5,600,571 Members 32,835 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

YouTube app update now has HD!!!

Tip us?
 
dyetheskin
Old
#11  
dyetheskin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 2,022
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: bensalem, pa
Quote:
Originally Posted by robotnoize View Post
Thanks man!!! Damn. Unfortunately still comes up as hq and not hd. Oh well, worth a try.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio using xda premium
that's because HD only works for HD devicez
"Takes A Freak To Please A Freak"

 
feralicious
Old
#12  
feralicious's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 673
Posts: 1,718
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: City of Angels
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyetheskin View Post
that's because HD only works for HD devicez
Yep. Weakest link. It's not just a game show.
 
JT75
Old
#13  
JT75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 115
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmk32 View Post
I just had an update for the YouTube app from the Market today and it now shows an 'HD' button with red light when watching an HD video clip!

Been waiting for them to update this as HD clips look incredible on the Rezound!!!
Where is the red light? The videos I'm watching say hd in the description but I only see a hq button

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
 
NickDVS
Old
#14  
NickDVS's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 63
Join Date: Jan 2012
Just do a search in the market for 'youtube' and go into it. It will allow you to update from there. It wasn't showing under my apps list to update.
 
jmk32
Old
#15  
jmk32's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 102
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT75 View Post
Where is the red light? The videos I'm watching say hd in the description but I only see a hq button

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
If you tap on the screen while playing an HD video, the screen will show a button in the top right corner of the screen with 'HD' and a green light
The Following User Says Thank You to jmk32 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
DbZ Gokuu
Old
#16  
DbZ Gokuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 59
Posts: 392
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ohio
Since I'm running 4.0.3, I had to revert from the 3.3.0 version of the YouTube app to 2.4.4 in order to get hd.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
Device List:

HTC Droid DNA
HTC ReZound (Retired)
HTC Droid Incredible (Retired)
Moto OG Droid (Retired)


I'm just Saiyan...
 
taptaptouch
Old
#17  
taptaptouch's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 147
Posts: 583
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Kalamazoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by DbZ Gokuu View Post
Since I'm running 4.0.3, I had to revert from the 3.3.0 version of the YouTube app to 2.4.4 in order to get hd.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
ICS youtube has HD already...
Back in Vietnamek
Quote:
Originally Posted by kyuubi08 View Post
Log cat or it didn't happen


Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk 2
 
JT75
Old
#18  
JT75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 115
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmk32 View Post
If you tap on the screen while playing an HD video, the screen will show a button in the top right corner of the screen with 'HD' and a green light
I figured out the problem. You only get the hd option on 4G. I can watch a video in hd on 4G then if I switch to cdma I only get the hq option.
I also presume wifi would work too
Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
 
syikho
Old
#19  
Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 41
Join Date: Aug 2010
Yea, HD only works for me on 4G and Wifi. HD on a 3G connection would have to buffer too much and render the video practically un-watchable.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...