Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM][KANG][16.07.2012] CyanogenMod 9 Milestone XT720 RC

OP fjfalcon

5th April 2012, 10:08 AM   |  #361  
opiswahn's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
179 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
More
Does WiFi Tethering work with this Rom??
5th April 2012, 10:19 AM   |  #362  
telnet777's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Hi,fjfalcon,

Thanks for your help! Thanks Mioze7Ae too!

I've build this rom successfully. (gcc and g++ version is to high to build this rom, I use gcc 4.4 and g++ 4.4 now.)The rom's name is CyanogenMod-9.0.0-RC0-sholest-UNOFFICIAL-20120405-signed.zip.

Have you renamed this rom replacing "UNOFFICIAL" with "KANG"?

After "repo sync", I use "repo start XT711 --all" to start a new branch. Can I keep update with your rom by using "repo sync" now? If I edited some files, will "repo sync" overwrite the file that I edited?
The Following User Says Thank You to telnet777 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2012, 05:42 PM   |  #363  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 342
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
http://source.android.com/source/version-control.html

not 100% sure, but repo sync should/can revert your source tree to the upstream one...

just test (it is safe, as you have strarted your own branches, hope you have commit your changes through...)

then say for example you have made changes to device/motorola/sholest ...

after repo sync just go there and examine with

git log

if your changes are there.. if not you can
git checkout yourbranch

and

git merge upstream/branch (for example git merge github/ics)
The Following User Says Thank You to peshovec For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th April 2012, 06:28 PM   |  #364  
Mioze7Ae's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Queen City of the West
Thanks Meter: 2,096
 
2,153 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by telnet777

After "repo sync", I use "repo start XT711 --all" to start a new branch. Can I keep update with your rom by using "repo sync" now? If I edited some files, will "repo sync" overwrite the file that I edited?

After you've done "repo start XT711 --all" then repo will automatically do a "git rebase" to all your changes after "repo sync". This means that changes you made to the older version are automatically converted into changes made to the current version.

"git rebase" is different from a "git pull" -- git pull fetches and merges changes from upstream to the end of your commits so your commits get mixed in with the changes upstream. "git rebase" instead reorders your changes and rewrites them so that your local commits and modifications are always last. This is what you want 99.9995% of the time and it's great that repo does this automatically. But it only does this if you tell repo that you're working in those directories (that's what repo start does). In fact, you can't even do a git commit to repositories unless you repo start them because they don't have the branches setup (don't set them up yourself using git commands--very bad idea--use repo start).

If you don't do "repo start" repo assumes that changes in those repositories are accidental file corruption that needs to be repaired. *This* is the case where repo will delete your changes.

If you want to go back to no changes, you can do a "repo abandon" (not sure if --all works there or not) and then if you're really paranoid delete all the directories and files *except* for .repo and then run repo sync and you will get a pristine checkout.
Last edited by Mioze7Ae; 5th April 2012 at 06:41 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Mioze7Ae For This Useful Post: [ View ]
6th April 2012, 04:42 AM   |  #365  
mchlbenner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 519
 
1,792 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
try this cm9 bootanimation is great
Link fixed
Attached Files
File Type: zip bootanimation.zip - [Click for QR Code] (3.99 MB, 37 views)
Last edited by mchlbenner; 6th April 2012 at 02:20 PM.
6th April 2012, 05:43 AM   |  #366  
Senior Member
Flag china
Thanks Meter: 44
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchlbenner

try this cm9 bootanimation is great

I cant download ? the file only 500B?
6th April 2012, 08:00 AM   |  #367  
telnet777's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
133 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwxddlqkillapp

I cant download ? the file only 500B?

I can't download too. There is a error "404 Page Not Found".

---------- Post added at 07:00 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:36 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by peshovec

http://source.android.com/source/version-control.html

not 100% sure, but repo sync should/can revert your source tree to the upstream one...

just test (it is safe, as you have strarted your own branches, hope you have commit your changes through...)

then say for example you have made changes to device/motorola/sholest ...

after repo sync just go there and examine with

git log

if your changes are there.. if not you can
git checkout yourbranch

and

git merge upstream/branch (for example git merge github/ics)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mioze7Ae

After you've done "repo start XT711 --all" then repo will automatically do a "git rebase" to all your changes after "repo sync". This means that changes you made to the older version are automatically converted into changes made to the current version.

"git rebase" is different from a "git pull" -- git pull fetches and merges changes from upstream to the end of your commits so your commits get mixed in with the changes upstream. "git rebase" instead reorders your changes and rewrites them so that your local commits and modifications are always last. This is what you want 99.9995% of the time and it's great that repo does this automatically. But it only does this if you tell repo that you're working in those directories (that's what repo start does). In fact, you can't even do a git commit to repositories unless you repo start them because they don't have the branches setup (don't set them up yourself using git commands--very bad idea--use repo start).

If you don't do "repo start" repo assumes that changes in those repositories are accidental file corruption that needs to be repaired. *This* is the case where repo will delete your changes.

If you want to go back to no changes, you can do a "repo abandon" (not sure if --all works there or not) and then if you're really paranoid delete all the directories and files *except* for .repo and then run repo sync and you will get a pristine checkout.


Thank you for your reply. I can't understand all of these at the moment. But I'll make it clear later.
6th April 2012, 12:36 PM   |  #368  
Senior Member
Flag china
Thanks Meter: 44
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
please help me! thanks !
Attached Files
File Type: txt 720.log.txt - [Click for QR Code] (64.2 KB, 11 views)
6th April 2012, 01:37 PM   |  #369  
mchlbenner's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 519
 
1,792 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwxddlqkillapp

I cant download ? the file only 500B?

Ok don't know it did it I will redo it.
Link fixed.

Sent from my XT720 using xda premium
Last edited by mchlbenner; 6th April 2012 at 01:54 PM.
6th April 2012, 01:42 PM   |  #370  
Senior Member
Flag china
Thanks Meter: 44
 
120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchlbenner

Ok don't know it did it I will redo it.

Sent from my XT720 using xda premium

How about you porting

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes