LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Red face How to root Gateway TP A60 (Futureshop A500 Version)

OP chaton78

8th February 2012, 04:04 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Hi,

I just want to share with the community. If you want to root a Gateway TP A60, follow the timmyDean's method from XDA but before starting, update Version.cfg file:
Line:
[PRODUCT]
1 = A500

to
[PRODUCT]
1 = TPA60W

Enjoy!

Chaton
The Following User Says Thank You to chaton78 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th February 2012, 04:15 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
This works? I upgraded mine to 3.2 before rooting it, silly me.. and have been looking for a way to do it.
10th February 2012, 06:10 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Well, it worked on mine after I accepted the latest update (last week of January).

You may have to install Gateway USB driver first. I don't know if it changed something but I did it before trying to update my tablet.
10th February 2012, 08:22 PM   |  #4  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,217
 
7,435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaton78

Hi,

I just want to share with the community. If you want to root a Gateway TP A60, follow the timmyDean's method from XDA but before starting, update Version.cfg file:
Line:
[PRODUCT]
1 = A500

to
[PRODUCT]
1 = TPA60W

Enjoy!

Chaton

Good info to know. Gotta give a little love to Gateway.
25th September 2012, 07:43 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Angry Turn your Gateway A60 into an Acer Iconia 500 and get ICS
For those of you who have a Gateway TPA60W (Acer Iconia A500 clone) and are desperate to get Ice Cream Sandwich, the way I was able to do it was to follow timmydean's method here to root the Acer A500.

Once you do that, your Gateway A60W will effectively become an Acer A500 and the only evidence left that it was ever a gateway tablet is the logo on the back cover. (Everything, firmware, device name, model number, splash screen when you boot, color scheme, etc will all list Acer as the manufacturer.)

After that step is accomplished, go to Google Play, download and install the Acer Upgrade tool that is necessary to get the ICS update. Once that is installed, go back to settings and check for a system update. You should then be able to download and install the official Acer ICS upgrade without issue.

Works like a charm.

But, as always, back up first!
20th October 2012, 08:31 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Thanks! I just used timmyDean's method with the instructions in the OP to flash an A60. ICS update running now.
25th October 2012, 12:01 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Flag Dalmas
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Unhappy TPA60
I use the timmyDean's method to upgrade my TPA60 but it does not work it still jam after entering my serial. I tried 4 time and it still do the same .
Can someone tell me what happend ?
27th October 2012, 06:52 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Did you make sure to add a 0 before the serial number string?
3rd November 2012, 08:18 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 8
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Hey, I'm planning to root my dad's Gateway A60 and update it to ICS. Once I flash the device and get the 'P A S S' message on the tablet, what should I do next? Install BusyBox and SU tools, then Backdoor tool, then turn OTA off? Do I have to even do all that other stuff just to update it to ICS?
5th November 2012, 09:09 AM   |  #10  
Moscow Desire's Avatar
Senior Moderator - Resident Troll Killer
Flag Somewhere in a Deep Cave on the Troll Kings Throne
Thanks Meter: 6,217
 
7,435 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rhodan486

I use the timmyDean's method to upgrade my TPA60 but it does not work it still jam after entering my serial. I tried 4 time and it still do the same .
Can someone tell me what happend ?

It's not a serial number. It's supposed to be the uid number. There's an app with the tool that gets your uid.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes