Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[INFO]Please download Latest/Official CWM v5.8.2.0

OP mtotho

6th March 2012, 07:09 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lambertville, NJ or Burlington, VT
Thanks Meter: 105
 
360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
A preface:
This is neither development or a question. This is simply an informative post that needs to be in the development section to save many users issues. (also most people looking for custom roms dont look in general section)

I did not create this.

New official CWM v5.8.2.0 (link below)

A few of us have confirmed that it now properly backs up and restores the boot.img
This Helps with the following issues
-Possibly fixes bricks (by properly restoring boot.img)
-Correctly comes with Staging/System unmounted
-Nandroid Restores properly the boot.img (of backups created with this CWM). This means no more issues when restoring a Rom if you are coming from another from (for example, if you are restoring Virtuous after wiping cm9)

Additionally:
-Backups are now about 10x faster
-Restores are a bit faster (not as dramatic as backups)

Still no go:
-External SD Card (Pretty sure)
-Reboot into recovery (probably a software issue within OS anyway)


Manual install:Here is the link to the file if you prefer to manually install (EASY WAY BELOW) -Must have unlocked bootloader
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByFugu

http://download.clockworkmod.com/rec....2.0-tf201.img

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dexter_nlb

it IS a blob file, i checked it.. the guy just forgot to name it blob, instead of .img

Just rename to .blob and follow these instructions http://androidroot.mobi/2012/02/22/i...sformer-prime/

------




Easy Install -Must have unlocked bootloader.
Use Rom Manager:
Install Rom Manager from the market -> Open -> First Option: 'Flash ClockworkMod Recovery'-> Done.

This can be done over your current CWM (if you installed it via ViperMod) or manually)

If you have issues installing via RM try this
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiftks

I had the same issue, when I first tried to install CWM via Rom Manager.
I solved it by installing the version that installs via the Prime Time Root program. Then installed the Rom Manger version without a hitch.

I think he is referring to this THREAD/Tool
or
Quote:
Originally Posted by huynhc

you need to update the superuser binary. open the superuser app and go to the top right wrench icon. click it and scroll down to "Su Binary x.xx" click it to update, do it a couple times for good measure. re-install rom manager after uninstalling it from market. open it up and try again.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using xda premium


Sent from my Droid Incredible (using one of them app things)


I take Zero Credit, just trying to be informative
Quote:
Originally Posted by credits

Credits:
Androidroot.mobi guys for porting the original CWM (and basically giving something for koush to look at)
CWM Team for adding to it
Anyone else who has contributed

moderators:

This is no more or no less development than this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1510983

This cwm is more up to date and will prevent many end users from making the mistake of installing an outdated version. These 2 threads can (and should) be merged as long as the thread title has the latest CWM in it and the OP has some information regarding it.

Thanks

-Mike
Last edited by mtotho; 8th March 2012 at 09:44 AM.
The Following 15 Users Say Thank You to mtotho For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2012, 07:15 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Hooksett
Thanks Meter: 29
 
527 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
cool...so this wont mess with any backups already made or any ROMs that we have already flashed?
Sorry for the noob type question, just want to be sure
6th March 2012, 07:16 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lambertville, NJ or Burlington, VT
Thanks Meter: 105
 
360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreginNH

cool...so this wont mess with any backups already made or any ROMs that we have already flashed?
Sorry for the noob type question, just want to be sure

It should not. all my previous ones are there after flashing in RM

Though: I dont think it will retroactively fix the boot.img restore and backup issue :P meaning, you should probably make new backups if you want to be able to restore the kernel properly in the future
The Following User Says Thank You to mtotho For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2012, 07:39 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
So since I'm n00bish, what's the best way to do this?
6th March 2012, 07:41 PM   |  #5  
Member
Southern California
Thanks Meter: 0
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulctcher

So since I'm n00bish, what's the best way to do this?

Same here, how do we properly update from this .img file?
Last edited by JWallstreet; 6th March 2012 at 07:52 PM.
6th March 2012, 07:46 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lambertville, NJ or Burlington, VT
Thanks Meter: 105
 
360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JWallstreet

Same here, how do your properly update from this .img file?

Download Rom Manager from the market and hit 'install recovery' at the top
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mtotho For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2012, 07:49 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by mtotho

Download Rom Manager from the market and hit 'install recovery' at the top

Simple and excellent. Worked like a charm. Thumbs up to you, sir!
6th March 2012, 07:55 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag Lambertville, NJ or Burlington, VT
Thanks Meter: 105
 
360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by soulctcher

Simple and excellent. Worked like a charm. Thumbs up to you, sir!

Your welcome.

Thumbs up to the CWM team for finally releasing a more working recovery.
Thumbs up to "DeathByFugu" who brought it to my attention in IRC.
Thumbs up to those who tested with me and confirmed it was working as it should (DeathByFugu, youngex/tg3x)
The Following User Says Thank You to mtotho For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th March 2012, 07:56 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
267 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Just ran a backup and it was definitely quicker than the last 2 that I made.
6th March 2012, 07:57 PM   |  #10  
ATGAdmin's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Western NY State
Thanks Meter: 1,048
 
1,368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quick question...can we now flash from external SD in this update? Or is it still "half done"?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes