Microsoft Band Fitness Tracker Announced, Available

The wearable market has been around for a few years, with Pebble and Samsung smartwatches … more

Forums Added for the Oppo R5, Oppo N3, and Xiaomi Redmi Note

Just yesterday, Oppo unveiled a pair of rather unique smartphones, the Oppo … more

How to Play Music From Android Wear – XDA TV

Yesterday, we showed you how to do some advanced things with your Moto 360 quite easily … more

Google Updates Play Games, Wallet, Docs, Sheets, Slides, Drive, Google+, and Camera

While we haven’t really had much in the way of … more
Post Reply

[Q] ClockworkMod Recovery Mode HELP!

OP argonarcel

11th March 2012, 12:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Can anyone help link me or teach me how to set up my phone to get into Clockwork Mod Recovery mode? whenever i try to reboot into Clockwork, it just boots into 3e recovery. I have an AT&T Samsung Captivate with stock 2.3.5 Gingerbread rooted and i have already flashed the latest version of ClockworkMod Recovery (2.5.1.2)
I want to overclock my captivate but i cant unless i can get ClockworkMod Recovery to work
11th March 2012, 12:34 AM   |  #2  
bornjamerican's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Try flashing a rom with CWM already baked into it.
And PLEASE DO NOT use ROM Manager. It doesn't work on the Captivate.
Sent from my SGH-I897 using XDA
Last edited by bornjamerican; 11th March 2012 at 12:37 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to bornjamerican For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2012, 12:40 AM   |  #3  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,778
 
4,682 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by argonarcel

Can anyone help link me or teach me how to set up my phone to get into Clockwork Mod Recovery mode? whenever i try to reboot into Clockwork, it just boots into 3e recovery. I have an AT&T Samsung Captivate with stock 2.3.5 Gingerbread rooted and i have already flashed the latest version of ClockworkMod Recovery (2.5.1.2)
I want to overclock my captivate but i cant unless i can get ClockworkMod Recovery to work

FFS... you are using rom manager.. it hasnt supported captivate since 2.1 eclair.
2.5 clockwork is nowhere near the latest. at version 5 now.


and when rom manager used to work, you boot into 3e recovery then select install update.zip TWICE. (every time)
THEN you will boot into CWM.


**but you arent on android 2.1 so it will error out. then you are going to create another thread for a question that has been answered a million times already.


why do you need clockwork to overclock your phone??? (you dont)
might want to learn what stickies are and go read them for a few days before you F%%% up your phone predominantly. read the new user guide while you are at it.
11th March 2012, 01:02 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=762171
this is what i am trying to do. I just got into ClockworkMod Recovery somehow but now i cant get out. It keeps looping between the at&t screen and CWM
Any suggestions? or should i reflash the stock rom for 2.3
Last edited by argonarcel; 11th March 2012 at 01:05 AM.
11th March 2012, 01:06 AM   |  #5  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,778
 
4,682 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
august 2010... do you think that works on gingerbread when it was released before froyo was released??

i told you to read before you **** up your phone. are we going to listen now?
11th March 2012, 01:09 AM   |  #6  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,778
 
4,682 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1294477


flash this kernel .tar with odin

or in CWM (now) go to Mounts and Storage > Mount USB > (plug phone into PC)
copy over the .zip kernel from the thread, then unmount > back > flash zip from sdcard > choose corn kernel.zip
11th March 2012, 01:23 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
In odin, do i flash as PDA, Bootloader, etc?
im a bit new to this, so i dont no all these fancy pancy stuff :P
11th March 2012, 03:18 AM   |  #8  
dheeraj (dhlalit11)'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag fatehabad (hry)
Thanks Meter: 1,451
 
2,447 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by argonarcel

In odin, do i flash as PDA, Bootloader, etc?
im a bit new to this, so i dont no all these fancy pancy stuff :P

if you are flashing a kernel then it will go in PDA section but if you are flashing stock 2.3 fw then all the files will go to their respective places
12th November 2012, 02:16 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Should I use this link for Captivate with 2.3.4?
Hi,
You told a guy who was trying to get clockwordmod recovery on his captivate, to use this:

[KERNEL][KK4][1/28/11] Corn Kernel v7.06 from Source (OC, BLN, Voodoo Sound, etc.)

Should I also take that advice? I want to put AOKP on the phone, but I have to get clockwork on there first and the normal way doesn't work because of the 3e recovery unsigned business. Thank you much for your expertise and for being a great help to everybody.

-Bob


Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1294477


flash this kernel .tar with odin

or in CWM (now) go to Mounts and Storage > Mount USB > (plug phone into PC)
copy over the .zip kernel from the thread, then unmount > back > flash zip from sdcard > choose corn kernel.zip


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
captivate, clockworkmod, flash, overclock, recovery
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes