FORUMS

Analysis & Opinion

Top Forum Discussions

 View Poll Results: How would you like your memory cards to be set up stock?

Samsung: /emmc external, /sdcard internal
 
157 Vote(s)
66.81%
Normal: /sdcard external, /emmc internal
 
58 Vote(s)
24.68%
Build both because I am indecisive.
 
20 Vote(s)
8.51%

[ROM] [ICS] Android Open Kang Project - galaxysmtd - Milestone 6

5,168 posts
Thanks Meter: 7,006
 
By sixstringsg, Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer on 29th February 2012, 10:30 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
11th May 2012, 04:06 PM |#2491  
fishears's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Ask Google where I am
Thanks Meter: 2,769
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by groksteady

thanks fishears, I think I'm getting on the right track with this AOSP standard now. I'm using the original b35, not the one that six posted.

What folders need to get moved so apps can access them with the AOSP standard? Originally, Rom Toolbox could find my backups, but I could see them in manual recovery. I copied the Clockworkmod folder from emmc to sdcard, and now Rom Toolbox sees them. But I don't know where they should truly be kept -- I suspect that when I make another nandroid (in manual recovery), it'll get put in emmc and Rom Toolbox won't see it. I saw another thing that mentioned copying over sdcard/Android and sdcard/data to emmc. All seems to work fine for now, but I have redundancies everywhere.

I don't really care either what the storages are named, and I'm not all hot to get them back to how Samsung did it. But considering that all future builds/releases will probably sdcard=external, I'd like to switch over whichever folders I need to now.

What do you mean "redundencies"? If you move the folders from internal storage to sdcard then all should work. Did your picture preview come back when you moved "DCIM"?

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk 2
 
 
11th May 2012, 04:27 PM |#2492  
Bejda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,957
 
More
On this french thread you'll find (first text part,big bold letters) a "normal" SdCardsMounts update.zip that will get you back to /emmc = external ; /sdcard = internal.
http://galaxys-team.fr/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=23608
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Bejda For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 04:36 PM |#2493  
ALESSIO94x's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Rome
Thanks Meter: 357
 
More
Wonderful! Thanks for the fix
11th May 2012, 04:38 PM |#2494  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
guys i still have problems with the market..
I have done all the steps mentioned in general UI settings, and the market works fine(DPI 240), but whenever I change my DPI to 200, some market apps (facebook, youtube and more..) become invisible and I cant download/ see those apps.
in market it says on facebook app "your device sn't compatible with this version"

(im using AOKP B35, SGS1, Devil kernel)

PLEASE HELP ME, THANK!!
11th May 2012, 04:48 PM |#2495  
groksteady's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phnom Penh
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishears

What do you mean "redundencies"? If you move the folders from internal storage to sdcard then all should work. Did your picture preview come back when you moved "DCIM"?

Sent from my GT-I9000 using Tapatalk 2

redundancies because I copied these folders, not moved. I had them in both sdcard and emmc.

I wasn't the one who posted about the picture preview problem in the camera. I just ran with your answer. I copied all photos in emmc/DCIM over to sdcard/DCIM and deleted the folder from emmc. This sorts out a lot better in my Gallery, and yeah, the picture preview is there. So this works, thanks.

I posted bc I wasn't sure what folders should be where, especially ones created by apps ages ago.

for instance: After the switch to emmc=internal, I no longer saw my nandroid backups in Rom Toolbox, only in manual recovery. (not a big deal, just an example.) Today I copied the Clockworkmod folder over to sdcard, and they were viewable both ways. Just now I deleted the folder from emmc. They're still viewable in Rom Toolbox, but in manual recovery, they're under "restore from internal sd". So that must mean that manual recovery believes that "sdcard" is internal, not external, right?

This is driving me bat****, because I can't keep this straight in my head, and feel like I have to write down every step I do to remember. Anyway, it's moot for now; everything is working. But if there is a preferred place for some of these folders (like sdcard/Android or sdcard/data) someone please tell me.
11th May 2012, 04:50 PM |#2496  
Senior Member
Flag Guadalajara
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejda

On this french thread you'll find (first text part,big bold letters) a "normal" SdCardsMounts update.zip that will get you back to /emmc = external ; /sdcard = internal.
http://galaxys-team.fr/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=23608

So i think the best combination so far is to flash the original build 35 with these fix, as many people reported issues with the fixed b35 right?
11th May 2012, 04:58 PM |#2497  
groksteady's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Phnom Penh
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejda

On this french thread you'll find (first text part,big bold letters) a "normal" SdCardsMounts update.zip that will get you back to /emmc = external ; /sdcard = internal.
http://galaxys-team.fr/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=23608

Thanks; this part is helpful to me:

"il faut donc déplacer les dossiers tels que: Android; data; Gameloft; etc ça reste l'inverse pour le recovery."
11th May 2012, 04:59 PM |#2498  
Bejda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,957
 
More
Don't know much about issues related to sd swap cause i didn't stay long in the "inverted" configuration,it could certainly have avantages and for us to get used to it but it's a matter of choice too so...
Note that the zip doesn't include vold.conf but i don't think it's needed.

Here's the guy who made this great french topic:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=4546700
If it helps he deserves the thanks
Last edited by Bejda; 11th May 2012 at 05:03 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Bejda For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 05:48 PM |#2499  
sixstringsg's Avatar
OP Retired Forum Moderator / Retired Recognized Developer
Dallas, TX
Thanks Meter: 7,006
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by darixtorento

guys i still have problems with the market..
I have done all the steps mentioned in general UI settings, and the market works fine(DPI 240), but whenever I change my DPI to 200, some market apps (facebook, youtube and more..) become invisible and I cant download/ see those apps.
in market it says on facebook app "your device sn't compatible with this version"

(im using AOKP B35, SGS1, Devil kernel)

PLEASE HELP ME, THANK!!

First off, you posted that a page or two back, please do not spam the thread. Second, you are using first of all an unsupported kernel, and a DPI that isn't stock. I will not be providing you with support, use stock DPI or don't complain.
11th May 2012, 06:04 PM |#2500  
Smartg2os's Avatar
Member
Flag Tours
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Arrow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bejda

Don't know much about issues related to sd swap cause i didn't stay long in the "inverted" configuration,it could certainly have avantages and for us to get used to it but it's a matter of choice too so...
Note that the zip doesn't include vold.conf but i don't think it's needed.

Here's the guy who made this great french topic:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=4546700
If it helps he deserves the thanks

I've just updated my add-ons and added the right vold.conf in each zip.
Press ctrl+s or cmd+s to download, firefox can block download popup, just allow and retry
InvertedSDcards (included in Build 35)
NormalSDcardsMount
I use Drive instead of Dropbox to prevent unalvailability due to bandwidth exeeding.
Don't forget credits if you share my add-ons and press the thanks button!
Last edited by Smartg2os; 11th May 2012 at 06:16 PM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to Smartg2os For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th May 2012, 06:11 PM |#2501  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
incurrrup nandroid
i have an incorrupt nandroid backup of milestone 5...
hanging up in aokp boot animation (not kernel)
nandroid backup of b34 runs fine...

any idea how i can fix the incorrupt nandroid of milestone5?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
aokp, ics_viber
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes