Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[App]Edit your carrier name.

OP crankyboy

4th March 2012, 05:04 PM   |  #1  
crankyboy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Hey I've decided to share an app I stumble upon.. credits to the developer..

Here is the link : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=901865

If you don't know what is a carrier. I have nothing to say.

Sent from my Optimus 2X using Tapatalk
4th March 2012, 05:55 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Is this just for stock roms? Because on CM roms you can change it in cyanogen settings.

Sent from my Optimus 2X using XDA App
4th March 2012, 06:29 PM   |  #3  
crankyboy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
For all roms . Root required .

Sent from my Optimus 2X using Tapatalk
4th March 2012, 06:51 PM   |  #4  
Account currently disabled
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 94
 
561 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Don't see the point in changing that info anyway, what would you replace your carrier name with? your own name? pointless.
4th March 2012, 08:09 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
93 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
I have mine replaced with a dummy "..." because it anoys me to read it all the time I pull down notifications.

Sent from my Optimus 2X using XDA App
5th March 2012, 12:10 AM   |  #6  
crankyboy's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
163 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eraldo

Don't see the point in changing that info anyway, what would you replace your carrier name with? your own name? pointless.

Different people have different perspective. Even if I were to put Obamas name on it. Why would you care ~

Sent from my Optimus 2X using Tapatalk
5th March 2012, 05:31 PM   |  #7  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 657
 
2,235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I placed my name on it. (Through CM settings.)

It's another bit of customization that makes your phone (or screenshots), unique against everyone else's.
The Following User Says Thank You to salisbury_steak For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2012, 10:09 AM   |  #8  
zarras's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag athens
Thanks Meter: 24
 
100 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
More
Tried on ICS (CM9) owain's kang, it didnt work
i put "--zArrAs network--", i reboot, and nothing changed,
k maybe im too stupid for this app :P
8th March 2012, 06:39 PM   |  #9  
salisbury_steak's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Manila
Thanks Meter: 657
 
2,235 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zarras

Tried on ICS (CM9) owain's kang, it didnt work
i put "--zArrAs network--", i reboot, and nothing changed,
k maybe im too stupid for this app :P

The app patches your framework-res, and that file is unique per version of Android (and sometimes by ROM), so I'm guessing it's an app issue. Not being ready for ICS. Since you're on CM9, I'm guessing you could just wait a few weeks, that feature might be built in to the rom itself. (It's built into CM7.)
9th March 2012, 01:21 PM   |  #10  
C4Pt4|N's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by salisbury_steak

I placed my name on it. (Through CM settings.)

It's another bit of customization that makes your phone (or screenshots), unique against everyone else's.

Yup I also changed it using CM settings.
Little effort for a nice customisation :)

Sent from my LG-P990 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes