FORUMS

Android 5.1.1 Omni ROM For Motorola Xoom

Back in Feb 2011, the Motorola Xoom became the first device to be sold with Android 3.0 … more

CleanSlate Brings Fingerprint Scanner Mod to HTC One M9+

Work of XDA Recognized Developer tbalden, CleanSlate custom kernel for the HTC … more

Sunday Debate: Which Factors Caused HTC’s Woes?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on HTC’s situation. Come with your … more

HTC’s New Ad Campaign And What It Really Means

HTC has just released three new blind test adverts comparing app loading … more

YouTube app update now has HD!!!

102 posts
Thanks Meter: 23
 
By jmk32, Senior Member on 2nd March 2012, 09:46 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
3rd March 2012, 08:41 AM |#11  
dyetheskin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag bensalem, pa
Thanks Meter: 229
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robotnoize

Thanks man!!! Damn. Unfortunately still comes up as hq and not hd. Oh well, worth a try.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio using xda premium

that's because HD only works for HD devicez
 
 
3rd March 2012, 08:48 AM |#12  
feralicious's Avatar
Senior Member
City of Angels
Thanks Meter: 675
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyetheskin

that's because HD only works for HD devicez

Yep. Weakest link. It's not just a game show.
4th March 2012, 07:49 PM |#13  
JT75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmk32

I just had an update for the YouTube app from the Market today and it now shows an 'HD' button with red light when watching an HD video clip!

Been waiting for them to update this as HD clips look incredible on the Rezound!!!

Where is the red light? The videos I'm watching say hd in the description but I only see a hq button

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
4th March 2012, 11:46 PM |#14  
NickDVS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Just do a search in the market for 'youtube' and go into it. It will allow you to update from there. It wasn't showing under my apps list to update.
5th March 2012, 12:00 AM |#15  
jmk32's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT75

Where is the red light? The videos I'm watching say hd in the description but I only see a hq button

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA

If you tap on the screen while playing an HD video, the screen will show a button in the top right corner of the screen with 'HD' and a green light
The Following User Says Thank You to jmk32 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2012, 06:52 AM |#16  
DbZ Gokuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Since I'm running 4.0.3, I had to revert from the 3.3.0 version of the YouTube app to 2.4.4 in order to get hd.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
6th March 2012, 11:36 PM |#17  
taptaptouch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 147
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DbZ Gokuu

Since I'm running 4.0.3, I had to revert from the 3.3.0 version of the YouTube app to 2.4.4 in order to get hd.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk

ICS youtube has HD already...
14th March 2012, 04:05 PM |#18  
JT75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmk32

If you tap on the screen while playing an HD video, the screen will show a button in the top right corner of the screen with 'HD' and a green light

I figured out the problem. You only get the hd option on 4G. I can watch a video in hd on 4G then if I switch to cdma I only get the hq option.
I also presume wifi would work too
Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
14th March 2012, 07:11 PM |#19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Yea, HD only works for me on 4G and Wifi. HD on a 3G connection would have to buffer too much and render the video practically un-watchable.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes