Guide to Dual Boot Snapdragon Note 4

Dual Boot is one of the most desirable features for a flashaholic, and with this guide by XDA … more

Has ART Made a Noticeable Jump in App Performance?

We’ve received mixed reports about switching to ART but it seems that the … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 Edge Drop Test

The Samsung Galaxy S6 and Galaxy S6 Edge are already proving to be amongst the head turners of 2015. … more

Consolidated GApps Central

Following the retirement of Paranoid Android GApps Provider TKruzze and subsequent deletion of … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

ICS troubles

27th February 2012, 09:06 PM   |  #1  
garpunkal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Andover
Thanks Meter: 11
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Hi,

Anyone else having the following issues with ICS (stock, rooted):
  • Locked screen, using power button doesn't work
  • Reboot and stuck on Asus Logo?

both resulting in pressing on and power up to restart..


seems like this update isn't fully tested. I haven't done a full wipe, I simply updated through OTA... should I try this? If I do, can I do an ADB backup and restore?

Thanks folks
27th February 2012, 09:11 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Contributor
Flag New York, NY
Thanks Meter: 11,285
 
16,749 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by garpunkal

Hi,

Anyone else having the following issues with ICS (stock, rooted):

  • Locked screen, using power button doesn't work
  • Reboot and stuck on Asus Logo?

both resulting in pressing on and power up to restart..


seems like this update isn't fully tested. I haven't done a full wipe, I simply updated through OTA... should I try this? If I do, can I do an ADB backup and restore?

Thanks folks

its most likely because you were rooted and did modifications that caused the OTA to fail and mess something up.

The OTA itself was tested by ASUS, its you who did mods to the tablet that made the OTA fail for you. You'll most likely have to wipe and start all over. Or just DL a custom ROM.
27th February 2012, 09:13 PM   |  #3  
fonix232's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Debrecen
Thanks Meter: 365
 
688 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zephiK

its most likely because you were rooted and did modifications that caused the OTA to fail and mess something up.

The OTA itself was tested by ASUS, its you who did mods to the tablet that made the OTA fail for you. You'll most likely have to wipe and start all over. Or just DL a custom ROM.

I wiped, totally cleaned the system, installed WW latest full blob then the update, and it occured. Just to note, my only mod was root, nothing else.
27th February 2012, 09:15 PM   |  #4  
tweaked's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Your Moms house
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by garpunkal

Hi,

Anyone else having the following issues with ICS (stock, rooted):

  • Locked screen, using power button doesn't work
  • Reboot and stuck on Asus Logo?

both resulting in pressing on and power up to restart..


seems like this update isn't fully tested. I haven't done a full wipe, I simply updated through OTA... should I try this? If I do, can I do an ADB backup and restore?

Thanks folks

WTF? You have errors. You no you didn't wipe.....Always Wipe. Always. ..Always... IF you don't and then get errors. wipe. Seriously....Wipe it. lol did I mention you should have wiped it?
The Following User Says Thank You to tweaked For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2012, 09:16 PM   |  #5  
garpunkal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Andover
Thanks Meter: 11
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zephiK

its most likely because you were rooted and did modifications that caused the OTA to fail and mess something up.

The OTA itself was tested by ASUS, its you who did mods to the tablet that made the OTA fail for you. You'll most likely have to wipe and start all over. Or just DL a custom ROM.


All I did was root... that shouldn't affect the OTA, especially as the OTA unrooted my device anyway!

I'll wipe now and let you know the outcomes.
The Following User Says Thank You to garpunkal For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th February 2012, 09:18 PM   |  #6  
tweaked's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Your Moms house
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fonix232

I wiped, totally cleaned the system, installed WW latest full blob then the update, and it occured. Just to note, my only mod was root, nothing else.

'


Why did you do this; installed WW latest full blob then the update

Full wipe and then install the Full ICS WW. Thats all that should be needed.
27th February 2012, 09:21 PM   |  #7  
garpunkal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Andover
Thanks Meter: 11
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
so if I'm using stock rom and recovery... whats the best way to wipe.. through recovery or just through rom?
27th February 2012, 09:27 PM   |  #8  
tweaked's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Your Moms house
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by garpunkal

so if I'm using stock rom and recovery... whats the best way to wipe.. through recovery or just through rom?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1514658

OPTION B:

FULL version

In recovery do a full system reset. Delete that mofo.
Then install the Full US ICS zip.
27th February 2012, 09:28 PM   |  #9  
garpunkal's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Andover
Thanks Meter: 11
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
can I use adb backup to restore all my apps and settings if I go for option B?
27th February 2012, 09:31 PM   |  #10  
tweaked's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Your Moms house
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by garpunkal

can I use adb backup to restore all my apps and settings if I go for option B?

I wouldn't. Atleast not right away. You have an issue. You don't no whats causing it. First Wipe and then reinstall. If after that you can't make the problem appear again, I would do a nandroid, and then attempt the restore of your apps. If no issues; Profit. But if you find issues after you can then restore to the nand and go through your apps one at a time to figure it out.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes