Post Reply

MMS fix for Virgin Mobile Epic 4g CM7 & CM9

OP brooksyx

11th February 2012, 12:55 AM   |  #1  
brooksyx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, WA
Thanks Meter: 470
 
1,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
First of all I would like to say thanks to the Cyanogenmod Dev Team for developing CM7 & CM9, thanks to the Epic CM7/CM9 Dev team for porting CM7 & CM9 to the epic, thanks to JerryScript for helping me find the necessary framework.jar changes, thanks to the Moto Triumph CM9 team for creating the needed file change, and thanks to Shinydude100 for writing the guide on how to port the Epic to Virgin Mobile.

This fix is for the Epic CM9 port, found here:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1473012

Here is the thread describing porting the Epic to Virgin Mobile:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1404270

Attached to the bottom of this page is an CWM updater.zip for CM9, flash this after every CM9 update you install. If you do a wipe and restore your data flash this fix AFTER you restore your data as the fix deletes the telephony.db file from the data partition, which stores the APN values. This causes your phone to read the apns-conf.xml and write the correct Virgin Mobile values to the telephony.db on the next boot up.

Please report if you have any issues related to MMS or Virgin Mobile stuff. However if they are bugs related to the roms please post in the rom specific thread.
Epic CM9 MMS fix mirror:
http://www.mediafire.com/?e2iq0i5inseec19

Epic CM7 7.2.0 RC2 MMS Fix (Will only work with 7.2.0 RC2:
http://www.mediafire.com/?avak7ybblao2344

If this fix helps you please drop me a thanks and if you can spare a few bucks please donate to the Epic CM9 developer fund: http://epiccm.blogspot.com/p/about-epic-cm.html
Also people please stop messaging asking will I fix this rom or that rom for you. No I will not! I only use CM9 and dont care about other roms. If you want MMS working on those roms figure out how to fix it yourself. You might learn something in the process.
Attached Files
File Type: zip VMEpicCM9MmsFix.zip - [Click for QR Code] (127.5 KB, 502 views)
Last edited by brooksyx; 4th August 2012 at 06:12 PM.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to brooksyx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th February 2012, 12:57 AM   |  #2  
ksmullins88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Detroit, MI
Thanks Meter: 1,214
 
1,865 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
First! This is awesome.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
11th February 2012, 01:10 AM   |  #3  
brooksyx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, WA
Thanks Meter: 470
 
1,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ksmullins88

First! This is awesome.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App

Thanks, I hope this works for everyone.
11th February 2012, 06:22 AM   |  #4  
flastnoles11's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag columbia
Thanks Meter: 4,681
 
8,364 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by brooksyx

Thanks, I hope this works for everyone.

Great job man! Looks like its time to get my mom off of boost and flash her over to VM!!! Thanks for all the work you put into this!

Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk
11th February 2012, 06:42 AM   |  #5  
brooksyx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, WA
Thanks Meter: 470
 
1,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
No problem. Glad its working for all you guys. Tomorrow I plan on putting together a flashable zip that should work with all the nightlies.
11th February 2012, 12:06 PM   |  #6  
usagi111's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 15
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
One question, did you solve the Dialer Code (ie. ##DATA#) issue that was found on the original Epic 4G CM ROMS?...to my knowledge this was still a no-go...
11th February 2012, 06:30 PM   |  #7  
brooksyx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, WA
Thanks Meter: 470
 
1,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
I wouldn't consider that a bug. More like just a missing feature. Plus one can still dial *#*#data#*#* to view data settings, just can't edit them. But just install clean gb, edit your settings, and flash to a cm rom. Problem solved.

Anyways I made no changers to either of these roms other than edit a couple Java and XML files.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA App
12th February 2012, 04:39 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag brazil
Thanks Meter: 4
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Just used this to do CM7 for the Evo 4g thanks homie. Been dreaming of this day for a long time!!!
12th February 2012, 05:12 AM   |  #9  
k0nane's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag 127.0.0.1
Thanks Meter: 3,768
 
3,981 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
OP, you may want to post a flashable mod, rather than a full ROM, to better keep up with changes upstream. The wholesale kang (beneath your changes) seems a bit unorthodox to me.
Last edited by k0nane; 12th February 2012 at 05:19 AM.
12th February 2012, 05:51 AM   |  #10  
brooksyx's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Vancouver, WA
Thanks Meter: 470
 
1,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by k0nane

OP, you may want to post a flashable mod, rather than a full ROM, to better keep up with changes upstream. The wholesale kang (beneath your changes) seems a bit unorthodox to me.

I agree. I plan on doing that for future updates. Also it would seem that for most updates there wont be any changes to the framework.jar and build.prop. And the apns-conf.xml will never change. Thought for the initial release would have a whole rom for people just to make things easy. Also I need to figure out how to make flashable zips

Also not trying to take credit for these roms. Hopefully people realize that in the OP.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
epic, mms, virgin mobile
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Epic 4G Android Development by ThreadRank