Post Reply

Discussing the performance of the Tegra 3 SoC

OP eeeeeee

13th March 2012, 02:30 PM   |  #21  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamdir

was Nvidia wrong by not shooting for the moon with its GPU and memory bandwith? yes they were but that's why they were the first to achieve a quad mobile SOC while Apple A6, ARMA15 and quad s4 are far away


oh and a very important point

according to unity Nvidia Tegra has the best development tools and performance analyzers, while the iPad2 tools are lacking

Great to know then we finally notice Nvidia's actual experience, providing better tools than competitors.
13th March 2012, 02:33 PM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 106
 
559 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamdir

was Nvidia wrong by not shooting for the moon with its GPU and memory bandwith? yes but that's why they were the first to achieve a quad mobile SOC while Apple A6, ARMA15 and quad s4 are far away

oh and a very important point

according to unity Nvidia Tegra has the best development tools and performance analyzers, qualcomm comes second while the iPad2 tools are lacking

all we know about the Prime is that all THD games running a lot better vs iPad2

there is a reason why so many say "**** benchmarks"

Do we know if the Tegra 3 AP33 not only changed cpu clocks, but maybe also the memory bandwidth?

Sent from my HTC Desire HD using xda premium
13th March 2012, 02:35 PM   |  #23  
hamdir's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Beirut
Thanks Meter: 14,046
 
21,549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViDtje

Do we know if the Tegra 3 AP33 not only changed cpu clocks, but maybe also the memory bandwidth?

Sent from my HTC Desire HD using xda premium

Not much info about AP33 expect that it was revised to run 1.5Ghz stable, if someone can dig inside Nvidia's kernel git we will find a lot sadly i'm no coder

@eeeeee mate if you check this file, it will answer a lot of your concerns

http://blogs.unity3d.com/wp-content/...ggraph2011.pdf
Last edited by hamdir; 13th March 2012 at 02:40 PM.
13th March 2012, 02:35 PM   |  #24  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViDtje

Do we know if the Tegra 3 AP33 not only changed cpu clocks, but maybe also the memory bandwidth?

Sent from my HTC Desire HD using xda premium

Good question, my intuition says no, becuase if they didn't provide improved memory bandwith moving from tegra 2 to tegra 3, they somewhat are not going to do that this time.
13th March 2012, 02:37 PM   |  #25  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamdir

Not much info about AP33 expect that it was revised to run 1.5Ghz stable, if someone can dig inside Nvidia's kernel git we will find a lot sadly i'm no coder

as for that, I looked a bit at what you gave us in the mega thread, and only found cpu clock speeds there.
13th March 2012, 03:04 PM   |  #26  
hamdir's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Beirut
Thanks Meter: 14,046
 
21,549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeeeeee

as for that, I looked a bit at what you gave us in the mega thread, and only found cpu clock speeds there.

if i remember correctly shaky stated that the memory controller scales up with the CPU speed

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1377
Quote:

The higher you clock your cpu, the higher the EDIT: not 3dclock, but memory bandwitch controller will clock, looks as if 3d clock can be oc'd but not sure whats the original value

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1373
Quote:

Last post lol, you can oc gpu thank god

Quote:

I cant tell, i havent looked @ everything but, knowing htc they might attempt to stop overclocking gpu, EDIT: gpu still overclockable afaik

OT, speaking of ps3 this is so ****ed up shock horror

Phil Harrison joining Microsoft as head of Games Studios in Europe
Last edited by hamdir; 13th March 2012 at 03:10 PM.
13th March 2012, 03:10 PM   |  #27  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hamdir

if i remember correctly shaky stated that the memory controller scales up with the CPU speed

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1377


http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...postcount=1373

Correct me if I'm wrong -
That's completely non sense that the memory controller scales up with the cpu, if it can't keep up with it, shouldn't it be scaled to maximum speed when can't keep up even if the cpu is trying to save power, at 1.2ghz.
14th March 2012, 04:33 PM   |  #28  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
488 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
Acer Iconia outperformes the transformer prime and HTC One X by 16%, although it has Nvidia tegra 3 too, clocked at 1.4Ghz.

http://glbenchmark.com/phonedetails....stgroup=system
14th March 2012, 05:03 PM   |  #29  
hamdir's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Beirut
Thanks Meter: 14,046
 
21,549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
16% is normal on different hardware combination and software

the Sense 3.6 update for the Sensation gave the GPU a 200% boost
shaky156
14th March 2012, 05:38 PM   |  #30  
Guest
Thanks Meter: 0
 
n/a posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by eeeeeee

Correct me if I'm wrong -
That's completely non sense that the memory controller scales up with the cpu, if it can't keep up with it, shouldn't it be scaled to maximum speed when can't keep up even if the cpu is trying to save power, at 1.2ghz.

If you dont believe it please have a look at the code, code doesnt lie
Gpu 3d clock also scales, but unfortunately 2d clock is static @ 300mhz

Sent from my Desire HD using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes