Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,820 Members 49,097 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC Desire freezes when switching from 3G to 2G

Tip us?
 
tocophonic
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vienna
Default [Q] HTC Desire freezes when switching from 3G to 2G

Hello out there,
since I wiped my phone and updated to the most recent CyanogenMod 7 build (#262), my problem regularly freezes when switching from 3G to 2G mode. The only thing to get the device running again is to remove the battery and reinsert it again. If i'm still in an area or room with only 2G coverage, the phone freezes soon after boot-up.

Help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,
toco

My phone:
HTC Desire (GSM)
PVT1 S-OFF
RADIO-5.17.05.23

CyanogenMod 7 20120225-NIGHTLY
Android ver. 2.3.7, kernel 2.6.37.6
 
erklat
Old
#2  
erklat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 454
Posts: 2,444
Join Date: Nov 2010
What I'd do in this order:

1) stop using nightlies
2) change kernel
3) change radio

There was this guy whose phone froze every time he was in space with low or no 3G coverage, and I think changing kernel from snq's to some other solved it for him.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
 
tocophonic
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vienna
Thanks for your quick response!

Ok, I appreciate your advice. If the problem keeps occurring I will switch back to the latest stable.

But, still something strange about it: I had absolutely no problem the first weeks i was using this nightly (262 was since November 2011 the latest nightly until today), the problem started to occur from one day to the other.
I am using the radio version since probably half a year or even more, without any problems.
Also, 262 was reported (cyanogenmod forums, other forums) to be very stable on the Desire, almost no people reported having problems with it. That's why i decided to update to build 262. I for my part am suspecting a software being the cause for the freezes, but i have no clue which one.. I even checked the system logs.

As for the kernel: Call me a noob, but how do i change the kernel? I know how to root devices, flash recoveries and roms, but how can i change the kernel directly?

Greetings,
toco
 
erklat
Old
#4  
erklat's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 454
Posts: 2,444
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tocophonic View Post
As for the kernel: Call me a noob, but how do i change the kernel? I know how to root devices, flash recoveries and roms, but how can i change the kernel directly?
Kernel is flashed the same way as roms are. Make sure you use a correct one, manU 2.1 is probably the most popular of those which will work on cyanogenmod.

Sent from my HTC Desire using Tapatalk
 
bortak
Old
#5  
bortak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 893
Posts: 2,333
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London
if that doesn't work:

Dialer/

*#*#4636*#*#

phone settings > network type: WCDMA only
______________
Google Nexus 5
- Paranoid Android -
Google Nexus 10
- Stock -
____________________________________
bortak's Troubleshooting Guide for HTC Desire (Bravo)
___________________________________________
Legacy Devices: HTC Desire (Bravo) | Samsung Galaxy S3 I9300
 
tocophonic
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vienna
Alright, one more thing: If I change the kernel to let's say Manu 2.1 - how can I switch back to the original CM7 kernel again? Just by reinstalling the CM7 ROM?

Thanks!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bortak View Post
if that doesn't work:

Dialer/

*#*#4636*#*#

phone settings > network type: WCDMA only
Wait, if I set it to WCDMA only I can only access data services when in a 3G covered area, right? Thats not optimal either because i'm regularily visiting my parents on weekends, where only 2G coverage is available. Also in some buildings (esp. cellars) here in the city there is only 2G coverage.
 
bortak
Old
#7  
bortak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 893
Posts: 2,333
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by tocophonic View Post
Alright, one more thing: If I change the kernel to let's say Manu 2.1 - how can I switch back to the original CM7 kernel again? Just by reinstalling the CM7 ROM?

Thanks!




Wait, if I set it to WCDMA only I can only access data services when in a 3G covered area, right? Thats not optimal either because i'm regularily visiting my parents on weekends, where only 2G coverage is available. Also in some buildings (esp. cellars) here in the city there is only 2G coverage.
Yeah, but it can solve the issue, I get it intermittently sometimes too but after a reboot or two its usually fine.
______________
Google Nexus 5
- Paranoid Android -
Google Nexus 10
- Stock -
____________________________________
bortak's Troubleshooting Guide for HTC Desire (Bravo)
___________________________________________
Legacy Devices: HTC Desire (Bravo) | Samsung Galaxy S3 I9300
 
bertrand13
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Marseille
Hi

I have similar problem, freeze mainly occuring when the radio reception is poor...
Tried almost evrything differents ROM, kernels, gparted my SD, full wipe....

For three weeks I have no freeze since i tried bending the slots cards like mentionned here :

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...6&postcount=96
Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505
i9505XXUFNC4
Roted with towelroot

Samsung Galaxy S2 I9100
Rootbox 4.1 nightly 07/18
Kernel DorimanX 9.35
Modem LS9

TF701T pure stock
rooted with towelroot
 
tocophonic
Old
(Last edited by tocophonic; 4th March 2012 at 01:40 PM.)
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vienna
Quote:
Originally Posted by bertrand13 View Post
I'm afraid your link does not work bertrand I get a 404 there. Can u please repost the link?
 
tocophonic
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vienna
Quote:
Originally Posted by bortak View Post
Yeah, but it can solve the issue, I get it intermittently sometimes too but after a reboot or two its usually fine.
I would have written you a PM but as I'm not yet allowed to (too few xda posts) I have to put the question here: What happens on May 7th (your signature)? Because i'm looking for an adequate successor to my Desire (~3,7" display) as well.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


BrightNotes Makes Cloud Notes Simple and Easy

There are literally thousands of note taking apps available on Android, with practically every … more

Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more

Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more

Intel Partners with Unity to Support Android on Intel-Based Devices

Intel, largely known for their long-standing reputation as the king of … more