Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,157 Members 42,777 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 2.3.6 OTA can lock my atrix 2 to AT&T? (My carrier is Orange ISRAEL).

Tip us?
 
Bensal1992
Old
(Last edited by Bensal1992; 7th March 2012 at 10:05 AM.)
#11  
Bensal1992's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekerLoki View Post
Try this: Boot into recovery, From recovery menu, select apply update from sdcard, select update file and let it run.
How Im getting into recovey mode?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hemendrachauhan View Post
If you want to update to 2.3.6 through SD card than you must have to apply the update through rebooting and using three button method to go to recovery mode.

One more thing, update through SD card works only when OTA update gives you a message that "Update Failed"
The manual method is made only for those who are facing "Update Failed" message after updating through OTA method.

---------- Post added at 10:02 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:57 AM ----------



You can use that thread also, but I found that whole method a little bit clumsy.
So i searched the net and other threads and I found another simple method to do it.

Search over the net for A2ROOT.zip
You can root your phone through this and this works for 2.3.5 as well as 2.3.6
So i prefer that you first manually update through SD card and then download A2ROOT.zip and extract it on your PC's hard drive and run the 'click-to-root' and you are ready to go.....

But before unrooting make sure to Enable USB debugging and Allow installation of non-android market applications.
Suddenly yesterday he found the update when I turn on the Wi-Fi in my house but unfortunately he stucked at 35%. There is an alert at the left top of the screen. when I open the notification center he write: "Download will resume in Wi-Fi coverage."
I turn on the Wi-Fi but he don't continue the downloading.
 
hemendrachauhan
Old
#12  
hemendrachauhan's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 41
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Gwalior

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bensal1992 View Post
How Im getting into recovey mode?



Suddenly yesterday he found the update when I turn on the Wi-Fi in my house but unfortunately he stucked at 35%. There is an alert at the left top of the screen. when I open the notification center he write: "Download will resume in Wi-Fi coverage."
I turn on the Wi-Fi but he don't continue the downloading.


To go to recovery mode :

1. Turn off your phone
2. Press Volume UP + Volume Down + Power key at once and hold all the three keys for 2-3 seconds
3. You will see 4 options now, 2nd of which is Recovery Mode.
4. Go to Recovery mode by pressing volume down key once and select it by pressing volume up key.





For WiFi issue, give your phone a reboot.
 
Bensal1992
Old
#13  
Bensal1992's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
The update stuck at 35% so I reboot the device and the downloading continue. The 2.3.6 update was install successfully but now I see popup

In the "Andorid version" section write: "2.3.6".
So what is this?

note: When the download of the OTA update stuck at 35% I downloaded the update zip file from motorola website and transfer it to the SD CARD.
When I reboot the phone and the problem was resolved I delete the update zip file from the SD Card.
I need to install this update?
 
moofree
Old
#14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 73
Posts: 214
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
If you've got 55.13.25 successfully installed, I think you're good. You can just delete the update from your sdcard.
From the motorola page
Quote:
Downloaded filename (Version.55.13.26) will be different from the final software status showing on your device (Version.55.13.25)
Nexus 4 (16GB), Atrix 2, Kindle Fire, HP Touchpad (32GB), and Pre 3 (AT&T)
The Following User Says Thank You to moofree For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
yigal66
Old
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 60
Join Date: Feb 2009
just delete update from sd card and reboot phone.
BTW do you have problem with 3G which is switching to GPRS without any reason even in areas with good 3G signal?
The Following User Says Thank You to yigal66 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Bensal1992
Old
(Last edited by Bensal1992; 9th March 2012 at 03:42 PM.)
#16  
Bensal1992's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 42
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by yigal66 View Post
just delete update from sd card and reboot phone.
BTW do you have problem with 3G which is switching to GPRS without any reason even in areas with good 3G signal?
Yes I'm suffer from this issue. It's happens so often.
Is this a common problem?
שמתי לב שאתה ישראלי עכשיו אני גם באורנג' ואני סובל מהבעיה הזאת...

Quote:
Originally Posted by moofree View Post
If you've got 55.13.25 successfully installed, I think you're good. You can just delete the update from your sdcard.
From the motorola page
Ok I did it. Thank you very much!!!
 
yigal66
Old
#17  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 60
Join Date: Feb 2009
Yes I suffering from 3G problem.
Actually I found workaround by using "network" by Phillip Mangelow application from market .
This application allows you to force network to 3G only (ATT blocked this option from settings).
Just remember if you force 3G you will lost connection in areas with low 3G signal.
And yes I am israely but I think we can't switch to hebrew on this forum :)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes