OP blackthund3r

27th February 2012, 08:36 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 421

563 posts
Donate to Me
More
Hi all!

First off, I'm new to xda Developers so please excuse me if this is in the wrong forum! I thought I'd post information about a tool I wrote here which roots stock 4.0.3 leak on the A500, A501 and assumingly the A200 too. Its literally one click - just enable USB debugging. "ICS Root" also installs, optionally, FaceLock and Trebuchet (although FaceLock doesn't want to work. It lets you set it up though =P)

Since version 5.0.1 this also now works with the new 0.022.00 leak!

The full post is over at TegraOwners: http://forum.tegraowners.com/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=350

The only real system requirements are Windows (with .Net Framework 4) and an Iconia on the stock 4.0.3 leak. I hope somebody finds this useful its been tested by myself and a couple of TegraOwners users and it works well.

In terms of the technique used, it uses the great Jay Freeman's mempodroid exploit to gain root at which point it mounts /system rw and installs su, busybox and Superuser.apk so no real surprises there. Installing Trebuchet adds that apk to /system/app and installing FaceLock installs the apk to /system/app before installing the pittpatt folder to the flexrom (mounted as /system/vendor). I plan to open source it when all the requested features have been implemented and the code has been cleaned up.

Thanks!

~blackthund3r

EDIT 14/05/2012: ICS Root 7 is out enjoy!

Sent from my A500 using Tapatalk
Last edited by blackthund3r; 14th May 2012 at 03:31 PM.
The Following 43 Users Say Thank You to blackthund3r For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2012, 10:26 PM   |  #2  
Thanks Meter: 2

30 posts
cwm version?
why would it not work with cwm version?
The Following User Says Thank You to JeanBubu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2012, 10:50 PM   |  #3  
Thanks Meter: 2

14 posts
With this tool does system remain writeable after rooting?