True Silent Mode for Lollipop – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The post True Silent Mode for Lollipop XDA Xposed Tuesday appeared first on … more

List of Edge Panel Compatible Apps

more

Google Announces Plans for Projects Titan, Loon and Link

The post Google Announces Plans for Projects Titan, Loon and Link appeared first on … more

Here’s What the HTC One M9 Camera Can Do

more
Post Reply

[Q] ClockworkMod Recovery Mode HELP!

OP argonarcel

11th March 2012, 01:18 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Can anyone help link me or teach me how to set up my phone to get into Clockwork Mod Recovery mode? whenever i try to reboot into Clockwork, it just boots into 3e recovery. I have an AT&T Samsung Captivate with stock 2.3.5 Gingerbread rooted and i have already flashed the latest version of ClockworkMod Recovery (2.5.1.2)
I want to overclock my captivate but i cant unless i can get ClockworkMod Recovery to work
11th March 2012, 01:34 AM   |  #2  
bornjamerican's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Try flashing a rom with CWM already baked into it.
And PLEASE DO NOT use ROM Manager. It doesn't work on the Captivate.
Sent from my SGH-I897 using XDA
Last edited by bornjamerican; 11th March 2012 at 01:37 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to bornjamerican For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2012, 01:40 AM   |  #3  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,809
 
4,708 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by argonarcel

Can anyone help link me or teach me how to set up my phone to get into Clockwork Mod Recovery mode? whenever i try to reboot into Clockwork, it just boots into 3e recovery. I have an AT&T Samsung Captivate with stock 2.3.5 Gingerbread rooted and i have already flashed the latest version of ClockworkMod Recovery (2.5.1.2)
I want to overclock my captivate but i cant unless i can get ClockworkMod Recovery to work

FFS... you are using rom manager.. it hasnt supported captivate since 2.1 eclair.
2.5 clockwork is nowhere near the latest. at version 5 now.


and when rom manager used to work, you boot into 3e recovery then select install update.zip TWICE. (every time)
THEN you will boot into CWM.


**but you arent on android 2.1 so it will error out. then you are going to create another thread for a question that has been answered a million times already.


why do you need clockwork to overclock your phone??? (you dont)
might want to learn what stickies are and go read them for a few days before you F%%% up your phone predominantly. read the new user guide while you are at it.
11th March 2012, 03:02 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=762171
this is what i am trying to do. I just got into ClockworkMod Recovery somehow but now i cant get out. It keeps looping between the at&t screen and CWM
Any suggestions? or should i reflash the stock rom for 2.3
Last edited by argonarcel; 11th March 2012 at 03:05 AM.
11th March 2012, 03:06 AM   |  #5  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,809
 
4,708 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
august 2010... do you think that works on gingerbread when it was released before froyo was released??

i told you to read before you **** up your phone. are we going to listen now?
11th March 2012, 03:09 AM   |  #6  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Flag Edmonton
Thanks Meter: 2,809
 
4,708 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1294477


flash this kernel .tar with odin

or in CWM (now) go to Mounts and Storage > Mount USB > (plug phone into PC)
copy over the .zip kernel from the thread, then unmount > back > flash zip from sdcard > choose corn kernel.zip
11th March 2012, 03:23 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
In odin, do i flash as PDA, Bootloader, etc?
im a bit new to this, so i dont no all these fancy pancy stuff :P
11th March 2012, 04:18 AM   |  #8  
dheeraj (dhlalit11)'s Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag fatehabad (hry)
Thanks Meter: 1,478
 
2,490 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by argonarcel

In odin, do i flash as PDA, Bootloader, etc?
im a bit new to this, so i dont no all these fancy pancy stuff :P

if you are flashing a kernel then it will go in PDA section but if you are flashing stock 2.3 fw then all the files will go to their respective places
12th November 2012, 03:16 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
Should I use this link for Captivate with 2.3.4?
Hi,
You told a guy who was trying to get clockwordmod recovery on his captivate, to use this:

[KERNEL][KK4][1/28/11] Corn Kernel v7.06 from Source (OC, BLN, Voodoo Sound, etc.)

Should I also take that advice? I want to put AOKP on the phone, but I have to get clockwork on there first and the normal way doesn't work because of the 3e recovery unsigned business. Thank you much for your expertise and for being a great help to everybody.

-Bob


Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1294477


flash this kernel .tar with odin

or in CWM (now) go to Mounts and Storage > Mount USB > (plug phone into PC)
copy over the .zip kernel from the thread, then unmount > back > flash zip from sdcard > choose corn kernel.zip


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
captivate, clockworkmod, flash, overclock, recovery
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes