5,600,182 Members 38,878 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

*[GPS FIX] GPS Fix for all* roms

Tip us?
 
avetny
Old
(Last edited by avetny; 13th March 2012 at 04:41 AM.)
#1  
avetny's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1561
Posts: 4,914
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Private Island.
Thumbs up *[GPS FIX] GPS Fix for all* roms

XDA member*mikel.canovas*created a thread with a method that he found while browsing our fora that will consistently allow the GPS in the Captivate (we know all this crappy phone with huge gps problem) to get a lock on within 5 seconds, even being indoors! This fix also working with galaxy note.


First off - All credit goes to h3llstorm, as this is his genius fix and I'm just making a thread about it since most people don't even know about it.*

This is for*- anyone whose GPS has long lock times, and is inaccurate in navigation.*This*SHOULD*work with all 2.3+ roms. I stress should because I have used this a while back with GB roms and am using it now on CM9 (ICS).

What it does*- replaces /system/etc/gps.conf with h3llstorm's modified version that has much more servers and various tweaks.Results*- I'm able to consistently get locks within 5 sec and ~10m with multiple sats. Even indoors, results are similar.Many (including non captivate users) have reoved results as well.


On my CheckRom I got no locktime at all. ( indoor!!!). Its instantly navigate!

Original thread is here



How to use it:

Backup your old gps.conf (located in /system/etc) in case you prefer your old configuration. But you can always flash your rom again to get it back as well

Download h3llstorm's gps fix --* http://goo.gl/Ti0pp SD CardReboot into CWM and flashReboot and enjoy.


GPSNOTE*- first lock can take much longer that normal. Don't be surprised if it takes over 1 min. Results should improve from there. Should get ~ 3 sec locks, with multiple satellites.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to avetny For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
nihal1983
Old
#2  
nihal1983's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 96
Posts: 523
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: fremont,CA

 
DONATE TO ME
thanks for posting it here
 
robertberma
Old
(Last edited by robertberma; 13th March 2012 at 07:28 AM.)
#3  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 594
Posts: 2,779
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BLEISWIJK
A thread about a thread. Mmmm just posting the link in general whas enough. One xda rule that is been broken.

I know you want to help. But lately the note dev section is full of non development threads.


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1541082

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1543785

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1538605

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1532830

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1527816

If you did not created than not make a thread about it.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1321268
 
henke2
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 34
Join Date: Jul 2010
Why would you want to fiddle with the Notes GPS settings? it works extremely well as it is. I always have a lock on multiplse sats within a couple of secs and rarely see less then 16sats beeing locked on after 10sec.

I just tested indoor where I got a lock on 17sats in about 3sec.


With the Galaxy S all tricks were welcome but with S2 and specially the Note with GLONASS too I se no point as it already is incredible.
The Following User Says Thank You to henke2 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
robertberma
Old
#5  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 594
Posts: 2,779
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BLEISWIJK
By the way, did you read the posts on original thread? It is not working for every one. And than you post it here?
The Following User Says Thank You to robertberma For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
grgsiocl
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4294
Posts: 2,563
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kurnool, Andhra Pradesh
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertberma View Post
By the way, did you read the posts on original thread? It is not working for every one. And than you post it here?
its better to edit the config file and add the server address of your local region. ..if you don't want to edit then third party applications are available in market. ..no need to replace the file
 
xaoc747
Old
#7  
xaoc747's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 934
Posts: 2,062
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kazan
For lazy people it is a good solution
Acer Iconia A500 + 32Gb Kingstone Class10
Samsung Galaxy Note 3 + 64Gb SanDisk Ultra SDXC 1
Samsung Galaxy Note I + 16Gb
Samsung Galaxy S II + 64Gb KingMax Class 6
PUSH THE BUTTON <THANKS>
 
eliashadow
Old
#8  
eliashadow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1061
Posts: 3,247
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Athens
Thanks for sharing.

I can see that the NTP_SERVER is ''us.pool.ntp.org''.
So, maybe is better for Europe users to change it to ''europe.pool.ntp.org'' (or any specific country, for example ''gr.pool.ntp.org'' for my country) before flash it?
-*- ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ -*-
ilias→elthis
iPhone 4 → HTC Desire → HTC DHD → SGSii → SGN → SGSiii → SGN ii → SGS4→LG G2
Member of NCTeam.
 
dahuzi
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 120
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Shenzhen
Default I really really don't consider it's meaningful

Note can obtain and lock so many sats signal within few seconds. I don't think it's meaningful to do any mod.
The Following User Says Thank You to dahuzi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
robertberma
Old
#10  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 594
Posts: 2,779
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: BLEISWIJK
Quote:
Originally Posted by eliashadow View Post
Thanks for sharing.

I can see that the NTP_SERVER is ''us.pool.ntp.org''.
So, maybe is better for Europe users to change it to ''europe.pool.ntp.org'' (or any specific country, for example ''gr.pool.ntp.org'' for my country) before flash it?
No wrong because we all use american sattelites. We all depend on us sattelites.

So wrong info, europe do not have own sattelites for navigate.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes