FORUMS

Google Launches Google Photos At I/O 2015 Keynote

While rumors have been floating around for a while, the Google I/O 2015 has made … more

Google Now Marches Forward with ‘Now on Tap’

When Google Now was announced three years ago, it revolutionized the mobile … more

I/O 2015: Google Announces App Link Enhancements

During the Google I/O Keynote, VP of Engineering Dave Burke announced that the Android … more

Google Announces its IoT platform titled ‘Brillo’

A few days ago, a leak highlighted Google’s foray into the Internet … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

How To VVM on AT&T (confirmed Samsung Focus S and Focus Flash)

4th March 2012, 06:16 AM |#1  
OP Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Many of you are aware of a thread in the Focus S section of this forum about someone with their Focus S getting VVM to work. However, it wasn't the most helpful thread to replicating it. I have since replicated this on a different device (the Focus Flash), so I wanted to post something here to let more people know.
Thanks to davezaff for the idea.

Here is how I did it on my Focus Flash. You will probably need a way to edit the APNs.

1. Update to 7740
2. Update to 8107
3. Insert sim card into an AT&T Android LTE phone (I used skyrocket)
4. Go to att.com and switch plan to Data Pro 4g LTE plan. I had to call to switch since it wasn't working on the website.
5. Setup VVM on Android LTE phone (don't know if this is necessary, but this is what I did....make sure friend knows the VM password so they can re-add it when they put their sim card back in.
6.Insert sim card back into Windows Phone
7. Call Voicemail
8. Wait for VVM to show up on phone (mine showed up after calling voicemail).
9. If sync error, edit the APN as follows

APN settings (delete the internet_line APN)
Create a new APN

APN Name: pta
Profile Category: internet (always on)
APN: pta
Auth type: None
Username:
Password:
Proxy address: proxy.mobile.att.net
Proxy domain:
Proxy port: 80


I now have working VVM on AT&T with my Samsung Focus Flash. My internet tethering still works (applied the Interop unlock + tethering hack from XDA). I have not tested MMS since I did this, but the MMS APN was untouched.
Last edited by txaggies07; 4th March 2012 at 06:19 AM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to txaggies07 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
4th March 2012, 01:42 PM |#2  
voluptuary's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Mukwonago
Thanks Meter: 747
 
Donate to Me
More
So they have tied vvm with their stupid data plans, how nice. So I can pay $20 for 300mb + vvm or I can pay $10 for unlimited data and traditional vm... ATT is so dumb.
4th March 2012, 02:21 PM |#3  
O_G's Avatar
Moderator Committee - Life Can't Beat Me
Flag Glosta
Thanks Meter: 5,289
 
More
Moved To WP7 General


This is not development, its more of a guide. Please post such threads in the WP7 General section
4th March 2012, 03:31 PM |#4  
OP Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
For the normal person, it is pay $30 for 3GB of data with traditional VM or pay $30 for 3GB with VVM. The only difference is one plan has the word LTE at the end.
4th March 2012, 08:13 PM |#5  
simbadogg's Avatar
Senior Member
Corona
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
how can one even get the 8107 update on the samsung focus s? i tried the old force update method (disconnecting the internet connection) with zune, and that hasn't worked...
5th March 2012, 08:18 AM |#6  
OP Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by simbadogg

how can one even get the 8107 update on the samsung focus s? i tried the old force update method (disconnecting the internet connection) with zune, and that hasn't worked...

This is the process I used:
http://www.mobiletechworld.com/2012/...date-manually/
26th March 2012, 01:31 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Any idea if this works with the ATT Titan?
26th March 2012, 01:53 AM |#8  
Dr.8820's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cleveland, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 133
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmian

Any idea if this works with the ATT Titan?

Yes, and just download the English only language pack.
26th March 2012, 08:15 AM |#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
i already updated to 8107, but im asking if the vvm works for the titan, i also don't know anyone with an LTE android phone
26th March 2012, 10:39 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Does this work if you don't setup VVM on the android device first? I was thinking of just calling AT&T and asking to be switched to the 4G plan.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
at&t, vvm, wp7
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes