FORUMS

What Features Do You Look for in a Gallery App?

With so many different options to choose from, finding the right Gallery app may be a … more

Google Photos ‘Unlimited’ Storage Reportedly Being Capped

When Google Photos was announced, many of us thought very highly … more

Sprint Moves to Lift Video Streaming Limit for All-In

Yesterday, Sprint announced a new unlimited scheme that offered customers an … more

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

Disable the second core?

271 posts
Thanks Meter: 24
 
By rccar, Senior Member on 11th March 2012, 10:59 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Possible to disable second core to save more battery life? I noticed whenever I pulldown the notification bar my second core goes straight to 100% use so I wonder if I disable it I could save battery.
SkyICS 7.4 rom
Faux 10u kernel
Underclocked 1.02ghz, UV -100

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA
 
 
11th March 2012, 11:10 PM |#2  
silver03wrx's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag westminster maryland
Thanks Meter: 2,688
 
Donate to Me
More
You have to adjust the ratio of the fluxcapicator . To do that
The Following User Says Thank You to silver03wrx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
11th March 2012, 11:14 PM |#3  
icenight89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 744
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver03wrx

You have to adjust the ratio of the fluxcapicator . To do that

lol don't listen to this guy. I believe faux hss by default set 2nd core to offline, and it only turns on under load. which app are using to monitor cpu usage
11th March 2012, 11:15 PM |#4  
silver03wrx's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag westminster maryland
Thanks Meter: 2,688
 
Donate to Me
More
Here read this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1329585


Would actually cause qorse battery life.

---------- Post added at 06:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:14 PM ----------

Yes i know thata a diff device but same principal
11th March 2012, 11:41 PM |#5  
rccar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Yeah, I notice when not touching the screen the second core is put offline, and I would use fauxclock to see that, but I gave up with that and use system tuner now, also shows second core offline but as soon as I bring the notification bar down just a bit, it comes out of it's offline state and that isn't even a 'serious load' occasion so I'd like to just keep it offline

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA
11th March 2012, 11:43 PM |#6  
rccar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver03wrx

Here read this http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1329585


Would actually cause qorse battery life.

---------- Post added at 06:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:14 PM ----------

Yes i know thata a diff device but same principal

I've seen that post before, but I have a lot of experience I. The technical field and I know as a fact the processor draws more power to use both cores instead of just one

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA
12th March 2012, 12:24 AM |#7  
silver03wrx's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag westminster maryland
Thanks Meter: 2,688
 
Donate to Me
More
Suposidly the second core only gets used when needed. If your phone was put under the same load with no second core to pick up some of the duty then you are drawing more electricity anyway. 1 core running at twice the load vs 2 cpres runing at half the load. No one knows unless u have a digital multimeter and can test yourself
nrm5110
12th March 2012, 12:50 AM |#8  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by silver03wrx

Suposidly the second core only gets used when needed. If your phone was put under the same load with no second core to pick up some of the duty then you are drawing more electricity anyway. 1 core running at twice the load vs 2 cpres runing at half the load. No one knows unless u have a digital multimeter and can test yourself

I haz multimeter also I help manage the military network for my state and have plenty of knowledge on the hardware end leave the second core be it will only use what it needs bro your gonna work the processor in ways it wasn't meant to be worked. But if you don't trust faux who's made some 16 kernels then have you used the disable second core option or was that something you tried

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk
12th March 2012, 04:44 AM |#9  
rccar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nrm5110

I haz multimeter also I help manage the military network for my state and have plenty of knowledge on the hardware end leave the second core be it will only use what it needs bro your gonna work the processor in ways it wasn't meant to be worked. But if you don't trust faux who's made some 16 kernels then have you used the disable second core option or was that something you tried

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using Tapatalk

Well i'm looking to totally disable it, as the tasks my phone handles on a daily basis does not require a second core. The hardest tasks it'll complete all day is opening up the messaging apparently which is instant even at 328mhz.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA
12th March 2012, 01:41 PM |#10  
icenight89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 744
 
Donate to Me
More
I have to be honest. Why buy an android phone with an S3 dual core processor then? That's defeatist. If your simply using the phone for basic messaging, maybe some email and youtube, a windows phone would have been better suited. Mango 7.5 is very stable, and it runs on all single cores
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes