Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,741,628 Members 41,226 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

where is the resolv.conf

Tip us?
 
ari197
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jakarta
Default where is the resolv.conf

I'm trying to create a tunnel so that I could bypass my company proxy when connected to their WiFi .. I've managed to do that now the problem is the name resolution..

I know in Linux we have the /etc/resolv.conf to tell the system which DNS to use, I couldn't find the same file on our Atrix2. I've created one in /system/etc but I don't think the ROM is following that file ..
 
wods
Old
(Last edited by wods; 6th March 2012 at 09:53 AM.)
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2011
you can try proxydroid. It has DNS proxy option, which may works for you.

But if you just want to change DNS setting, you can manually configure static IP and DNS address in waln setting.
Sent from my MB865 using XDA
 
ari197
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jakarta
hmm .. I couldn't find how to configure IP and DNS manually on my WiFi setting ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by wods View Post

But if you just want to change DNS setting, you can manually configure static IP and DNS address in waln setting.
Sent from my MB865 using XDA
 
mtnlion
Old
#4  
mtnlion's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 313
Posts: 805
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: in the mountains of south east tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by ari197 View Post
hmm .. I couldn't find how to configure IP and DNS manually on my WiFi setting ..
wireless - wireless settings - menu - advanced settings
 
ari197
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jakarta
hmm .. than it'll affect all wifi connection .. plus, I need to manually insert IP, Netmask and GWs .. all I want is to change the DNS ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnlion View Post
wireless - wireless settings - menu - advanced settings
 
wods
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jan 2011
You can try "DNS setting" app, it can input the dhcp IP address for you.
But I'm not sure if the name is right.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA
 
ari197
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 241
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Jakarta
Thanks .. it works

I'm using "DNS Change" from the market ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wods View Post
You can try "DNS setting" app, it can input the dhcp IP address for you.
But I'm not sure if the name is right.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Monitor What Your Phone’s Camera Sees with Android Wear

Having a smart device strapped to your wrist certainly has its merits. A … more

Mod Lets You Have Stereo Speakers on Your Sony Xperia Z1 (Sort Of)

The stereo speakers onthe Sony Xperia Z2areprobably a relatively large … more

Give Your Screen Some Color with HexaTime Live Wallpaper

We don’t often cover very many live wallpapers here on the XDA Portal. You may … more

Android Wear App Review: Command Google Now with Commandr – XDA Developer TV

OK Google. Make Me a sandwich. How many times have you … more