FORUMS

Galaxy S6 & Edge get €100 Price Cut—New Models Incoming

Samsung has dropped the price of both the Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge by … more

How To Port Fully Featured Sony Xperia Z4 Camera

Xperia Z4’s hardware may not impress, but its software is definitely … more

Experimental TWRP Available For Moto G 2015

XDA Senior Member squid2 has posted experimental builds of TWRP for the Moto G … more

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

where is the resolv.conf

269 posts
Thanks Meter: 9
 
By ari197, Senior Member on 6th March 2012, 07:32 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I'm trying to create a tunnel so that I could bypass my company proxy when connected to their WiFi .. I've managed to do that now the problem is the name resolution..

I know in Linux we have the /etc/resolv.conf to tell the system which DNS to use, I couldn't find the same file on our Atrix2. I've created one in /system/etc but I don't think the ROM is following that file ..
 
 
6th March 2012, 09:46 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
you can try proxydroid. It has DNS proxy option, which may works for you.

But if you just want to change DNS setting, you can manually configure static IP and DNS address in waln setting.
Sent from my MB865 using XDA
Last edited by wods; 6th March 2012 at 09:53 AM.
6th March 2012, 01:32 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
hmm .. I couldn't find how to configure IP and DNS manually on my WiFi setting ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by wods


But if you just want to change DNS setting, you can manually configure static IP and DNS address in waln setting.
Sent from my MB865 using XDA

6th March 2012, 08:15 PM |#4  
mtnlion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag in the mountains of south east tennessee
Thanks Meter: 334
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ari197

hmm .. I couldn't find how to configure IP and DNS manually on my WiFi setting ..

wireless - wireless settings - menu - advanced settings
7th March 2012, 07:47 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
hmm .. than it'll affect all wifi connection .. plus, I need to manually insert IP, Netmask and GWs .. all I want is to change the DNS ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnlion

wireless - wireless settings - menu - advanced settings

7th March 2012, 01:16 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
You can try "DNS setting" app, it can input the dhcp IP address for you.
But I'm not sure if the name is right.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA
8th March 2012, 08:41 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Thanks .. it works

I'm using "DNS Change" from the market ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wods

You can try "DNS setting" app, it can input the dhcp IP address for you.
But I'm not sure if the name is right.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes