5,606,650 Members 36,906 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Scrap Screen Part

Tip us?
 
thejam15
Old
#1  
thejam15's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Acworth
Default [Q] Scrap Screen Part

I rather recently received this chinese tablet, and unfortunately whilst charging the tablet it stopped powering on and working period, so I took it apart and salvaged the working parts. I am inquiring about the name of the screen connector and the touch surface connector. I have attached images of them both below.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-03-04 18.15.44.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	257.7 KB
ID:	931796   Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-03-04 18.16.23.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	253.1 KB
ID:	931797   Click image for larger version

Name:	2012-03-04 18.16.53.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	237.0 KB
ID:	931798  
 
thejam15
Old
#2  
thejam15's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Acworth
Default Anyone?

Anyone? please?
 
MacaronyMax
Old
#3  
MacaronyMax's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 625
Posts: 13,585
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Oxford
Anything written on the back of the screen which may help?
 
thejam15
Old
#4  
thejam15's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Acworth
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacaronyMax View Post
Anything written on the back of the screen which may help?
Nope just empy space my best guess would be a C or D sized ribbon cable but im not sure and If I can learn the pin out I can just wire it up to a VGA or the likes the touch screen is another story I also need to know how much power this thing runs on because Im sure ive got the resources to power it.
 
Blagus
Old
#5  
Blagus's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1045
Posts: 1,236
Join Date: Jun 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
The main thing is getting the LCD controller: is there some chip or PCB somewhere on (or inside maybe?) the housing of LCD display? If not, you'll find the chip on the tablet's mainboard, and by searching for it's name, you might find a complete controller with VGA/S-Video/Composite/RGB input (something that's supported by controller), and you hook up the display there.

Simpler way, how I'd do it, would be to look up for the datasheet of chip on the Google, and then wire the inputs according to pinout in datasheet.
It might take time to find out how to power it up and how to feed it with image, but in the end it should work - currently I'm working on a same thing, but with LCD taken from portable DVD player with controller in the LCD housing.
The Following User Says Thank You to Blagus For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thejam15
Old
#6  
thejam15's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Acworth
It seems to have the controller on the accessory board, I will try to look for the data sheets like you said, thank you so much

Sent from my SGH-T959V using XDA
 
ranger4740
Old
#7  
ranger4740's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 399
Posts: 1,416
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne
Your post is asking for the name of those 2 connectors? They are called flexible ribbon cable, easy to break and imo not really flexible at all, cause they break.
Can't remember how many of those buggers I broke over the years.

sent from my legend, currently using extream legend fuse™
Update: 8th April 2014
Samsung Galaxy S4 👉😆😄Echoe rom v20😄😆👈
Still on old BMG4 Boobloader + FNBH Baseband.👍

semi-retired
HTC Desire HD
(Hboot 2.00.0029 AND S-OFF)
SVHD V 2.1.0

Retired HTC Legend
The Following User Says Thank You to ranger4740 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
thejam15
Old
#8  
thejam15's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Acworth
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger4740 View Post
Your post is asking for the name of those 2 connectors? They are called flexible ribbon cable, easy to break and imo not really flexible at all, cause they break.
Can't remember how many of those buggers I broke over the years.

sent from my legend, currently using extream legend fuse™
Just the information I needed thank you!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...