FORUMS

Which Lockscreen Security Type Do You Use?

From pattern locks to the controversial face unlock, there are a number of different ways you … more

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[ROOT] Stock ICS Leak One-Click Root Tool

27th February 2012, 07:36 PM |#1  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 446
 
Donate to Me
More
Hi all!

First off, I'm new to xda Developers so please excuse me if this is in the wrong forum! I thought I'd post information about a tool I wrote here which roots stock 4.0.3 leak on the A500, A501 and assumingly the A200 too. Its literally one click - just enable USB debugging. "ICS Root" also installs, optionally, FaceLock and Trebuchet (although FaceLock doesn't want to work. It lets you set it up though =P)

Since version 5.0.1 this also now works with the new 0.022.00 leak!

The full post is over at TegraOwners: http://forum.tegraowners.com/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=350

The only real system requirements are Windows (with .Net Framework 4) and an Iconia on the stock 4.0.3 leak. I hope somebody finds this useful its been tested by myself and a couple of TegraOwners users and it works well.

In terms of the technique used, it uses the great Jay Freeman's mempodroid exploit to gain root at which point it mounts /system rw and installs su, busybox and Superuser.apk so no real surprises there. Installing Trebuchet adds that apk to /system/app and installing FaceLock installs the apk to /system/app before installing the pittpatt folder to the flexrom (mounted as /system/vendor). I plan to open source it when all the requested features have been implemented and the code has been cleaned up.

Thanks!

~blackthund3r

EDIT 14/05/2012: ICS Root 7 is out enjoy!

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk
Last edited by blackthund3r; 14th May 2012 at 02:31 PM.
The Following 43 Users Say Thank You to blackthund3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
27th February 2012, 09:26 PM |#2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
cwm version?
why would it not work with cwm version?
The Following User Says Thank You to JeanBubu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2012, 09:50 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
With this tool does system remain writeable after rooting?
27th February 2012, 10:06 PM |#4  
lowsum's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Quebec City
Thanks Meter: 79
 
More
What about flashing CWM with acer recovery installer once rooted? I guess it would screw the bootloader...
27th February 2012, 10:14 PM |#5  
erica_renee's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Louisville
Thanks Meter: 527
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowsum

What about flashing CWM with acer recovery installer once rooted? I guess it would screw the bootloader...

If you are on the cwm with the HC boot loader it should work as Its Magic will be run..
if you are on the new boot loader as in the full non modded leak.. It will give you secure boot error ..
The new boot loader Blocks its magic.
28th February 2012, 02:10 AM |#6  
SteamBishop's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Huntington Beach
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks
Hey this worked easy. I had to re-install USB drivers and make sure I had the latest from Google. Other then that, hit the button, wait about 1.5 minutes, and it rebooted! No problems thus far! Thanks Again!
28th February 2012, 06:58 AM |#7  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 446
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeanBubu

why would it not work with cwm version?

It would but the cwm one, afaik, is prerooted?

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk
28th February 2012, 11:20 AM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 73
 
More
root doesnt work like its supposed to. i know its only half root due to the bootloader, but terminal emulator flat out says i'm not rooted after this despite sixasis working and titanium backup/root checker both saying i have root and busybox. i'm going to post this on TO as well for you incase you dont check here often.
28th February 2012, 05:27 PM |#9  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 446
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nifterific

root doesnt work like its supposed to. i know its only half root due to the bootloader, but terminal emulator flat out says i'm not rooted after this despite sixasis working and titanium backup/root checker both saying i have root and busybox. i'm going to post this on TO as well for you incase you dont check here often.

That's storage cos terminal works for me and running su in an adb shell works great too.

Code:
pp_9@android:/ $ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
app_9@android:/ $ su
# exit
app_9@android:/ $ su
#
Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to blackthund3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th February 2012, 05:37 PM |#10  
blackthund3r's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 446
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteamBishop

Hey this worked easy. I had to re-install USB drivers and make sure I had the latest from Google. Other then that, hit the button, wait about 1.5 minutes, and it rebooted! No problems thus far! Thanks Again!

You're welcome and I'm glad it worked!

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes