Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Clockworkmod: Error while restoring /data!

OP manekineko

5th March 2012, 07:46 PM   |  #1  
manekineko's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 229
 
997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
I'm using regular Clockworkmod 5.0.2.6 (not touch, which I've never tried).

I made a bunch of Nandroid backups of my phone. In the past I've restored to some of them and they worked. However, now, whenever I try restoring any of them from CWM, including the ones that worked before, it restores for a while and then it fails stating:
"Error while restoring /data!"

I searched on Google, and the only references I've found to this problem are from Galaxy Nexus owners. For them, just reflashing stock over Fastboot fixes it, so I reflashed stock 2.3.5 over Odin, but the problem remains.

I've also tried doing wipe data/factory reset from inside CWM and that didn't help.

Has anyone seen this before or have any ideas on how to fix this?!
5th March 2012, 09:36 PM   |  #2  
manekineko's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 229
 
997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
I've discovered the log function under Advanced of CWM. This is what the log is ending with:

Quote:

tar: can't remove old file data/system/packages.xml: Operation not permitted
#92997temp.dumpefs1.binefs2.binefs3.binS30edt_perm s.logzipalign.log.cid.info.psm.info.mac.infoentrop y.datbatterystats.binuiderrors.txtusage-20120304usage-20120305usage-20120229usage-20120301usage-20120302usage-20120303packages.xmlError while restoring /data!

I Googled around, and came up with this:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1461658
Again, the Galaxy Nexus, with the same problem being this data/system/packages.xml file, and the same solution being Fastboot.

What the heck is going on? Is it possible for us to use Fastboot on our T989's?
The Following User Says Thank You to manekineko For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2012, 10:00 PM   |  #3  
raycaster3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag S.Ogden
Thanks Meter: 1,063
 
3,731 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by manekineko

I'm using regular Clockworkmod 5.0.2.6 (not touch, which I've never tried).

I made a bunch of Nandroid backups of my phone. In the past I've restored to some of them and they worked. However, now, whenever I try restoring any of them from CWM, including the ones that worked before, it restores for a while and then it fails stating:
"Error while restoring /data!"

I searched on Google, and the only references I've found to this problem are from Galaxy Nexus owners. For them, just reflashing stock over Fastboot fixes it, so I reflashed stock 2.3.5 over Odin, but the problem remains.

I've also tried doing wipe data/factory reset from inside CWM and that didn't help.

Has anyone seen this before or have any ideas on how to fix this?!

You're not alone my friend and I know how to fix it, albiet temporarily, although I haven't actually had the issue in quite some time.
Do a full wipe and clean install of your favourite rom. Once it boots and you let it settle for a few minutes reboot recovery and restore your backup. I have done this method about 12-15 times. The error restoring was accompanied by the inability to reboot my phone at all without having a complete meltdown of every app force closing. It was after the first "bad reboot" I had that I got the error while trying to restore a backup. Hopefully you don't have o go through that. It sucked big time to say the least. Hope this helps

»»DARKSIDE««
Last edited by raycaster3; 5th March 2012 at 10:03 PM.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to raycaster3 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2012, 10:20 PM   |  #4  
manekineko's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 229
 
997 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by raycaster3

You're not alone my friend and I know how to fix it, albiet temporarily, although I haven't actually had the issue in quite some time.
Do a full wipe and clean install of your favourite rom. Once it boots and you let it settle for a few minutes reboot recovery and restore your backup. I have done this method about 12-15 times. The error restoring was accompanied by the inability to reboot my phone at all without having a complete meltdown of every app force closing. It was after the first "bad reboot" I had that I got the error while trying to restore a backup. Hopefully you don't have o go through that. It sucked big time to say the least. Hope this helps

»»DARKSIDE««

Fixed it, just as you were typing up your response. (Thanks for the tip nonetheless!)

I just ran Darkside Super Wipe on my phone, and after that my restore proceeded perfectly.

I wonder if that's really the key. I don't suppose your favorite ROM is Darkside Digital Warfare, which has Darkside Super Wipe built-in?
The Following User Says Thank You to manekineko For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th March 2012, 10:28 PM   |  #5  
raycaster3's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag S.Ogden
Thanks Meter: 1,063
 
3,731 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by manekineko

Fixed it, just as you were typing up your response. (Thanks for the tip nonetheless!)

I just ran Darkside Super Wipe on my phone, and after that my restore proceeded perfectly.

I wonder if that's really the key. I don't suppose your favorite ROM is Darkside Digital Warfare, which has Darkside Super Wipe built-in?

Of course it is lol.

»»DARKSIDE««
6th March 2012, 06:42 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
37 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Talking
Thanks for the fix, same thing happened to me. I had the Optimus T before this so I whent flash happy 12 hours after I unboxed this beautiful phone. I've only had this phone a week, you saved my life lol.
25th June 2012, 03:49 AM   |  #7  
Vzqsmooth56's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
193 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Donate to Me
More
this is just now happening to me, this threat is old but very help full lol
24th August 2012, 12:06 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
33 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Question
Hey all,
not trying to rehash a "solved" thread but Im having this issue and then some.

First, I tried Darksides wipe script and tried to restore the boot and install a new rom, then install the backup, all to no avail. I tried everything. When you get this error, it seems (at least from my experience) that your only hope is to restore from the stock 4.02 google image and then restore from the nandroid. This first happened to me when my phone dropped and off the couch and the battery came out. It seemed to have corrupted the sdcard, or, at least that was my guess.

However, upon redoing everything to stock and restoring the nandroid (even upgrading to the latest ver of clockworkmod recovery), the problem comes back. Im worried about permeneant damage, possibly, but it makes no sense that I would be able to revert to stock and have it working fine. When I reverted and restored from my nandroid, everything worked flawlessly. Then, today, I turned off my phone (which is a rarity, if ever) and it wouldnt boot back up a few minutes later. Bootlooop and the dreaded "error while restoring data!" message. Im going to revert to stock again and start completely from zip, no nandroid. Its possible that the nandroid is corrupted I suppose but i dont believe it would let me restore it than. Any ideas? Could this be from me leaving my phone on practically all the time, without ever turning it off? or the battery coming out while in use? (which makes sense in theory but I've done a battery pull countless times and never had a problem like this). Would there be a way I could determine, for sure if its a hardware problem? Verizon Nexus (hardware ver 9 I believe) now running JB Sourcery 2.0 (from team sourcery...an AWESOME rom, so I dont believe it to be that.)

Cheers!
24th December 2013, 07:45 AM   |  #9  
jjprophet's Avatar
Member
Flag Minneapolis
Thanks Meter: 20
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by raycaster3

You're not alone my friend and I know how to fix it, albiet temporarily, although I haven't actually had the issue in quite some time.
Do a full wipe and clean install of your favourite rom. Once it boots and you let it settle for a few minutes reboot recovery and restore your backup. I have done this method about 12-15 times. The error restoring was accompanied by the inability to reboot my phone at all without having a complete meltdown of every app force closing. It was after the first "bad reboot" I had that I got the error while trying to restore a backup. Hopefully you don't have o go through that. It sucked big time to say the least. Hope this helps

»»DARKSIDE««

Wow thanks so much for this! Just happened to me on my note 2 and after doing some googling I came across this post and it worked perfectly, first try. thanks again!
8th March 2014, 06:54 PM   |  #10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
i had this problem now.. my hearth stopped to work.. but this guide helped me ! thanx ! so it is working in year 2014 too

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes