What is the Best Third-Party Camera App for Android?

When it comes to Camera apps, there are dozens of great options to choose … more

Google to Acquire XDA, Dev Rewards & Policy Changes

We are delighted to announce that starting on April 20th, a finalized deal with … more

Hi Locker to Help You With Lockscreen Headache

The lockscreen is a part of the OS that we see hundreds of times every day, whether … more

Must Have App Review: Spider Squisher Pro Extreme

Here on XDA TV we have a series we like to call Must Have Apps. These are apps that we … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

YouTube app update now has HD!!!

3rd March 2012, 08:41 AM |#11  
dyetheskin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag bensalem, pa
Thanks Meter: 229
 
2,022 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robotnoize

Thanks man!!! Damn. Unfortunately still comes up as hq and not hd. Oh well, worth a try.

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio using xda premium

that's because HD only works for HD devicez
3rd March 2012, 08:48 AM |#12  
feralicious's Avatar
Senior Member
City of Angels
Thanks Meter: 674
 
1,741 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyetheskin

that's because HD only works for HD devicez

Yep. Weakest link. It's not just a game show.
4th March 2012, 07:49 PM |#13  
JT75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmk32

I just had an update for the YouTube app from the Market today and it now shows an 'HD' button with red light when watching an HD video clip!

Been waiting for them to update this as HD clips look incredible on the Rezound!!!

Where is the red light? The videos I'm watching say hd in the description but I only see a hq button

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
4th March 2012, 11:46 PM |#14  
NickDVS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
136 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Just do a search in the market for 'youtube' and go into it. It will allow you to update from there. It wasn't showing under my apps list to update.
5th March 2012, 12:00 AM |#15  
jmk32's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
102 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JT75

Where is the red light? The videos I'm watching say hd in the description but I only see a hq button

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA

If you tap on the screen while playing an HD video, the screen will show a button in the top right corner of the screen with 'HD' and a green light
The Following User Says Thank You to jmk32 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2012, 06:52 AM |#16  
DbZ Gokuu's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Ohio
Thanks Meter: 59
 
392 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Since I'm running 4.0.3, I had to revert from the 3.3.0 version of the YouTube app to 2.4.4 in order to get hd.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
6th March 2012, 11:36 PM |#17  
taptaptouch's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kalamazoo
Thanks Meter: 147
 
583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DbZ Gokuu

Since I'm running 4.0.3, I had to revert from the 3.3.0 version of the YouTube app to 2.4.4 in order to get hd.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk

ICS youtube has HD already...
14th March 2012, 04:05 PM |#18  
JT75's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
115 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmk32

If you tap on the screen while playing an HD video, the screen will show a button in the top right corner of the screen with 'HD' and a green light

I figured out the problem. You only get the hd option on 4G. I can watch a video in hd on 4G then if I switch to cdma I only get the hq option.
I also presume wifi would work too
Sent from my ADR6425LVW using XDA
14th March 2012, 07:11 PM |#19  
Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
42 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Yea, HD only works for me on 4G and Wifi. HD on a 3G connection would have to buffer too much and render the video practically un-watchable.

Sent from my ADR6425LVW using xda premium

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes