Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,619 Members 52,187 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How To VVM on AT&T (confirmed Samsung Focus S and Focus Flash)

Tip us?
 
txaggies07
Old
(Last edited by txaggies07; 4th March 2012 at 06:19 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 70
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Cool How To VVM on AT&T (confirmed Samsung Focus S and Focus Flash)

Many of you are aware of a thread in the Focus S section of this forum about someone with their Focus S getting VVM to work. However, it wasn't the most helpful thread to replicating it. I have since replicated this on a different device (the Focus Flash), so I wanted to post something here to let more people know.
Thanks to davezaff for the idea.

Here is how I did it on my Focus Flash. You will probably need a way to edit the APNs.

1. Update to 7740
2. Update to 8107
3. Insert sim card into an AT&T Android LTE phone (I used skyrocket)
4. Go to att.com and switch plan to Data Pro 4g LTE plan. I had to call to switch since it wasn't working on the website.
5. Setup VVM on Android LTE phone (don't know if this is necessary, but this is what I did....make sure friend knows the VM password so they can re-add it when they put their sim card back in.
6.Insert sim card back into Windows Phone
7. Call Voicemail
8. Wait for VVM to show up on phone (mine showed up after calling voicemail).
9. If sync error, edit the APN as follows

APN settings (delete the internet_line APN)
Create a new APN

APN Name: pta
Profile Category: internet (always on)
APN: pta
Auth type: None
Username:
Password:
Proxy address: proxy.mobile.att.net
Proxy domain:
Proxy port: 80


I now have working VVM on AT&T with my Samsung Focus Flash. My internet tethering still works (applied the Interop unlock + tethering hack from XDA). I have not tested MMS since I did this, but the MMS APN was untouched.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to txaggies07 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
voluptuary
Old
#2  
voluptuary's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 738
Posts: 939
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mukwonago

 
DONATE TO ME
So they have tied vvm with their stupid data plans, how nice. So I can pay $20 for 300mb + vvm or I can pay $10 for unlimited data and traditional vm... ATT is so dumb.
My contributions:
Clean ROM for Samsung Focus v1.3, Nokia Lumia 800, and HTC HD2
Samsung Interop Unlock & Internet Sharing All-In-One for Windows Phone
Samsung Custom Theme & Accent Colors for Windows Phone
List of Windows Phone Unlocks by Type/OEM

Allstars that donated: RonV42, dark.angel

CURRENT DEVICES: HTC HD2, Nokia Lumia 800, Nokia N9, Apple iPhone 4, Nokia Lumia 920

Get a FREE 2GB Dropbox account plus we'll get a bonus 500MB!
 
original_ganjaman
Old
#3  
original_ganjaman's Avatar
Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 4835
Posts: 4,905
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Glosta
Moved To WP7 General


This is not development, its more of a guide. Please post such threads in the WP7 General section


Age, catamite - fac mihi hunc diem felicissimum
 
txaggies07
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 70
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
For the normal person, it is pay $30 for 3GB of data with traditional VM or pay $30 for 3GB with VVM. The only difference is one plan has the word LTE at the end.
 
simbadogg
Old
#5  
simbadogg's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 381
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Corona
how can one even get the 8107 update on the samsung focus s? i tried the old force update method (disconnecting the internet connection) with zune, and that hasn't worked...
Samsung Focus S
iGo Stowaway Ultra-slim
Sony DR-BT100CX Headphones
----------------
Lumia 900
8125->Tilt->Fuze->Tilt2->Captivate->Evo 4G-> Samsung Focus NO MORE WINDOWS MOBILE!!! =)
 
txaggies07
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 70
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by simbadogg View Post
how can one even get the 8107 update on the samsung focus s? i tried the old force update method (disconnecting the internet connection) with zune, and that hasn't worked...
This is the process I used:
http://www.mobiletechworld.com/2012/...date-manually/
 
mmian
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 172
Join Date: Mar 2011
Any idea if this works with the ATT Titan?
 
Dr.8820
Old
#8  
Dr.8820's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 132
Posts: 1,171
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmian View Post
Any idea if this works with the ATT Titan?
Yes, and just download the English only language pack.
HTC RhodiumW (Sprint)Retired but active
HTC Leo(T-MobileUSA)Stolen
HTC HD7 64GB (T-Mobile)In Use
Nokia Lumia 810 (TMOUSA)Stolen
Samsung Galaxy Note III (TMO_US)
 
mmian
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 172
Join Date: Mar 2011
i already updated to 8107, but im asking if the vvm works for the titan, i also don't know anyone with an LTE android phone
 
sirfergy
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2011
Does this work if you don't setup VVM on the android device first? I was thinking of just calling AT&T and asking to be switched to the 4G plan.

Tags
at&t, vvm, wp7
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes