Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

where is the resolv.conf

OP ari197

6th March 2012, 08:32 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 8
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
I'm trying to create a tunnel so that I could bypass my company proxy when connected to their WiFi .. I've managed to do that now the problem is the name resolution..

I know in Linux we have the /etc/resolv.conf to tell the system which DNS to use, I couldn't find the same file on our Atrix2. I've created one in /system/etc but I don't think the ROM is following that file ..
6th March 2012, 10:46 AM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
you can try proxydroid. It has DNS proxy option, which may works for you.

But if you just want to change DNS setting, you can manually configure static IP and DNS address in waln setting.
Sent from my MB865 using XDA
Last edited by wods; 6th March 2012 at 10:53 AM.
6th March 2012, 02:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 8
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
hmm .. I couldn't find how to configure IP and DNS manually on my WiFi setting ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by wods


But if you just want to change DNS setting, you can manually configure static IP and DNS address in waln setting.
Sent from my MB865 using XDA

6th March 2012, 09:15 PM   |  #4  
mtnlion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag in the mountains of south east tennessee
Thanks Meter: 326
 
822 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ari197

hmm .. I couldn't find how to configure IP and DNS manually on my WiFi setting ..

wireless - wireless settings - menu - advanced settings
7th March 2012, 08:47 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 8
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
hmm .. than it'll affect all wifi connection .. plus, I need to manually insert IP, Netmask and GWs .. all I want is to change the DNS ..

Quote:
Originally Posted by mtnlion

wireless - wireless settings - menu - advanced settings

7th March 2012, 02:16 PM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
You can try "DNS setting" app, it can input the dhcp IP address for you.
But I'm not sure if the name is right.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA
8th March 2012, 09:41 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 8
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Thanks .. it works

I'm using "DNS Change" from the market ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by wods

You can try "DNS setting" app, it can input the dhcp IP address for you.
But I'm not sure if the name is right.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes