Post Reply

[Q] Stuck on white HTC EVO 4G Screen

OP gene12517

7th March 2012, 01:12 AM   |  #11  
OP Junior Member
Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Thanks Evil. So you don't think I can do anything else myself?
7th March 2012, 01:35 AM   |  #12  
-EViL-KoNCEPTz-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay area
Thanks Meter: 3,496
 
6,230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
If you cant get recovery to work probably not if you can get recovery loaded you can wipe the whole phone and flash a ROM which may fix it but your phone is acting similar to the perm bricks that were caused by the twrp 2.0 recovery which basically f*cked up the data partition on the nand chip making it unable to be written to however im not sure what could have caused this since you were unrooted but flash memory which is what the nand chip is does have a shelf life usually far longer than the average user will keep the device however there are always bad seeds that get out jtag forces the nand to accept a binary rewrite which repairs the bad blocks in the partition, its possible to jtag yourself however the software is ridiculously priced at somewhere around a grand and cracked copies usually are no good if you can even find one
Edit: mobiletechvideos is the name of the site doing the et4g im not sure if they do the evo but its a solid place to start i noticed today he dropped his price to $50 from $60

We are legion, for we are many

Sent from my Anonymous DeathStar in the depths of GalaXy S2
Last edited by -EViL-KoNCEPTz-; 7th March 2012 at 01:39 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to -EViL-KoNCEPTz- For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th March 2012, 04:19 PM   |  #13  
OP Junior Member
Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I don't need to have S-OFF to install recovery?
7th March 2012, 04:48 PM   |  #14  
OP Junior Member
Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Are there any diag utilities that can be run?
7th March 2012, 05:37 PM   |  #15  
OP Junior Member
Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Why doesn't ADB see the phone when fastboot does?

D:\Android>adb devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached


D:\Android>telnet main1 5037
Connecting To main1...Could not open connection to the host, on port 5037: Connect failed

D:\Android>adb bugreport
error: device not found

D:\Android>adb root
error: device not found

D:\Android>fastboot devices
HT097HL09284 fastboot
7th March 2012, 05:39 PM   |  #16  
OP Junior Member
Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Maybe I can recreate all the partitions on the phone? Is there a guide on how to do that properly?

Partitions:
Followings are a list of partitions on your android phone.

misc - misc partition -
recovery - Recovery Partition - This is where the original HTC recovery or Amon Ra's recovery or any other Recovery would go. Basically if you reboot into recovery it'll boot from here.
boot - This is your boot partition
system - This is where all your system information (ROM resides)
cache - cache (When you factory reset the phone, this area is wiped)
userdata - user data (like your login, your user settings etc) When you factory reset the phone, this area is wiped)
7th March 2012, 09:02 PM   |  #17  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 9,987
 
10
11,263 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene12517

I don't need to have S-OFF to install recovery?

Not with the unlocked bootloader - you can be S-ON, but the recovery partition is still writeable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene12517

Why doesn't ADB see the phone when fastboot does?

D:\Android>adb devices
* daemon not running. starting it now on port 5037 *
* daemon started successfully *
List of devices attached


D:\Android>telnet main1 5037
Connecting To main1...Could not open connection to the host, on port 5037: Connect failed

D:\Android>adb bugreport
error: device not found

D:\Android>adb root
error: device not found

D:\Android>fastboot devices
HT097HL09284 fastboot

That does sound very similar to the problem I had with the TWRP soft-brick. If you could get booted into a rooted ROM, you would be able to connect to adb over Wi-Fi, but without being able to flash a rooted ROM, I don't think there's anything you can do.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene12517

Maybe I can recreate all the partitions on the phone? Is there a guide on how to do that properly?

Partitions:
Followings are a list of partitions on your android phone.

misc - misc partition -
recovery - Recovery Partition - This is where the original HTC recovery or Amon Ra's recovery or any other Recovery would go. Basically if you reboot into recovery it'll boot from here.
boot - This is your boot partition
system - This is where all your system information (ROM resides)
cache - cache (When you factory reset the phone, this area is wiped)
userdata - user data (like your login, your user settings etc) When you factory reset the phone, this area is wiped)

Your problem is likely due to corruption, which flashing the misc partition should help to correct. But, you can't do that without adb, so your back to what I said above.

I don't know if there's anything you can do, to be honest.

P.S. adb doesn't work over fastboot.
The Following User Says Thank You to Captain_Throwback For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th March 2012, 10:58 PM   |  #18  
OP Junior Member
Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
UPDATE:

Before giving up I searched the internet again and found this.
http://forum.ppcgeeks.com/htc-evo-3d...-relocked.html

Procedure:
1. Enter FASTBOOT, and then connect to your computer (FASTBOOT USB will be shown)
2. Open command prompt in your computer
3. Relock your device by typing "fastboot oem lock" (you should know what is this if you HTC-unlock your phone before), the device will reboot.
4. Enter FASTBOOT again (you will see *** RELOCKED ***)
5. Apply the RUU
6. You device will be stocked

Note: The device must be relocked in order to apply the RUU.

I then ran the latest RUU and was getting very excited.......After 53% I got an error. Pulled the USB cord and saw the attachment. Reran RUU and got the same error. Turned the phone on and the only thing I see is a black background with HTC in the middle and four triangles in the corners.

Any suggestions?
Attached Files
File Type: rar IMG_20120307_172631.rar - [Click for QR Code] (1.09 MB, 16 views)
8th March 2012, 04:04 AM   |  #19  
OP Junior Member
Brooklyn
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I cant get back to unlocked now since its stuck in the RUU screen and the fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_code.bin does not bring up the GUI on the phone....

Damn, this is complicated.
8th March 2012, 04:38 AM   |  #20  
-EViL-KoNCEPTz-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Tampa Bay area
Thanks Meter: 3,496
 
6,230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
More
Sounds like it might be time for a replacement

We are legion, for we are many

Sent from my Anonymous DeathStar in the depths of GalaXy S2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes