Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Thread Closed

At&t Note / T-mobile 3g/4g fix Found- pledged donors step up[$455 Paid, $235 Left]

OP itsjusttim

21st February 2012, 02:48 AM   |  #1  
itsjusttim's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag SoCal
Thanks Meter: 175
 
1,809 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
To All We have our 1st real FIX to make the Note-717 work on T-Mobile network it is found on post #113 the person who figured it out is tomin.fhl His email is below. a few people have independently verified the fix and did post their results verifying this fix is the REAL DEAL. ALL who pledged to donate to the bounty need to ante up and keep their promised pledge and donate their pledged money to Tomin.fhl. Congrats to him and we all owe our deep felt thanks to him for finding this fix.

From all the XDA Community Thank you Tom...... A Happy Day to be sure !!!..... - oka1
_______
The fix is here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=23522477&postcount=113

Lets get this guy paid. His Paypal info is here:
tomin.fhl@gmail.com

1. itsjusttim $60 -PAID
2. s1mpd1ddy $5 -PAID
3. chrismfkr8 $50
4. davidrileysr $100 -PAID
5. guyinthebushes $20
6. saudi2usa $50 -WON'T PAY
7. MSigler $20 -PAID
8. Snarksneeze $100 -PAID
9. sashusmom $20 -PAID
10. Cactoes Gel $20 -PAID
11. lboy109 $50
12. neromaverick $20 -PAID
13. jlpatte2 $10 -PAID
14. Rudeman74 $20 -PAID
15. timfresh $50 -PAID
16. edulienko $50
17. Talderon $20 -PAID
18. javqui 25 [3g], $50 [4g]

Total Promised: $690
Total Paid: $455


Sent from my At&t Note on T-mobile 3g/4g
Last edited by itsjusttim; 28th March 2012 at 01:16 AM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to itsjusttim For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2012, 06:57 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
LA JOLLA
Thanks Meter: 551
 
5,311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
[MOD] Enabling Tmobile 3g/4g on the Note
[SIZE="5"][SIZE="3"][SIZE="5"]The Att Note might support 3g/4g in the same exact way the skyrocket works.

ALL CREDIT GOES TO TOMIN!!!!!

- NANDROID and OTHER PREP
1. Do your nandroid backup (sorry, I can't explain that here)
2. Power off phone, remove battery, and install T-Mobile sim with a
smartphone/data plan.
3. Power on phone
4. Make sure you have adb working on your pc with all the necessary
samsung usb drivers etc. (sorry, I can't explain that here)
5. Make sure usb debugging mode is on (Settings, Applications,
Development)
6. Make sure "Unknown sources" is on (Settings, Applications ... this
may not be necessary, but it worked for me, so let's just do it.)
- SOLUTION 1 - THE NICE AND EASY WAY
1. Using CMW, flash your modem of choice from the following:
- Telus Kj3 - http://www.mediafire.com/?y53w18h8xx76u7z
- T-mobile SGH-T989 KID - http://www.mediafire.com/?
o7d1z5xlox1jxkp
- T-mobile SGH-T989 VKL1 - http://www.mediafire.com/?
872a6s8mccw4dxu
2. Reboot your phone.
3. That's it. You should be ready to roll and can ignore all the technical
stuff below. That is just there so people can build on the work.
CWM. But if you are game, you can go for SOLUTION 2 which is a bit
more technical and requires comfort with adb and the dd command.
That solution relies on adb and dd to write the mdm.bin file directly to
the mmcblk0p17 partition on the device. Before we do that you MUST
(1) have a NANDdroid back up and (2) you must follow the instructions
here to backup your current mdm.bin/mmcblk0p17 partition so you
can restore it when you need to.
- NANDROID and OTHER PREP
1. Do your nandroid backup (sorry, I can't explain that here)
2. Power off phone, remove battery, and install T-Mobile sim with a
smartphone/data plan.
3. Power on phone
4. Make sure you have adb working on your pc with all the necessary
samsung usb drivers etc. (sorry, I can't explain that here)
5. Make sure usb debugging mode is on (Settings, Applications,
Development)
6. Make sure "Unknown sources" is on (Settings, Applications ... this
may not be necessary, but it worked for me, so let's just do it.)
- SOLUTION 1 - THE NICE AND EASY WAY
1. Using CMW, flash your modem of choice from the following:
- Telus Kj3 - http://www.mediafire.com/?y53w18h8xx76u7z
- T-mobile SGH-T989 KID - http://www.mediafire.com/?
o7d1z5xlox1jxkp
- T-mobile SGH-T989 VKL1 - http://www.mediafire.com/?
872a6s8mccw4dxu
2. Reboot your phone.
3. That's it. You should be ready to roll and can ignore all the technical
stuff below. That is just there so people can build on the work.
- SOLUTION 2 - THE TECHNICAL WAY (or if you have trouble flashing
the above)
1. Create three folders on your internal sdcard (/sdcard) or your
external sd card (/sdcard/external_sd). These folders are (1) ATT, (2)
TMOBILE, and (3) TELUS. Then create two subfolders in the TMOBILE
folder: (a) KID, and (b) VKL1.
2. Backup your original mdm.bin and amss.bin partitions
- Get adb up an running and make certain your phone is connected to
your pc.
- Run the following commands to back up your mdm.bin. You may as
well back up your amss.bin as well for good measure.
- For those using the internal storage use the following commands.
adb shell dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p17 of=/sdcard/ATT/mdm.bin
adb shell dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 of=/sdcard/ATT/amss.bin
- For those using the external sd card use the following commands.
adb shell dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p17 of=/sdcard/external_sd/
ATT/mdm.bin
adb shell dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0p13 of=/sdcard/external_sd/
ATT/amss.bin
- Good. Now your original modem files are backed up on your internal
storage or external sd card. Please don't overwrite them. Back them up
somewhere else just to be safe.
3. Now we need to download and store either one of the T-Mobile
mdm.bin files or the Telus mdm.bin file.
- Download the modem you want to test from this post http://
forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1507825 .
- I had the best results with the T-mobile SGH-T989 KID so I'll use that
for these instructions.
- After downloading the modem, extract the mdm.bin file. Remember,
this is the only file you want to mess with right now. (Maybe when we
do more tweaking we can optimize the amss.bin file and the lib files as
well.)
- If you downloaded the T-mobile SGH-T989 KID, save the mdm.bin
file in /sdcard/TMOBILE/KID folder (internal sd) or the /sdcard/
external_sd/TMOBILE/KID (external sd card).
- if you downloaded the T-mobile SGH-T989 VKL1, save the mdm.bin
file in /sdcard/TMOBILE/VKL1 folder (internal sd) or the /sdcard/
external_sd/TMOBILE/VKL1 (external sd card).
- if you downloaded the Telus KJ3, save the mdm.bin file in /sdcard/
TELUS/ folder (internal sd) or the /sdcard/external_sd/TELUS/
(external sd card).
- Good. Now you have the mdm.bin file in a location that tells you
exactly which modem you will be flashing.
4. Now all we need to do is copy the mdm.bin to the correct partition
on the Note.
- For those using the T-mobile SGH-T989 KID modem the use the
following command without the quotes.
"adb shell dd if=/sdcard/external_sd/TMOBILE/KID/mdm.bin of=/
dev/block/mmcblk0p17" (external storage)
"adb shell dd if=/sdcard/TMOBILE/KID/mdm.bin of=/dev/block/
mmcblk0p17" (internal storage)
- For those using the T-mobile SGH-T989 VKL1 modem use the
following command without the quotes.
"adb shell dd if=/sdcard/external_sd/TMOBILE/VKL1/mdm.bin of=/
dev/block/mmcblk0p17" (external storage)
"adb shell dd if=/sdcard/TMOBILE/VKL1/mdm.bin of=/dev/block/
mmcblk0p17" (internal storage)
- For those using the Telus KJ3 modem use the following command
without the quotes.
"adb shell dd if=/sdcard/external_sd/TELUS/mdm.bin of=/dev/block/
mmcblk0p17" (external storage)
"adb shell dd if=/sdcard/TELUS/mdm.bin of=/dev/block/
mmcblk0p17" (internal storage)
5. If all of that went well, all we have to do now is reboot, let the device
settle down (updating the storage takes a little while longer since we
put all those modem files in there), and then force the device to use
HSDPA.
- Enter the following command without quotes
"adb shell reboot"
- Let the device restart
- Let media scanning complete (really, be a little patient with it)
- Look for the 4G icon to appear where only an edge symbol used to
be.
- If there is no 4G icon, check you reception strength. I had low
reception indoors that improved when I went outdoors.
- If after trying to get a stronger signal you still only get edge, you
might need to force your phone to use HSPA only.
6. Forcing your phone to use HSPA
- Go to Settings
- Go to Wireless and network
- Scroll down and go to Mobile networks
- Go to Network mode
- Select HSPA only
Last edited by yalkowni; 12th March 2012 at 07:55 PM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to yalkowni For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2012, 11:13 PM   |  #3  
jamesd86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delaware
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
And you need to be unlocked..like 30 bucks online or if you're really nice to at$t they might give you the code.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
23rd February 2012, 11:18 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
LA JOLLA
Thanks Meter: 551
 
5,311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Oh yea forgot about that
Sent from my SGH-T989
24th February 2012, 01:26 AM   |  #5  
roloracer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kissimmee
Thanks Meter: 650
 
2,738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
I'm sorry but doesn't t-mobile and at&t use different bands for their 3g, not sure about the 4g, well at least in the US, I just left t-mobile and while I was in tmo (7 years) I had two at&t devices sim unlocked, a at&t tilt and a fuze which I still have and neither of them picked up 3g in t-mobile so unless the note has support for both bands I don't see our note ever picking up 3g from t-mobile.


Sent from my awesome Galaxy Note!
24th February 2012, 01:41 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
LA JOLLA
Thanks Meter: 551
 
5,311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
More
Not the note it is actuallly a pentaband phone which supports he rewuired bands for tmoile 3g/4g

Sent from my SGH-T989
24th February 2012, 01:49 AM   |  #7  
jamesd86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Delaware
Thanks Meter: 114
 
1,106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by roloracer

I'm sorry but doesn't t-mobile and at&t use different bands for their 3g, not sure about the 4g, well at least in the US, I just left t-mobile and while I was in tmo (7 years) I had two at&t devices sim unlocked, a at&t tilt and a fuze which I still have and neither of them picked up 3g in t-mobile so unless the note has support for both bands I don't see our note ever picking up 3g from t-mobile.


Sent from my awesome Galaxy Note!

We are hoping that the Note is like the Skyrocket in that it has a radio chip that has the necessary bands on it, but is locked by software. Hence why the Skyrocket can get 3G on tmobile by flashing a tmobile radio..


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
24th February 2012, 02:09 AM   |  #8  
roloracer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kissimmee
Thanks Meter: 650
 
2,738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesd86

We are hoping that the Note is like the Skyrocket in that it has a radio chip that has the necessary bands on it, but is locked by software. Hence why the Skyrocket can get 3G on tmobile by flashing a tmobile radio..


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium

wow this was unknown to me, didn't know this was possible with any device, awesome
24th February 2012, 03:43 AM   |  #9  
davidrileysr's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Tried ADB. My device was recognized as b794164b. After I entered the first line here is what I got. Failed to copy 'mdm.bin' to '/tmp/amss.bin': read only file system. I am rooted. I'm on T-Mobile.
Last edited by davidrileysr; 24th February 2012 at 04:03 AM.
24th February 2012, 04:01 AM   |  #10  
MSigler's Avatar
Senior Member
Memphis
Thanks Meter: 53
 
657 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidrileysr

Tried ADB. My device was recognized as b794164b. After I entered the first line here is what I got. Failed to copy 'mdm.bin' to '/tmp/amss.bin': read only file system.

Type "ADB remount" then try again.

Thread Closed Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes