Post Reply

Say hi to "CyanoBoot" -- a 2nd bootloader/w menu aka "ub2" - (WIP)

OP fattire

30th April 2012, 09:22 PM   |  #51  
fattire's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,418
 
1,529 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by demetris_I

The N button doesnt work.
It shows Cyanoboot screen and then load up cwm, pressing N button doesnt stop this.
And of my supprise also in cwm i couldnt mount sd card so i had to go into adb magic to mount media to mmcblk0p10 and then push cm9.zip and flash from there as i didnt have any rom on the internal.

Edit:
After flashing cm9 with correct boot.img all back to normal.

Edit 2:
Just for report.
After trying to flash Kindle fire kernel, my NT never reached cyanoboot bootloader, it showed N screen then bootloop.
So something needs fixing in Cyanoboot.
What i mean is, even with wrong kernel wouldn't be normal to pass cyanoboot loader and bootloop after trying to load from emmc.
Why kernel messes up bootloader? Weird!

A few thoughts.

1. Cyanoboot is not meant to work on the kindle fire, and the kindle file kernel should not be used with the nook tablet. The only devices cyanoboot works with is 1. Nook Color 2. Nook Tablet, and there has been development on 3. The lenovo A1.
2. The kernel must be added to the boot.img (sd) or boot partition (emmc) in a very specific way. If you did not do it properly, you will not see past the "N" if you are booting from emmc. This is described in the OP in some detail.
3. It would not be normal to get past the cyanoboot loader if the kernel was not properly added to the boot image. Again, see the OP for how it should work. It would not be expected to do anything with a kindle fire kernel.
4. It's extremely hard to make an evaluation, especially without knowing exactly what you did to "flash" this kernel. What makes you think a kfire kernel would work? If you're interested in using an experimental 3.x kernel, see the 3.x kernel thread.
30th April 2012, 11:00 PM   |  #52  
Demetris's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Limassol
Thanks Meter: 7,236
 
2,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Thanks for the quick answer.
As I clear out ,cyanoboot behavior depend on the kernel. So the kernel must be cyanoboot-aware.
P.s
I knew kf wouldnt boot I was just testing if I can recover via cyanoboot if I flash a "almost compatible" kernel, let's say bionic 3 .
And if I could fastboot flash boot boot.img
But never reached there

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA
Last edited by Demetris; 30th April 2012 at 11:02 PM.
1st May 2012, 02:12 PM   |  #53  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
90 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Having some trouble with Cyanoboot. I selected emmc recovery in the menu and now it is in a loop. It attempts to boot the recovery (Loading recovery from emmc...), then powers off and then reattempts to boot into recovery when it gets back into cyanoboot. It continues to loop, and doesn't cut out after 8 restarts.

I held the menu button to interrupt it and it won't respond at all. Also tried booting from SD but it boots straight into cyanoboot.

Any help would be great, thanks.
1st May 2012, 02:15 PM   |  #54  
Demetris's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Limassol
Thanks Meter: 7,236
 
2,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Do you have cwm recovery installed and tested to work?
1st May 2012, 06:43 PM   |  #55  
fattire's Avatar
OP Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,418
 
1,529 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by flamingsamurai

Having some trouble with Cyanoboot. I selected emmc recovery in the menu and now it is in a loop. It attempts to boot the recovery (Loading recovery from emmc...), then powers off and then reattempts to boot into recovery when it gets back into cyanoboot. It continues to loop, and doesn't cut out after 8 restarts.

I held the menu button to interrupt it and it won't respond at all. Also tried booting from SD but it boots straight into cyanoboot.

Any help would be great, thanks.

If it's attempting to boot into recovery with every boot, this is due to an uncleared instruction in the /bootdata/bcb file that was NOT set by cyanoboot (it does not do this) and is not being cleared with every boot-- if you tried to boot into recovery from the reboot menu and do not have a valid recovery to boot into (and thus clear this instruction), this can happen...

Do you have a valid recovery image or other bootable SD? If you can boot into it, or any other valid image (boot off SD), this command from the shell should clear the bcb instruction:

dd if=/dev/zero of=/bootdata/BCB bs=1 count=1088
2nd May 2012, 09:51 AM   |  #56  
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 1,341
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Is it easy way to leave "Start fastboot" menu after sending image? (Pressing to power button is very long )
2nd May 2012, 06:15 PM   |  #57  
Demetris's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Limassol
Thanks Meter: 7,236
 
2,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
fastboot reboot
The Following User Says Thank You to Demetris For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 06:27 PM   |  #58  
mik_os's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Poltava
Thanks Meter: 1,836
 
743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
"fastboot continue" does not supported?
The Following User Says Thank You to mik_os For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd May 2012, 06:33 PM   |  #59  
Demetris's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Limassol
Thanks Meter: 7,236
 
2,458 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mik_os

"fastboot continue" does not supported?

Didn't check, i will and post back

Edit:
It fails gracefully

C:\adb>fastboot devices
XXXX00XX0000000X fastboot

C:\adb>fastboot continue
resuming boot...
FAILED (remote failure)
finished. total time: 0.001s
Last edited by Demetris; 2nd May 2012 at 09:06 PM.
2nd May 2012, 11:42 PM   |  #60  
mik_os's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Poltava
Thanks Meter: 1,836
 
743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
I think I know how to fix this (or at least how to activate menu again), but how to pack u-boot into that flash_image.img file? Found this, will try to make something usefull.
Last edited by mik_os; 3rd May 2012 at 12:09 AM.

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mik_os For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
acclaim, bootloader, cyanoboot, locked, u-boot
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes