Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[MOD] NFC on AT&T Stock ROM (CWM)

OP fox689

14th March 2012, 07:43 PM   |  #21  
joedoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
630 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by capite

I've got the latest SAUROM and the ATT fix. Would this work on that? Is there any downside to giving it a try?

SAUROM should have it enabled already as it based of Canadian ROM
14th March 2012, 07:46 PM   |  #22  
kimocal's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cool, CA
Thanks Meter: 97
 
414 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by capite

I've got the latest SAUROM and the ATT fix. Would this work on that? Is there any downside to giving it a try?

It's already enabled in Saurom. Just goto Settings-->Wireless and Network-->NFC near the bottom.
The Following User Says Thank You to kimocal For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th March 2012, 08:40 PM   |  #23  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Truaim

Think this will cause us problems when nfc is legitimately released? And has anyone attempted a device change through build.prop?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using XDA

i suggested this in another thread, before i got around to it someone else posted it didnt work
14th March 2012, 11:31 PM   |  #24  
OP Member
Flag Memphis
Thanks Meter: 26
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by powdered_donuts

i suggested this in another thread, before i got around to it someone else posted it didnt work

If I had to guess, it is a hardware issue since wallet was built specifically for the Nexus S. But, I could be completely wrong.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium
15th March 2012, 01:15 AM   |  #25  
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexige

You need CWM for any flashing. I'm coming from cappy too and tried to keep up here since launch. It seems like the flash counter only goes up with Odin flashes.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using xda premium

Does this mean that the Note has to be rooted first?
15th March 2012, 06:02 AM   |  #26  
OP Member
Flag Memphis
Thanks Meter: 26
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Might be able to temp root to install CWM. Reference post #18 in this thread for rooting/custom recovery instructions without tripping the flash counter.
Last edited by fox689; 15th March 2012 at 06:20 AM.
15th March 2012, 08:29 PM   |  #27  
joedoe's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 45
 
630 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 21stNow

Does this mean that the Note has to be rooted first?

You don't have to be rooted to install CWM using ODIN, but it will increase your flash counter.
Last edited by joedoe; 15th March 2012 at 08:33 PM.
15th March 2012, 10:05 PM   |  #28  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2006
i just ordered 10 Ultralight C nfc tags from http://www.tagstand.com/pages/catalog. Have already bought "NFC Task Launcher" from the play store. this should be pretty awesome to use.
16th March 2012, 12:55 AM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 135
 
602 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsjdmyo

i just ordered 10 Ultralight C nfc tags from http://www.tagstand.com/pages/catalog. Have already bought "NFC Task Launcher" from the play store. this should be pretty awesome to use.

I got the mifire 1k's a few weeks ago and love them. I don't need all of the space on them but it is nice to have it available and not be worried about space. I use the nfc task launcher as well. Turns on BT, turns off wifi, turns on gps, and opens voice talk as soon as I put the phone in my car dock
16th March 2012, 04:02 AM   |  #30  
JGuinan007's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Philadelphia
Thanks Meter: 38
 
451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Question Are you sure about the chip
Quote:
Originally Posted by fox689

Yup, it's just disabled on the AT&T for some reason. If you take off your battery cover and look at it, the chip is built into the cover itself.

I tested transmission and receiving with a friend's Nexus. It works great.

I thought the contacts on the cover were only for the NFC antenna and the chip itself was in the phone my free best buy case also has the contacts.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes