of now, hopefully soon there will be a way to fix this.
can u help me with my situation i am trying to flash this in oden but it just hangs there is this because of my flashing the cwm recovery , i thought that it might be so i tried to reflash the stock recovery and now that just hangs , everything shows as connected in device manager on this pc which is a clean xp ...also it boots up fine
from the htc 8125 to samsung galaxy note 2 ....I think I know what im doing.........
 
Plexicle
Old
#20  
Plexicle's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 513
Posts: 630
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Worked like a charm on the first go around.

Thanks rolo! +1

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes