Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,808,781 Members 47,998 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
View Poll Results: Is this thread useful?
YES 28 96.55%
NO 1 3.45%
Voters: 29. You may not vote on this poll

[ROM][ICS] [UNOFFICIAL] Root-ready Huawei MediaPad/SpringBoard ICS International

Tip us?
 
shiranmotha
Old
(Last edited by shiranmotha; 13th March 2012 at 03:34 PM.) Reason: Corrections
#1  
shiranmotha's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colombo

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [ROM][ICS] [UNOFFICIAL] Root-ready Huawei MediaPad/SpringBoard ICS International

All credits goes to zombolo and Xanderful
I'm posting this thread to make it easy to find the ROM for newbees...


Please read ALL Informations carefully, before using this rom !

Disclaimer - This procedure is given here in a "as-is" format. I have personally verified it and have it running, but, the ultimate responsibility of performing this lies on you. I will not be responsible for dead / bricked devices or any such similar unfortunate situations.


  1. Download the ROM from the link.
  2. Extract the DLOAD folder from the zip.
  3. Copy the DLOAD folder to the root of your Micro SD card. You can use a card reader or copy using the mediapad itself using MTP over USB cable.
  4. Power OFF the mediapad.
  5. Insert the Micro SD card to the mediapad and Power ON.
  6. ROM Upgrade will start automatically. Follow the onscreen directions. Remove the MicroSD when instructed.
  7. The device will reboot automatically. Meanwhile delete the DLOAD folder in the MicroSD.
  8. Once fully booted copy sanixupdate folder from the downloaded ZIP to root of the INTERNAL STORAGE using the USB cable.
  9. Power OFF and Reboot.
  10. Now you have a ROOTED mediapad with ICS


    NOTE
    • By using this ROM you voide the warranty... But you can very easily go back to STOCK rom before claiming for warranty.
    • You loose 4G if you are using a T-mobile Springboard
    • Remember to delete the DLOAD folder from SD card after it is removed from the device as instructed on the device screen. Keeping the DLOAD folder on SD makes it re-flash everytime you POWER ON with the SD inserted.


DOWNLOAD


Root-ready international version: http://depositfiles.com/files/9f8mfimjz
HTC One X
Huawei MediaPad
HTC Touch Diamond
HTC Wildfire
HTC Himalaya


My Work
Opera Mini 4.2 CAB for Windows Mobile
Midomi Music-ID


If you like my work, buy me a beer.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to shiranmotha For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lilaliend
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 277
Join Date: Nov 2010
For step 5 don't you have to boot to recovery, not just power on? Power + Left Volume. Took me many tries to do it right, was very annoying.
 
shiranmotha
Old
(Last edited by shiranmotha; 13th March 2012 at 03:49 PM.) Reason: Correction.
#3  
shiranmotha's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Colombo

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Reserved

You dont have to boot in to recovery... If you have the unlmt.cfg file in your DLOAD folder, just POWER ON is enough to upgrade automatically.

On the otherhand if you remove the unlmt.cfg file in your DLOAD folder, you dont have to delete the DLOAD folder on step 7.
HTC One X
Huawei MediaPad
HTC Touch Diamond
HTC Wildfire
HTC Himalaya


My Work
Opera Mini 4.2 CAB for Windows Mobile
Midomi Music-ID


If you like my work, buy me a beer.
 
lilaliend
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 277
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by shiranmotha View Post
You dont have to boot in to recovery... If you have the unlmt.cfg file in your DLOAD folder, just POWER ON is enough to upgrade automatically.

On the otherhand if you remove the unlmt.cfg file in your DLOAD folder, you dont have to delete the DLOAD folder on step 7.
Odd. I didn't remove it but still had to specifically boot it to recovery. Was a pain and it boot regularly to the stock ROM several times.
 
steviesteve78
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 52
Join Date: Jul 2007
So, who's been brave enough to try it? My mediapad is 24hrs old and I don't fancy my chances lol!

Can you still call and text with the ROM, and has anyone got any screenshots or benchmarks to show?

Cheers.
 
rkwhyte2
Old
#6  
rkwhyte2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 649
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta, IN
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviesteve78 View Post
So, who's been brave enough to try it? My mediapad is 24hrs old and I don't fancy my chances lol!

Can you still call and text with the ROM, and has anyone got any screenshots or benchmarks to show?

Cheers.
I upgraded following these instructions and had no problems. It seems to me that you can talk and text but I can't test it as I just have a data plan for this device.
Gnexus [4.4.2/KVT49L][OMNIROM][LINARO/OPTIMIZED] FML: Fork My Life
T-Mo Springboard/Mediapad
Mediapad_2.06.26_OsiMood

GNexus RasBeanJelly 4.3 / Lean kernel
Toshiba Thrive Dalenet ICS 4.0.4

Files I have collected:
http://www.4shared.com/dir/10351077/...0/sharing.html
 
handisnacks
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jan 2011
For T-Mobile, how does this lose "4G?" Does that mean we're stick with 3G or Edge data speed? Does it revert to using 1900Mhz for 3G like AT&T uses?
 
hiko36
Old
#8  
hiko36's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 294
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by handisnacks View Post
For T-Mobile, how does this lose "4G?" Does that mean we're stick with 3G or Edge data speed? Does it revert to using 1900Mhz for 3G like AT&T uses?
For T-Mobile, it means we are stuck with maximum of 3G speeds. I'm messing with the build.prop and a few other things right now to see if that could be what the issue is. Really, it's not a detriment one way or the other.

Any of the devs noticed how messy the build.prop and just disorganized in general the system seems to be?
CURRENT DEVICE
T-Mobile Springboard running ICS Beta 2 Rooted

Dell Venue Pro-Stock

The Graveyard
 
handisnacks
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 105
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hiko36 View Post
For T-Mobile, it means we are stuck with maximum of 3G speeds. I'm messing with the build.prop and a few other things right now to see if that could be what the issue is. Really, it's not a detriment one way or the other.

Any of the devs noticed how messy the build.prop and just disorganized in general the system seems to be?
Are you using the device as a phone or just a data tablet? If phone, what voice plan do you have?
 
notinterested
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 101
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by steviesteve78 View Post
So, who's been brave enough to try it? My mediapad is 24hrs old and I don't fancy my chances lol!

Can you still call and text with the ROM, and has anyone got any screenshots or benchmarks to show?

Cheers.
Works much much better than stock HC thats for sure. With the exception of the lack of 4g (which i honestly barely notice) and some oddities with touchscreen sensitivity its been perfect.

The Following User Says Thank You to notinterested For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
ics, international, mediapad, rom, springboard
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more

Paid Android App Developers Will Soon Have to Provide Physical Address

Google has now changed its policies regarding paid app developers. … more

Windows Developers Rejoice! Dev Program’s $99 Yearly Fee is No More!

Microsoft rule in the mobile market, much like the giant dinosaurs … more

Add the Xperia Z2 Lock Screen to Your Favorite KitKat ROM

Almost every OEM adds its own unique flair to their stock firmwares. While some of … more