5,596,784 Members 48,471 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[KERNEL][GPL]2013-03-02 b24 motley kernel for the Prime (4.2.2 alpha)

Tip us?
 
benefit14snake
Old
#111  
benefit14snake's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 812
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Henrico, VA
74c is not terrible. It depends on the silicone, alot of higher end gpus run 85+ stock. I'm not sure the upper limit of the 40nm process this chip is based off but 74 is out of my comfort zone. 60 or so would be ideal. Does anyone know how the heatsink on this device is setup? Can we mod it?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
 
jermaine151
Old
#112  
jermaine151's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 3277
Posts: 3,946
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Columbus, Ohio

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by benefit14snake View Post
74c is not terrible. It depends on the silicone, alot of higher end gpus run 85+ stock. I'm not sure the upper limit of the 40nm process this chip is based off but 74 is out of my comfort zone. 60 or so would be ideal. Does anyone know how the heatsink on this device is setup? Can we mod it?

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
It's terrible enough to make it shut down. Mine stays around 40C when I'm using the tablet.
You can find me @jdlogan151
 
marko!
Old
#113  
marko!'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 360
Posts: 755
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Halifax

 
DONATE TO ME
Any chance this supports init.d ?

sent from my Transformer Prime
 
PapaSmurf6768
Old
(Last edited by PapaSmurf6768; 14th March 2012 at 02:19 AM.)
#114  
PapaSmurf6768's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 221
Join Date: Jul 2011
Reporting back from before, turns out atp tweak was the problem. I unchecked enable deadline at boot and was able to boot right up and run some benchmarks at 1.7ghz. Then I opened up atp tweak just for fun and my tab immediately rebooted. So I'd add to the op that people need to uninstall or atleast disable Atp tweak.
Sent from my ROOTED Transformer Prime
Verizon HTC One S-Off and Rooted
 
PapaSmurf6768
Old
#115  
PapaSmurf6768's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 221
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by marko! View Post
Any chance this supports init.d ?

sent from my Transformer Prime
Also, plus 1 on this.

Sent from my ROOTED Transformer Prime
Verizon HTC One S-Off and Rooted
 
SfinxSoft
Old
#116  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 20
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Odessa
Quote:
It is strange that Antutu can't get past the 2d/3d tests. Something doesn't sound right there.
It never does even in stock kernel - seems like the antutu bug, I do not bother.

Quote:
This temp is being reported by the driver for NCT1008 (nct1008.c), a temperature monitoring device from ON Semiconductors. It appears that a thermal shutdown was triggered. EDP will throttle your clock down starting at a certain temp and then thermal shutdown will occur at a max temp.
It is clear - I'd like the people to know/distinguish the 'reboot/freeze' event that caused by thermal shutdown or by chipset overclock instability. This means that true 1.8Ghz can be possibly achieved with some additional cooling
 
benefit14snake
Old
#117  
benefit14snake's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 812
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Henrico, VA
Quote:
Originally Posted by SfinxSoft View Post
It never does even in stock kernel - seems like the antutu bug, I do not bother.



It is clear - I'd like the people to know/distinguish the 'reboot/freeze' event that caused by thermal shutdown or by chipset overclock instability. This means that true 1.8Ghz can be possibly achieved with some additional cooling
Where is prime95 when you need it? Lol

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk
 
_motley
Old
#118  
_motley's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2406
Posts: 858
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by marko! View Post
Any chance this supports init.d ?

sent from my Transformer Prime
Sure, this should be easy to addto the init.rc within the included initramfs in the next version.

For example:
Code:
...
exec /sbin/sysinit.rc
class_start default
...
Then, you would be required to provide your own sysinit.rc or the ROM will already have it setup somewhere. I will check some custom ROMs to see what path/naming convention they are using.




Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaSmurf6768 View Post
Reporting back from before, turns out atp tweak was the problem. I unchecked enable deadline at boot and was able to boot right up and run some benchmarks at 1.7ghz. Then I opened up atp tweak just for fun and my tab immediately rebooted. So I'd add to the op that people need to uninstall or atleast disable Atlanta tweak.
Sent from my ROOTED Transformer Prime
Thanks for reporting back Papa. I have updated the OP with this info under requirements.
Nexus 4 (my custom kernel for the 4 click here)
Nexus 7 (my custom kernel for the 7 click here) -Thx to fordwolden, the most generous guy on XDA!
Transformer Prime (my custom kernel for the Prime click here)

Always have your stuff when you need it with Dropbox. 2GB account is free! Use this LINK and you and I both get 500MB extra free
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to _motley For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
newellj79
Old
#119  
newellj79's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 2,037
Join Date: Jan 2011
I've been trying to keep tabs on my clock speed, just for kicks. Its seems that when I'm set to 1.7 using the interactive governor, I almost never hit 1300, 1400, 1500, or 1600. It's not a problem by any means, I'm just curious if it was designed to be like this. I don't know anything about kernels, other than how to install them. And by the way this one is working great. Really hoping for a 1.8 my temp seem to be fine.




Edit.. whoa, first time I've ever posted a pic. Didn't intend for it to be so big...
 
benefit14snake
Old
#120  
benefit14snake's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 812
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Henrico, VA
Interestingly enough I did try this with the new build of the aokp rom and it works marvelously! ! Quite a bit smoother than the kernel they have packaged with the rom. The only problem is wifi doesn't work! Lol ill probably flash back to virtuous when the new build comes out and use this kernel.

Great work!

Sent from my Transformer Prime using Tapatalk

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes