What Do You Do with All of Your Old Photos?

Smartphone cameras have advanced so tremendously over the past few years that they have … more

Diving into the April 2015 Material Design Update

Before the release of Android 5.0 Lollipop, the Holo Design guidelines served as the … more

New Cyanogen Partnerships Bring Privacy Concerns

New Privacy concerns have emerged regarding Cyanogen’s latest announcements, … more

PSA: Google Play Services Wakelock Affects Many 5.x ROMs

Wakelocks are the bane of the battery conscious, and this wakelock bug has been … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

where is the resolv.conf

6th March 2012, 07:32 AM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 8
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
I'm trying to create a tunnel so that I could bypass my company proxy when connected to their WiFi .. I've managed to do that now the problem is the name resolution..

I know in Linux we have the /etc/resolv.conf to tell the system which DNS to use, I couldn't find the same file on our Atrix2. I've created one in /system/etc but I don't think the ROM is following that file ..
 
 
6th March 2012, 09:46 AM |#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
you can try proxydroid. It has DNS proxy option, which may works for you.

But if you just want to change DNS setting, you can manually configure static IP and DNS address in waln setting.
Sent from my MB865 using XDA
Last edited by wods; 6th March 2012 at 09:53 AM.
6th March 2012, 01:32 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 8
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
hmm .. I couldn't find how to configure IP and DNS manually on my WiFi setting ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by wods


But if you just want to change DNS setting, you can manually configure static IP and DNS address in waln setting.
Sent from my MB865 using XDA

6th March 2012, 08:15 PM |#4  
mtnlion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag in the mountains of south east tennessee
Thanks Meter: 333
 
834 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ari197

hmm .. I couldn't find how to configure IP and DNS manually on my WiFi setting ..

wireless - wireless settings - menu - advanced settings
7th March 2012, 07:47 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 8
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
hmm .. than it'll affect all wifi connection .. plus, I need to manually insert IP, Netmask and GWs .. all I want is to change the DNS ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnlion

wireless - wireless settings - menu - advanced settings

7th March 2012, 01:16 PM |#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
You can try "DNS setting" app, it can input the dhcp IP address for you.
But I'm not sure if the name is right.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA
8th March 2012, 08:41 AM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 8
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Thanks .. it works

I'm using "DNS Change" from the market ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wods

You can try "DNS setting" app, it can input the dhcp IP address for you.
But I'm not sure if the name is right.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes